We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Home...”
Review of Hotel Aak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aak
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andalsnes
Certificate of Excellence
ADEN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feel Home...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The night I spent in hotel Aak I will not forget it in my whole life. I felt like I’m at home with warm welcoming from the first minute I arrive, the room which they choose for me was in a great view towards the farms and the river located five minutes from the premises. The nature surrounds the hotel is charming and magnificently inspires your heart and soul. I went for a walk outside to have a look of the surrounding area of the hotel to enjoy the beauty of mother nature (Farms, river with salmon fish, green mountains, cows, and nice breeze to breath). The night I spent actually was Not enough at all and I left sadly wishing to stay more at least for three nights minimum. Last the food they serve at the hotel is very delicious with nice arrangement of looking I really like it and you can drink a fresh cow milk by requesting from the nearby farms. The hotel design gives you the feeling that you are in the nineteenth century so your stay will be a great combination of nature, architecture, hospitality and great food. Therefore, you will be lucky to stay in this hotel as I did and want to repeat it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL-Aidaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
36
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,442 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This B&B is family run and makes you feel you are accommodated by a family. They are extremely helpful and cordial. The room was very clean and comfortable and the surrounding area was full of charm. The only downside is that it is a bit far from the city center and may be that is what makes it less pricy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This charming B&B is a bit outside of the town centre of Andalsnes. It is a good starting point for tours around the area. The Hotel Aak is managed by a very friendly and welcoming young couple. The hotel has just recently re-opened in summer 2013, so all the public areas and the rooms are in new condition and very clean. The rooms have double or twin beds. There was no TV in the room, but we did not miss it at all. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all offered in an amazing high quality. In summer you can enjoy the food also outside in a little garden between wonderful mountain views. Inside there have a comfortable lounge area with an open fireplace.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tobias777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We (family with three kids) stayed here one night on the way from Trondheim to Trollstigen. The staff was great - young, super-friendly and great to talk to. The food was amazing (typical Norwegian evening food and breakfast) and the surroundings are of course beautiful.

Downsides were that the place is located a few kms from town (which can also be seen as a good thing), and it's a bit expensive compared to the rest of Europe (but it's a pretty good deal for Norway)

Overall, though, it was a great experience and we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svenskamerikanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andalsnes
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
23.1 mi away
Scandic Seilet
Scandic Seilet
#1 of 7 in Molde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
22.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hotell Molde Fjordstuer
22.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Moldefjord
1.6 mi away
Andalsnes Vandrerhjem
Andalsnes Vandrerhjem
#1 of 9 in Andalsnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aak

Property: Hotel Aak
Address: Hotel Aak | Aak, Andalsnes 6300, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Rauma Municipality > Andalsnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andalsnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aak - Norway`s first tourist hotel - is situated in beautiful environment, surrounded by amazing mountains and nature. The Hotel dates back to the 19th century, when mountaineering was a new activity and high peaks were unconquered. For decades, the hotel itself was a draw to mountaineers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing