We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the stay, but not good connections to Malaga”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cala Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cala Bahia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay, but not good connections to Malaga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you want somewhere to stay near the beach east of Malaga, then this is a good option, but not the best place to base yourself if you're visiting the Costa Del Sol. Nice new hotel is an authentic Spanish area, big rooms, pool on the roof, all that you could ask for and I found the staff quite accommodating, although this may because the booking was done through a local agent that knows them well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    54
    20
    27
See reviews for
46
109
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have just come back from a four day break at this hotel. Here are the main points from what was a very disappointing stay:

- The hotel rooms were ok, quite modern but with no balcony (facing a block of flats with no sea view)
- The pool was out of bounds and there were no facilities at all - the bar was always closed and locked and I enjoy a glass of wine in the evening with a cigarette but I was left to have one outside like a homeless person - not at all what you expect from a 4 * hotel.
- When I raised concerns I was accused of being drunk by two arrogant male receptionists. I then asked for the owner of the hotel and the staff got abusive and said he was sleeping.
- The police were called twice and I was manhandled and escorted to my room. Very embarrassing and resulting in bad feeling between me and my mother as the receptionist had called her to state that I was disturbing the peace (all because I wanted to see the manager to complain about the rudness of these two men).
- The town itself is very very very quiet, the shops and restaurants are empty and many buildings are empty and in a bad state. - definately not a family resort or for anyone who likes lots of things to do.
- The locals seemed to not like the English especially the men and I suggest that if any woman is travelling alone they go to the centre of Malaga (the hotel was advertised as Malaga but it is a 15 - 20 minute bus ride away, 16 Euros to the train station and 50 Euros to the airport).

I will be taking this complaint further as this is definately not a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get into a discussion or try to complain about any aspect of your stay. Its pointless as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 678Lucy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rincon de la Victoria hotels

Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for a weekend break, the hotel area was quiet but apt for relaxing. We chose the hotel due to the SPA deal and hydromassage bath in room. The SPA was small / overcrowded, but the hydrobath in the room was excellent.

The room was great, huge with giant windows and with a view of the sea, as we requested. There was also a fridge in the room which was handy. The room was immaculately clean and when we asked for extra towels, they were provided immediately with no quibble.

The service from the staff was of a high standard, we were made to feel very welcome at check-in and the breakfast staff were superb, despite us and more guests turning up five minutes before breakfast ends, the waiters continued to serve us and bring out more juice and food. The breakfast selection was very good in general.

We had a few drinks at the upstairs bar, excellent Mojito's but the entertainment was not anything to write home about, they played about four songs in loop for the time we were there.

The rooftop pool and views are lovely and in the summer would be wonderful. Would love to return when the weather warms up.

For anyone booking this hotel, please note that it is not in Malaga and if you want a hotel in Malaga city, then book a hotel in Malaga city. It was clear to us on booking that the hotel was not in Malaga, Rincon de la Victoria is a quiet Spanish area with a few local amenities and if you are looking for more than this you would need to hire a car or book a hotel elsewhere.

Overall the value of the hotel was excellent and we would return for a quite break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I recently spent one night in this hotel and was extremely dissapointed by almost every element. All the information I found listed on line was grossly in accurate; most of the facilities don't exist, it is miles from anywhere; to the airport - 2 hours by bus, 40 min by taxi with a hefty £40 price tag, or into malaga 45 mins on bys 30 min by taxi - definately not as advertised! The spa was COLD! And everything was dirty and dated.

The price was fairly cheap so I had low expectations but even then it was way below acceptable! 4 Star - more like 2 star! The biggest dissapointment was the exceptionally rude receptionist who was extremely aggressive and unhelpful when I asked for assistance to arrange my airport transfer. He repeatedly told me to 'shut up' and seemed more interested on going back to playing with his phone! The only redeeming factor was an extremely helpful female receptionist who helped me once his shift had ended. I had intended to leave the hotel after the confrontational mannor in which he dealt with me, but she was very helpful and professional.

Overall I would suggest not going there unless you want a dissapointment!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne12345_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
339 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for one night at the start of a motoring holiday, arriving late at night. The staff were helpful and the room was excellent, as was the included breakfast. The beach is a very short distance away. Parking in the hotel car park was pretty well essential as the surrounding streets were full when we arrived. I don't consider 10 Euros to be cheap for a hotel car park in a relatively small town but we found parking expensive throughout Andalucia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a great find, a beautiful location, close to the beach and other amenities. A fairly new, quite modern hotel. The breakfast was one of the best complimentary I've seen. The rooftop saltwater pool is divine. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Would come back in a heartbeat. The only downside is it is well outside Malaga. However the city centre is easily accessible with public transit at a nominal fee. It was actually nice to be in a quiet Spanish neighbourhood outside the centre.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The food is terrible, ordered room service and it tasted horrible. One night we couldnt get room service because the resturant was busy!
Access to the swimming pool on the roof top is not available before 10am which is rediculous. A 4 star hotel it is definately not!

Room Tip: Dont get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelloverszamswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de la Victoria
Rincon Sol
#2 of 6 in Rincon de la Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Hotel Elimar
#1 of 6 in Rincon de la Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hotel Maria Cristina
#3 of 6 in Rincon de la Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Bahia

Property: Hotel Cala Bahia
Address: Calle Manuel Fernandez Moreno 6-7 | La Cala del Moral, 29720 Rincon de la Victoria, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Rincon de la Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de la Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cala Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing