We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calan Porter”
Review of Siesta Mar I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siesta Mar I
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great resort, beach, lovely for families. stayed at siesta mar complex 1, was great, lovely pools in both complex 1 and 2. weather amazing.

1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Siesta Mar 1 Apartments, Calen Porter first week of August. Only 20euro taxi from nearby airport (but note that taxi only takes 4 persons, so if more of you, you need two taxis). Reasonable accommodation, bit dated but fine for the time spent in it. We only used the apartment to sleep in and prepare lunch the rest of the time we were at the beach or exploring nearby Mahon. Buffet breakfast was great value - french bread, jams, cereals, fresh fruit, english breakfast, juice and fabulous coffee. We bought lunch from supermarket across the road and made a pack up lunch. We brought a soft cool box with freezer packs with us and this saved us over spending. The jewel of this place is the beach. Large enough for this time of year that it wasnt overly packed and some great beach bars with affordable prices. Cala en Porter only really had one main Hotel - Playa Azul, situated at the top of the stairs which led down to the beach. It had a spotless pool and the hotel and bungalows were freshly painted in white and blue. We used the pool often! The bus stop was outside this hotel and for 1.60 you could travel the 20 minutes into Mahon, walk around the Port, a little bit of shopping and return to the resort. We only did this once until we got our car rental as there were five of us. There were a selection of places to eat - La Vela we felt was the better place of all and service and food was good. Our other favourite choice was Rustic Barcala on the beach and we ate there several evenings as they did Tapas in the evening as well as the day and the service was friendly and food very tasty. We rented a car for three days which was ample - in short the better places we visited were the fishing village of Fornells, Son Saura (south of Cuitidella - for a more rural natural beach), and Binibequer, a quaint Moorish white little village type place - see photos. These were the better places we found. We did visit some other beaches like Cala Galdana, Son Bou, Sant Tomas but felt these were more built up with hotels and much busier as a result. All in all we found driving in Menorca easy, road signs fine and all short distances, so very manageable. Of all the places we visited we still felt Calan Porter had the better beach - cleaner, no rocks or seaweed and lots of little fishes. Only downside for families would be the huge number of steps down to the beach but for those with able children like ours - we just saw it as a bit of exercise! Evenings we walked up to Club Menorca which has a bar with views the beach from the opposite direction (and had Cava at 6 euros a bottle) and we also walked up and down the hills to look at all the villas - a pretty resort overall and we felt the island was far more chilled with no crime and a safe vibe for us and the children - which gave them more freedom, compared to Majorca where we normally holiday. We will definetly be returning to this resort but maybe to a private villa so we can spend a bit more time cooking for ourselves. Recommended :)

Room Tip: Siesta Mar II apartments were the noisier of the two blocks, both had pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LondonAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Apartment was very basic. It was sparsely furnished. Very dark furnishings. Bedding was stained. Staff extremely unhelpful. Breakfast was inedible, everything cold and covered in congealed grease.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kennedy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I was very happy with Siesta Mar and will definitely return.
There were two of us and we got an apartment on the 3rd floor. The balcony is huge - you can walk around it and there is a table and chairs and a clothes horse for leaving your bikinis and towels out on. A big beautiful large tree covered our balcony from the apartments in front of us but did not block out the sun. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and crockery. There was always hot water in the shower and the beds (one was a couch that pulled out into a double bed) were both firm and very comfortable. Our apartment was cleaned twice in one week, which I was very happy with.
The breakfast was plentiful and would set you up for the day - cereals, fruits, cold meats, fried food, yoghurts, toast, tea and coffee. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The adult pool was clear and fresh - the children's pool and the other pool with the slides also looked like lots of fun. The Siesta Mar is very centrally located to all amenities and we regularly took to the bus to and from Mahon. Octopus restaurant does the best seafood and the Chinese/Indian was delicious - we had the Indian food and it really was fantastic. All in all, Siesta Mar is a fantastic place to stay; it may not win awards for decor but it is very comfortable, convenient and it has everything you need. People in Calan Porter are very friendly and sociable. Muchas gracias amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank orlayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We've just spent a relaxing week at Siesta Mar 1 and had a brilliant time. The apartments were spacious and clean (we had 2 bedrooms). We had 2 sets of clean towels during our week long stay and the apartment was serviced at the same time. The pool at Siesta Mar 1 was great and there was a shallow pool for younger children. We spent most of out time at Siesta Mar 2-there were 3 pools which suited our 10 yr old and 6 yr old better. The slides proved popular! We never struggled to find a sunbed and the pools were never too busy. We stayed bed and breakfast and can't fault the breakfast at all. There were plenty of small supermarkets which were well stocked-plenty of fresh bread all day. I can recommend eating at 'Seagrams'-a fantastic Tex Mex restaurant-the chicken nachos were the best! Can also recommend 'Salamandra's-a 3 course set meal was 14 euros. We usually spent around 50 euros for the 4 of us to have an evening meal with drinks. Make sure you take your towels to The Irish Bar. There is a fantastic pool for customers to use-gorgeous! Sa Piassa was the place everyone seemed to go to for evening entertainment-go before 10 if a popular act is on-Fake That was very well attended! Would definately recommend staying here if you have a young family-I'd go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank birdieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

we stayed in the quieter part of the two buildings that make up Siesta Mar, the hotel itself was very quiet and the room was clean but beds were very uncomfortable and wouldn't stay for two weeks or your backs would give up!! the local beach was nice but very long way down and plenty of steps OK going down coming up was the bad thing but you could catch a train up at a cost.
We never went to the more nosier part of the hotel as the pool was always crowded and load music not our idea of a relaxing holiday with our children.
be warned smokers shops do not stock cigarettes only one shop a special tobacco shop had them was open only at certain times of day but they were cheap and good well known brands!
Balcony was great sitting there having a drink while the children played in the gardens or had dip in pool which was in eye shot of us.
was a good holiday for cheap get a away would recommend you hire a car like we did as then you can go to much better beaches like son bou.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathrowhoney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed at the Siesta Mar 1 which is the quieter part of this 2 building complex. Our 2 bedroom apartment was clean though the beds not too comfy, lovely big balcony at front with smaller one at back. The grounds were well kept but not too well lit at night. We went to the beach rather than the pools and, as there are loads of steps, we took the 'noddy' train back up, but beach is beautiful sand. We found the best place to eat was "Sa Paissa" which was a short walk from the hotel in the main part of the town and they had entertainment too which was really pretty good. We went in October and it was the last week of the holiday season so pretty quiet but I can imagine the high season would get busy and a bit noisier.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marhabamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.2 mi away
Nelva Resort
Nelva Resort
#4 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
12.5 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
349 reviews
10.8 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Mar I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Mar I

Address: Avenida Central 60, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: $63 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Mar I 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Siesta Mar I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Mar i Hotel Cala`n Porter
Siesta Mar I Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing