We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
windsor
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the 2nd week in September, we paid extra for a sea facing bungalow which was well worth it and all in. I found the food ok and always something I wanted lots of fish dishes !! The hotel was very clean the resort is quite but there are bars around with live music to keep you happy.

The sun bed fight is epic and not what I expected as i was use to 18 -30 holidays where getting up at mid day is early. But a lovely relaxing holiday and great beech to !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paulh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    407
    104
    19
    10
See reviews for
197
661
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. Got a good deal on booking.com for 90 euro/night including half board, which means 2 meals/day. We did not have a sea facing view, but our room was on a high floor and had a balcony. I am actually glad we didn't upgrade to a sea facing room - these rooms seemed to be flooded with sun, so it would have been too hot to enjoy the balcony during the day. We took a cab to and from the airport - around 20 or 30 euro each way. On our last day, we cabbed to the Port of Mahon and took a yellow glass bottom boat tour. I highly recommend this. Also bought a pair of Menorcan sandals on the main street along the water in Mahon. We were in Mahon on a Sunday, and the buses weren't running, and cabs were scarce. A helpful lady working at the yellow glass bottom boat office called a cab for us.

Pros:
-it's a good deal and you get what you pay for - it's a pretty basic hotel.
-close to a beautiful beach, just have to go down some stairs which wasn't a problem for us. The beach is clean, has soft sand, and there are fish to see if you like to snorkel. The water is pretty cold though.
-the room is clean.
-nice pool area (but the pool is pretty cold).
-pleasant resort town. There are lots of restaurants and bars, and a few have wifi (Merlin's).
-Me Gusta Cafe down the street has great food. We skipped breakfast at our hotel on the last morning and went here instead.
-the staff in the cafe/restaurant work really hard.

Things to know:
-the room is basic with simple furniture.
-there is a pump with soap/shampoo (same thing) in the shower, so bring your own bath products especially if you need conditioner.
-the linens are rough and have stains on them, but they smelled clean.
-meals consist of basic college dorm type food but there is some good stuff.
-local businesses are owned by ex pats, mostly British. We didn't see many locals there.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and might go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for 10 days - 14 to 24 September 2012, and were just looking forward to a chillout after an horrendous year. The Playa Azul delivered in trumps, and we had such a great holiday, we have already booked our return in June 2013.

The Hotel has a prime location in Cala'n Porter, convenient for everything in the resort, and providing a quiet haven to return to, with large, clean, comfortable rooms that are serviced every day.

We went Half Board, to give us some flexibility during the days, as we like to hire a car and tour the island. The restaurant is a self-service facility, with plenty of choice on offer. We certainly never went hungry! Local beer, wine and soft drinks were all free at dinner.

The major asset of the Hotel is it's staff - they are all fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for them, and they always have a smile for you. The gem amongst this truly great team has to be Rosa on reception. She is so helpful to everyone, giving them the benefit of her local knowledge to enhance the quality of their holiday.

One day, I was sat in reception for 30 minutes or so just people watching, and I was amazed by Rosa's communication skills, dealing with English; Spanish; German; French and Italian guests all in their own languages, and without batting an eyelid! Whatever they pay her, it's not enough!!

Our evening entertainment usually comprised of a wander up the road to sample the musical delights on offer at Sa Paissa and the Aloha Bar - if you are into Motown, etc then you will be more than happy with the live tribute bands on offer - most of which originate from South Africa!

We were blessed with the added bonus of the Cala'n Porter Fiesta while we were there, and this is an event not to be missed - particularly the beautiful horses taking part in the traditional Menorcan Jaleo on the beach, and in the town.

The car we hired was from Amber Cars, and I can highly recommend them for their service - we will definitely use them again next year. So don't just stay in one place - get out there and explore this beautiful, and relatively unspoilt, Balearic island!

Can't wait for next June!!!

Room Tip: If you want a bath as well as a shower, then don't opt for a sea view room. These tend to be sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mythosman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on 10 October2012 to 21 October 2012 The hotel was exeptional for cleanliness,freindly staff, meals and location. I have not enjoyed a holiday as much for many years and I hope to be returning in the following year travey around the Island is very easy on public buses although they do sometimes get crowded and there are many scenic views

Room Tip: Third Floor sea view is exellent and very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ray271047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Playa Azul. It was our first holiday without our children and our first experience of all inclusive. The hotel is immaculately clean and the reception staff are brilliant but that's it! There are no drinks (not even water) provided in your room and you are forbidden from taking drinks from the bar up to your room! I paid for a week wi-fi and the only time I could get a signal was to hover in the doorway of our room, download emails etc, go into the room to respond and then back to the doorway to send, to be fair the reception staff did refund my money no problem but I would have much rather just have had proper wifi. The food is dire! It's a buffet service and the food was always either luke warm or cold. Very often food from a previous meal was again present at the next one. On the day we left squid in batter from the previous night was on for breakfast and even worse it wasn't labelled ..I wonder how many people bit into it thinking it was onion rings! The portions were minuscule, even though you can obviously have as much as you want there's that feeling of being greedy/overeating if you did have more than one of anything. The desserts were tiny portions of mass produced cakes and tarts. The only time there was a satisfactory offering of a meal was the Saturday night when a lot of Spanish people were staying because of a Triathlon the next day, even then the Paella was back the next day. The dining room has a feeling of a canteen and not somewhere you felt you could linger over your meal. Drinks were readily available with meals but you can only have hot drinks with breakfast. There are snacks available mid morning, burger, hot dog etc but the afternoon snacks were dire! muffin, choc biscuit, fruit or yoghurt! There is no lounge area other than a couple of settees (very uncomfortable) in reception yet the SAGA crowd have their own Lounge with table, settees, tv, tea/coffee facilities etc. We were led to believe there was nightly entertainment but only had a magician one night and two singers another night. If like us you are there at the end of season and wanted to sit and have a drink at the bar in the evening , it was either wrap up in your thermals or fight for one of the tables inside of which there is only about half a dozen. Cala n Porter itself is very very quiet! Don't be mislead like we were with the 'selection of bars, shops and restaurants' . If you want to do anything other than sun worship then this is definately not the place to go. Even if we were there in high season we would have been climbing the walls for something to do! There is a good bus service to Mahon outside the hotel but be aware that the last bus back is 13.30 and if you miss that you are stuck until early evening. We were told by hotel staff that there was no point catching a bus to anywhere in the afternoon as everything would be shut for siesta but we discovered this not to be the case after hiring a car to stop us from going stir crazy and driving around the island. All the resorts seem to be the same , very small and very quiet. Menorca is immaculately clean and very pretty but not for anyone wanting anything other than a very very relaxing break.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dyze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I must admit that this is the first 3* hotel we have been to in quite a while so was a little wary whether it would be okay. The rooms were clean, beds and towels changed regularly.The food, I think was just adequate. Nothing to write home about - sometimes only warm and if they had something like salmon on - when it was gone there was none to replace it, so we missed out there as we didn't usually go into dinner till 8ish.The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool seemed cold to get into - we have been in colder ones - but it was nice to be able to cool off in.
The resort was quiet as it was getting to the end of the season. Walked down to the beach a couple of times, about 180 steps but it's really nice when you get down there.
Wasn't aware that it was a Saga holiday resort - they have their own lounge, and whilst we are in our fifties we didn't feel we were quite there (if you get what I mean)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel was lovely and clean with fabulous views. Staff were really friendly and helpful at all times. There was a good choice of food at all meal times. The resort itself was very quiet but that was probably due to the fact that most places had closed for the season. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel though which went to Mahon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
10.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Property: Hotel Playa Azul
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing