We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
DUDLEY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a 3 night All Inclusive stay at this lovely hotel at the beginning of Oct. Very clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. English is widely understood. It is in a particularly nice position and the view from the pool/terrace area is very pretty. There is plentiful seating in sun and shade and the whole atmosphere of the place is calm and relaxing. Not that you need it but there is BBC1, BBC2 and ITV on the flatscreen TV in your room. Had a very enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BRIDGET G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    407
    104
    19
    10
See reviews for
197
661
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were greeted, with a smile, from the famous Rosa, in Reception. Our room ready; clean and tidy. It overlooked the garden and childrens' play area. Very peaceful. The children back at school??

Each day our room was kept clean by Fina, our housekeeper. Nothing too much trouble for her. Always smiling.

The Restaurant staff: Javier, Isabelle, Juan, Maria and Vera - all super.

Carlos, the bar tender - well done. For keeping composed even though Real may loose!! Thankfully a draw withBarca--

And, the final Gold Star:

To Hannah: Our First Choice Advisor - Nothing too much trouble. Even our boring questions. We still have your
notes in our scrap book, on our first visit to Menorca. Hopefully, our next visit will be to the race-course, in Saint Lluis!!

Room Tip: We had room 229. Overlooked the garden and play area. Very peacefull. Awoken by the Town's do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a good hotel in an extremely quiet place which may have been due to our stay being near the end of the season. There are 3 supermarkets but very few shops & bars. The hotel was very clean with friendly & obliging staff. On the 10 nights we were there was about 4 or 5 entertainment nights & incredibly on one of them the show had to be abandoned when it rained as the area where they were performing outside the bar only had a slatted roof so as a matter of urgency the management should at the very least arrange to roof over the area where bands perform as even in Menorca it does rain sometimes. This rain also meant that there was a severe shortage of dry seating that evening. Virtually all the seats are uncomfortable & particularly the sagging director style chairs.The bus service to Mao was cheap, fast but not frequent & amazingly in a tourist area there was no bus on Sunday. We walked quite a lot on the Cami de Cavell which is steep in places but interesting & Cala Coves which is not too far is worth a visit. Apart from a couple of showers the weather was good & although quiet Menorca is picturesque & Menorca is worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

my motherinlaw stayed in the hotel in early october on a half board basis. living in menorca we were obliged to eat with her on a number of nights & look at the hotel overall.
all the hotel was very clean staff could not do enough for her(she is in her 80)
the main complaint we had was the quality of the food, the salad bar consisted of mainly lettuce with various additions sweetcorn beetroot & others to make it look different, cubes of ham & cheese not a lot of thought was put into it.
the main courses was a variety fish & meats which was mostly only just warm and not very appealing. if you wanted a pudding forget unless you got these with your main course. to eat with her we paid €14.50 pp this was not value for money when you looked at the prices of restaurants a short distance away & in most cases had more choice.
this hotel should consider B&B to give cala'n porter a chance of allowing clients a to see the other restaurants offers rather than feel they have to lose money by eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: try for a front line room upper level for a good veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Hants.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here in early September for a week after reading loads of reviews before booking. The hotel far exceeded what we expected from a 3 star. The cleanliness was superb in all areas and really good choice of food.
Yes there are 182 steps to the beach but it is worth going to and you do know about them before you book the hotel!
The only downside we found was not enough sun beds for the amount of guests. This meant people were reserving beds before 6.30 in the morning.
Would we recommend ths hotel? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room as view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great holiday. wonderful hotel, spotlessly clean with very good food.
Had a bungalow, very modern and spacious. The pool was clean and
big with plenty of loungers and lovely views of the bay. Nice walk down
to beach via a walkway if you do not want to use the steps. Not a lot of entertainment
on an evening but what we had was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We returned on the 10th October after an excellent week in the sun in the Playa Azul Menorca. We are very particular in what we eat and where we stay and this hotel delivered on all counts.

The staff were always attentive and helped with any queries. Given this was the end of season for all of the staff with many of them having concerns where their next job would be after the hotel closed in the next 2 weeks this was all the more credible. We could not fault this hotel and thier staff in any area.

I have to disagree with the comments by Brentwoodhouse below and we must have been there at the same time, but we observed the pool staff powerhosing down the pool area and sunbeds every morning and were always cleaning the area around the pool and bar areas and yes there were a number of Saga clients there but as someone who frequented the bar most days and nights we found they blended in with the rest of the guests at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CranleighChatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
10.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Property: Hotel Playa Azul
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel
Hotel Playa Azul Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing