We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Hotel Sa Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sa Barrera
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a small hotel located in the heart of Cala n Porter. Each bedroom has a small balcony that overlooks the swimming pool (unfortunately the water was very cold at the time we stayed although not so cold that I was able to enjoy my daily swim). Our room also had a beautiful view of the countryside and each morning we enjoyed the sound of birdsong.

On arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. Indeed, our luggage was taken there for us. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was buffet, typically continental, but we were able to ask for a cooked breakfast of scrambled or poached eggs with bacon.

The staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was kept exceptionally clean and tidy by the cleaning staff. All in all we were treated really well and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcrowsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    89
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
268
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The breakfast and location were good, but was let down by the small rooms with questionable decoration.

Didn't have dinner there but maybe the food is the highlight of this hotel, I noticed the fries they serve with sandwiches were not frozen but home made. They made us scrambled eggs a la minute for breakfast, the best I had on the island. Service is very good.

The price is higher than other hotels I have stayed that were newer with better facilities and well located. An enjoyable atay though, the beach in cala porter is excellent. Beware that you have to climb dozens of steps from the beach to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroAugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for three nights only ( sadly we needed to leave early due to a family emergency ) we have stayed many times at Cala en Porter so know all the restaurants etc well. This was the first time at Sa Barrera.
I can honestly say we loved the hotel , the staff too couldn't do enough for you.
The room we stayed in was lovely , no tea making facilities though. Very clean , lovely bed linen & towels etc. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis. Food lovely
We will most definitely stay here again, I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to any one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrytattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Makes such difference when the place is family-run Food is very good, rooms a respectable size and the pool area well-kept and the water not too cold. It's perched on a cliff above the sea - it's 185 steps to the beach!. Lots of cafes nearby but I wouldn't bother as the evening dinner is first-class and very reasonable at half~board rates.

Room Tip: Ask for pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is our second stay at this fabulous small adults only hotel and it was just as good the second time around, always an excellent sign. We chose a sea view room this time, last time pool view, both were wonderful. The rooms are furnished to a high standard with quality bed linen and are cleaned thoroughly every day, as are the public areas of the hotel. The owners are Italian and we ate some delicious meals in the evening, they also offer bar snacks during the lunch period which we had a couple of days, again high quality food and special mention has to go to their baked cheesecake desert, just perfect. Breakfasts were a lovely relaxing time in the dining room overlooking the pool or on the terrace by the pool that looks out over the bay, lots of choice including freshly squeezed orange juice and cooked breakfast should you choose that. The staff were all helpful, polite, nothing was too much trouble for them and it was good to see that Timothy had returned for another season the same time we had, a most pleasant member of their team. Good luck to Hannah, a German student aiming to become a teacher, who was doing a short season with them to the end of July, who had taken our internet booking and helped us throughout our stay. Special thanks to our maid who went above and beyond the call of duty on our last day when my hubby had left clothing in our room, she sought us out on the terrace in the afternoon and returned it to us. And most of all thanks to Roberto, fab pizza chef and provider of Aperol Spritzers - do try one, and his mamma, the head chef, a wonderful lady and cook; they make the hotel what it is....simply perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-K1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in September - just what we hoped it would be, quiet and relaxing. Lovely position with view of the cove from the terrace. Quiet surroundings, good pool which was never busy. Rooms were pleasantly decorated and most with balcony overlooking pool. Food was great! Good choice at breakfast. We also had several evening meals in the hotel as it was by far the best place to eat in the resort. We ate on the terrace the first evening, with view of the sea, which was fantastic. Other nights the candlelit tables were set out round the pool. Meals were freshly cooked and of a high standard, lots of fish choices too. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting quiet and peaceful hotel.

Room Tip: Room around the pool with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't give enough praise for this wonderful hotel. Small, just the way we like a hotel, but perfectly formed. From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming and as the days went on it was very clear that nothing was too much trouble, always with a smile!! ! loved this place...!! Oh and great value for money! !!!


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gobbygabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,189 reviews
15.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
#3 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sa Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sa Barrera

Property: Hotel Sa Barrera
Address: Calle Barrera 12, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sa Barrera 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel in Menorca. Enjoy a free kids holiday. Three star hotel in Menorca with 26 rooms at only 200 meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sa Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Barrera Hotel Cala`n Porter
Sa Barrera Cala n Porter
Hotel Sa Barrera Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing