We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sa Barrera
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Playa Azul(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sa Paissa(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Siesta Mar(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Siesta Mar I(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Nelva Resort(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Menorca(Cala'n Porter)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grupotel Mar de Menorca(Cala Canutells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
261
93
22
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
93
22
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala en porterpeaceful stayrainforest showerstayed here for nightsquiet hotelexploring the islandthis wonderful hotelsized poolbed and breakfast basispool areatotal relaxationsteep walkcooked breakfastroom was spotlessloved this hotelsea viewspanish omelette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 384 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a small,peaceful,friendly hotel. I loved it, thought is was excellent value for money and had some special touches to set it apart from the larger, package holiday accommodation found all over the island. We booked via a spanish agent and paid about 60Euros per room per night for bed and breakfast. Our room was cool and absolutely silent at night, with comfortable beds, it was quite small and didn't have any drawers! It had a balcony overlooking the pool with a pretty view out to the sea. The red and yellow, shabby chic/ Arabian nights décor is unusual but I liked it.The shower room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There was a minibar which we didn't use but it contained reasonably priced drinks. The pool area had very comfortable sun loungers and because the hotel is small there was always a choice of places in the sun or in the shade. Breakfast was excellent, fresh orange juice and freshly cooked bacon and eggs plus all the usual stuff. The coffee however was a bit disappointing. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment on that. The staff were cheerful and helpful and never seemed to sleep. The hotel is opposite the huge Playa Azul hotel, tucked behind a row of unattractive shops and English style bars but you feel like your are in a different world once you walk through the door. The beach area of Cala en Porter (down a lot of steps) is very clean and pretty with nice bars and restaurants. I've given it 5 stars because it couldn't be any better for the price you pay.

Room Tip: You would be unlucky to get a road side room but ask for poolside to be sure.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sa Barrera for 3 nights. I agree with the other reviewers - do whatever you can to get yourself a room with a pool view. We originally were given a road side room but had the good luck of another guest cancelling and then being offered their pool side room. Even better, we were on the first floor rather than the ground floor. So here's the tip - if you can rooms 204-208 - then I think your stay will go up a few notches. The hotel is about 20 mins from Mahon Airport and within a 10 minute walk of pretty much everything in Cala'n Porter. We hired a car for our entire stay. Parking was easy and free on the street. Rooms are basic and our room had twin beds pushed together. Nothing fancy here. The beach is within a cove and about a 5-10 minute walk down about 170 steps. The walk up wasn't that bad, assuming you are average fitness and have all your joints in working order, as the steps themselves are in really good condition. We ate at the restaurant one night, with a table overlooking the rooftops to the cove. Reasonable prices and a tasty menu (although limited options). The stand out of this hotel was the staff. They were some of the most friendly and most helpful I've come across in a long time. Clientele was mostly older couples (45 yrs+) but we found that added to a quiet/relaxing experience which was what we were after.

Room Tip: Rooms 204-208 are on the first floor and overlooking the pool with beach views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Its_Small_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having just returned from a 10 night stay I to was given a room at the front of the hotel, and was told that there were no rooms overlooking the pool, and though some did become available during our stay we were more than happy to stay in our room, maybe unlike a lot of guests I had hired a car for the full duration of our stay and rather than sitting on a balcony looking at a pool I preferred to see the Island, as it is the poolside rooms are not very private there are always guests around the pool area either relaxing or having there meals and to me it was like being in a goldfish bowl with everyone looking in especially if you are on the ground floor, where as on the front of hotel the balconies are more private and you have a nice view of the countryside and the Cala en porter rooftops.

The Hotel offers three starters and three main dished every day, there are a lot of restaurants in town but with the exception of La Vela which is next door all are pretty poor, the rooms are small and the beds hard but are clean and some of the fixtures are in need of some TLC, the staff are wonderful and always on hand to help, if you want a relaxing hotel without lots of kids running around this is a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just returned from this Hotel ,, was a slow start as we too was given the road side and told the same story that we had to book way back in May to get a sea view room , Anyways wife asked again the next day a low and behold a room had become free on the pool side ,, wow what a difference and totally changed the holiday ...Staff were really nice and kept themselves to themselves ,but were on hand for anything you needed .. Would totally recommend this hotel for older or quiet couples ,would return ,batteries totally recharged thankyou Sa Barrera

Room Tip: Poolside for views , but you will hear guests enjoying their stay
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennardoShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sa Barrera was an average hotel. Despite the fact that we made our reservations six months in advance, the person who checked us in gave us a room overlooking the street. There are only six rooms that overlook the road (while the rest overlooked the pool) and she told me I should have made my reservations earlier. I think this hotel primarily serves people from England, so people from the U.S don't get priority. The hotel owner was very helpful, but it just wasn't enough to want to go back. Cala'n Porter is like a Spanish island Myrtle Beach. It lacks complete charm. There is a tacky castle hostel/restaurant that is present right when you pull into town. To top it off, there is a kids' playground full of large plastic toys on the main route. The main street is lined with English bars and restaurants. There is nothing Spanish about this town. Although all of the people were friendly, everyone was from England. The food was English and when we asked our hotel owner where to stay he told us we needed to go to another town to get good food. The only money exchange we could find was for pounds to euros. The only beach in town was down a long flight of stairs and had bars all along one side. If you'd like to go to Menorca, you might want to consider staying in a different town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denver63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews