We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sa Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sa Barrera
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights 2 years ago while we waited for our villa to be vacated . The room was spotless , The manager was very attenitive , The pool area is also very spotless and had lovely sun loungers , when we came to book out of the hotel we had booked a taxis , having waited for nearly an hour the manager asked if he could drop us , as we had told him we staying in calen porter for another week . Now that is what you call CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andycox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    82
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
255
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

it may be one of the best hotel we've ever stayed at. the service is unbeatable - they get to know what their guests like and dont like.

cala'n porter is cute and great to relax. because it's a child-free zone, the hotel was quiet. the walk to the beach is about 5-10 minutes, which includes between 180 - 191 steps, depending on how you count.

the rooms are nice and decently comfortable, but this is spain, so you can't compare with what you would get in switzerland. this is the only hotel ive ever been to where the guests said goodbye to all of the staff.

the breakfasts are amazing. fruit, bread, jam, eggs and bacon, coffee, tea, fruit juices, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Superlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'm from Catalonia but working and living in London. We booked a holiday with my boyfriend last September for 6 days in Menorca. This Hotel was just a surprise!! We travel a lot to Spain so we know what Spanish Hotels deliver. This is just a dream. We stayed 2 nights in Sa Barrera Hotel before moving to another area, to Cala Galdana for 3 nights and we wished we hadn't bokked somewhere else as Cala'n Porter beach was fantastic and Sa Barrera Hotel the best in terms of service, location, tranquility and the staff, the quiet and so clean pool, what a pleasure!
The hotel is small , couples orientated, but has everything you need such parking, wifi, good rooms with air con, everything, very very clean with modern bathrooms. The best....the staff! They are italians but they make you feel home, they help you and they take care of you as you were family! I was actually very very sad to leave! The breakfast is delicious, you can have it by the pool or in a nice inside area. They cook breakfast for you and they offer all sort of breads, ham, fruits, cakes, everything is home made and they are very very generous...don't miss their capuccino!! the restaurant is very good! all home made italian pizzas and some daily specials, out standing! we had two pizzas by the pool, they tailor-made everything for us asking exactly what we wanted on the pizza, in the salad...our watches had London time so we didn't realize it was way passed our service time...they serve liuncg from 1 to 3.30 I think so we arrived from the beach at 4.30 they time and they started up the oven just for us and treated very very well. It is very cheap for what they offer and having stayed in Cala'n Porter now I know it is the BEST accommodation, from very far, around and certainly the best restaurant. Don't miss the Cova d'en Xoroi! The best accommodation of the island, specially price wise!

Room Tip: First floor, over looking the pool (sea or mountain side, both are excellent!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CristinaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed for 7 days B&B and the hotel and the staff were exceptional. Breakfast was a delight and the offer of bacon & eggs is not to be turned down if only to try the excellent scrambled!
First floor room was light clean and airy with all bath and shower supplements provided and a balcony overlooking the pool. Dined a couple of evenings at the poolside and this also was enjoyable. Menu is short but the food was well prepared and presented. Also tried the pizza menu and enjoyed the best pizza ever, but to be expected when prepared by an Italian.
The owners did everything to ensure our stay was as it should be and we will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We found this hotel on the Net purely by chance and my what a find! The hotel exceeded our expectations; the staff were a tight knit friendly team who would do anything to assist you. Roberto and William were great on reception and Tim was brilliant in the Dining Room. The continental style breakfast was complemented by the provision of freshly prepared bacon and eggs. Our room was kept really clean in keeping with the rest of the hotel and pool. We definitely intend to return and would recommend it to anyone wishing for a quiet peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are slightly larger than others but all have the same facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanReet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Sa Barrera. It was just what we were looking for - peace and quiet, no music by the pool and no children! Bliss. The staff were superb and worked extremely hard to make our stay so pleasant. Our room was kept spotlessly clean and we had a free safe, a hand magnifying mirror (useful), air con and hair dryer. Flat screen TV had BBC1 (not that we watched it for long). Breakfast was continental but we could order bacon and eggs as part of the menu too at no extra charge. Freshly made cafe latte was superb. I wasnt looking forward to staying in the resort of Cala'n Porter as had heard bad reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We walked to both Calas Coves and Es Canutells on the Cami Cavalls. We visited the beach via the steps and the sand was clean and sea cristal clear. You can also walk to Son Bou via the Cami Cavalls the other way. The bus service is also good. In short, we found plenty to do for a week. The best restaurant for value and quality was by far Lorengos (2mins from hotel). We didnt eat at the hotel as like to try different places so cant comment on their restaurant. Es Castell is a 15 minute drive away and has some lovely restaurants. We would love to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Happy Hour at Club Menorca (10 minute walk away) 5-6pm. Two drinks for the price of one. A bit run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is run by Italians. Staff is super-friendly and willing to help. Location is quiet hence sleep quality is good. The swimming pool area is lovely, but the water is heavily clorhinated which can be a problem if you are sensitive to it (I am, and I got a skin rash). Food is basic and nothing to scream about, so I would avoid half-board, also considering the amazing quality of the food that you can get elsewhere in Menorca (but NOT in Cala'n Porter!). Breakfast buffet is quite varied. The only problem is the village: an over-built concrete expanse which is basically a British settlement, wit pubs and the like. Now, I don't have anything against the Brits (in fact, I like them a lot!), but when in Spain, I really can do without the British parafernalia. The beach is nice but there are better ones. All in all, a very reasonable resort which offers rather good value for money, but there are much more fascinating locations in beautiful Menorca where you could stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a pool view. Ground floor rooms offer little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stalwartg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
10.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
10.4 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
4.3 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Barrera

Property: Sa Barrera
Address: Calle Barrera s/n 12, 37184 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sa Barrera 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sa Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Barrera Hotel Cala`n Porter
Sa Barrera Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing