We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Menorca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala'n Porter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Menorca
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I knew going into this stay that the rooms would not be the ideal but I was willing to look past that for the amazing location and view. However, the service was awful! Even though we had booked our trip months in advance (and had even confirmed it too) when we showed up the first day they were surprised that three people were there instead of two. Because of this I had to put the sheets on my own bed (which was actually a couch). I also never received a large towel only a small face towel for the full duration of my trip, even though I had asked on two different occasions (to put this in perspective we were only there two nights). When we checked in, there was no one to greet us or even tell us we were in the right place. When we finally did check in the man, Terry was incredibly rude and unwelcoming, this continued for the duration of our stay. We were so upset that even though we had heard good things about the restaurant we refused to eat there to avoid giving them even more of our money. We knew that the rooms would not be ideal but we did not expect the rudeness we experienced as well as feeling unwelcomed. I would not suggest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edoughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    10
    10
    18
See reviews for
19
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The view is amazing and the staff are mainly friendly and helpful BUT the place smells of cats or damp or something unpleasant. My room was not very clean when I arrived. I had to buy cleaning products and clean it myself. There was a 'mid-stay' clean, but that did not include a change of sheets. The bed was not even made. I was there for two weeks, so this was not great. Also, the breakfast was pretty awful - not worth the money at all. The paint in the whole place is peeling off. The place has not been painted for a long time. The place is inexpensive, so it allows the traveller to have a cheap holiday, but it is pretty dirty and smelly. This could be a wonderful place to stay, but it isn't at present. If you want a cheap holiday in a lovely place, this is for you, but if you want somewhere clean and fresh, with your room, sheets and towels cleaned regularly, this is not for you. The smell is the worst thing about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrowtraveller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala'n Porter hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wow! The outstanding view from Club Menorca is overwhelmingly fabulous. It reflects the iconic picture of the coves of Menorca as depicted in many holiday brochures - a sight to die for - wonderful views of the cove of Cala'n Porter with it's turquoise sea. Our room reflected the budget price that we paid for it. It was simple but adequate - no extras or fuss. Don't expect 5* luxury and ensure that your expectations are realistic before arriving. We felt able to overlook the basic quality of the room as the view was spectacular and we had not paid a lot. The hospitality from Peter and Terry - the two hard working gentlemen that run the establishment - was good. Our travellers tips would be to take a fan if travelling in high season, as there is no airconditioning or swimming pool, and hire some transport (scooters or cars available ten minutes walk away) as the beach is a steep walk in the heat and the island is definitely worth touring around. Beware that there are lots of steps to encounter in/out of entrance. In summary rather a double edged review: brilliant views but a little weary. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The rooms were spread out over two levels. Those on the higher level were smaller but had private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Club Menorca for a few days hoping that the accomodation would be basic but clean. Unfortunately the rooms are in desperate need of renovation and the standard of cleanliness was poor. The wardrobes were very dusty, the bathroom is dirty and smells and the room gave us a sad feeling when we came back after a nice day out.

Breakfast included eggs on toast, tea or coffee and a pre packed croissant. Full English breakfast can be ordered at a slightly higher price. We ate breakfast once and subsequently bought food from the local supermarkets.

Maybe we were too optimistic to expect a basic but clean place at this price point. We would maybe recommend Club Menorca to travellers who are very flexible in terms of room conditions and are on a very limited budget.

We felt that with the amazing view, this place could have a lot of potential if it was improved significantly.

Cala en porter in general is very British and unfortunately unlike other places like Mahon there doesnt seem to be much local culture left. Food options include hamburgers, chicken curries and other British favourites, luckily we found one or two restaurants that also served a few fish dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week after family had called in for lunch last year and mentioned the fantastic views, telling us they let rooms.

Pro's:

Pre arrival info good. Peter helpful and chatty via e mail . Upper floor booked as wanted balcony.
View amazing and very private.
Lunch good (tapa's on first day).
Pre booked table for dinner twice. Main dishes good but service not so much so, in fact pretty poor.
Stunning little beach.
Very quiet. Slept with the door open and the sound of the waves the only noise.

Cons:

Smell of ?damp as soon as you arrive which permeates building.
Cleaning is atrocious. Room barely socially clean on arrival. Wardrobe very dirty. Bathroom not good.
Having cleaned the bathroom to an acceptable standard (i.e. having removed traces of the last occupant from the toilet) as the week went on we realised there is no cleaning of rooms at all throughout the week. However there are also no cleaning supplies. The majority of us I suspect do not leave our bathrooms especially a full week without any sort of cleaning.
There is a lady who appears to be employed to clean the communal areas. She smiles a lot and dab's a mop around before flinging the dirty water over the sunbathing terrace.
Service hit and miss in the extreme in the bar.
Breakfast we had pre booked. If not we would not have bothered after the first day. No fresh produce and the cheapest pre packed pastry type things ever. However scrambled egg cooked to order good as was the coffee.

Conclusion:

Mixed feelings on this place. Yes it is very cheap but that wasn't why we booked it. We wanted a small hideaway for a week. we just left here feeling grubby.
Staff are in desperate need of some guidance, there is a lot of running around like headless chickens doing very little.
Peter seems to work very long hours , maybe invest in a manager to keep some semblance of order and stop trying to do everything yourself while your bar staff gaze vacantly into the middle distance.
Put the prices up a little and get the place clean. Basic is fine, dirty is not. We did try to discuss this with Tracy but I'm not convinced that the comments will be taken on board (three out of four couples made the same observation whilst we were there).
The accommodation may be cheap but factor in flights and £1000 is gone before you spend anything further - therefore not so cheap.

The resort in all fairness was far too Brits abroad for us. the first night we ate out we were automatically brought chips with our main course (I'd ordered potatoes) the waitress said as we were English she assumed we would want chips as everyone does.
Small rustic bar down by the beach is friendly with good basic tapa's. Also the only place we heard Spanish spoken throughout the resort.
Went into Mahon a couple of days / evenings. Good choice of places to eat and late taxi back only 20eu.

We would go back to the island but not the resort and sadly not to the C.M.

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies. As there is no AC you may want to keep the door open in summer so may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bollybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friendly, yes, and trying hard, yes, but I suggest not professionally run.
I'm not certain why the food reviews are so good I found the food in the restaurants in Cala'n Porter were much better value for better quality. Breakfast is basic continental or full English, no fresh fruit, yoghurt etc.
Pricing for the same drinks differed from evening to evening depending on who serves you!

The rooms are very basic and the pricing reflects this, it is keenly priced.
The view is certainly the best thing about the location.
Bring your own soap and be prepared to service your own room if you are fussy about cleanliness. The cleaning leaves much to be desired. Don't look at the mattress, you wont sleep well afterwards.
Certainly not suitable for wheel chair users.

Room Tip: No AC in basement rooms, but they are larger than 'ground floor' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We didn't stay here but were there most nights for either drinks or food. They were absolutely brilliant, especially with our nine month old kid. Peter and all other staff were so friendly. Food was amazing, and the view from the terrace is just stunning. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliceJjobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sa Barrera
Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
10.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sa Paissa
Sa Paissa
#4 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
6.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Menorca

Property: Club Menorca
Address: Calle de la Mina | Paseo Maritimo, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Menorca is a Spanish Residencia and Bar-Restaurant in a fantastic setting, being set into a Cliff face overlooking the beach in Cala'n Porter on the south coast of Menorca. Indeed Club Menorca, being set 30 meters above the water, has a setting unequalled in the Balearic Islands, if not in the whole of Spain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Menorca Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing