We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe suitable for very flexible low budget travellers”
Review of Club Menorca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala'n Porter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Menorca
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Club Menorca for a few days hoping that the accomodation would be basic but clean. Unfortunately the rooms are in desperate need of renovation and the standard of cleanliness was poor. The wardrobes were very dusty, the bathroom is dirty and smells and the room gave us a sad feeling when we came back after a nice day out.

Breakfast included eggs on toast, tea or coffee and a pre packed croissant. Full English breakfast can be ordered at a slightly higher price. We ate breakfast once and subsequently bought food from the local supermarkets.

Maybe we were too optimistic to expect a basic but clean place at this price point. We would maybe recommend Club Menorca to travellers who are very flexible in terms of room conditions and are on a very limited budget.

We felt that with the amazing view, this place could have a lot of potential if it was improved significantly.

Cala en porter in general is very British and unfortunately unlike other places like Mahon there doesnt seem to be much local culture left. Food options include hamburgers, chicken curries and other British favourites, luckily we found one or two restaurants that also served a few fish dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week after family had called in for lunch last year and mentioned the fantastic views, telling us they let rooms.

Pro's:

Pre arrival info good. Peter helpful and chatty via e mail . Upper floor booked as wanted balcony.
View amazing and very private.
Lunch good (tapa's on first day).
Pre booked table for dinner twice. Main dishes good but service not so much so, in fact pretty poor.
Stunning little beach.
Very quiet. Slept with the door open and the sound of the waves the only noise.

Cons:

Smell of ?damp as soon as you arrive which permeates building.
Cleaning is atrocious. Room barely socially clean on arrival. Wardrobe very dirty. Bathroom not good.
Having cleaned the bathroom to an acceptable standard (i.e. having removed traces of the last occupant from the toilet) as the week went on we realised there is no cleaning of rooms at all throughout the week. However there are also no cleaning supplies. The majority of us I suspect do not leave our bathrooms especially a full week without any sort of cleaning.
There is a lady who appears to be employed to clean the communal areas. She smiles a lot and dab's a mop around before flinging the dirty water over the sunbathing terrace.
Service hit and miss in the extreme in the bar.
Breakfast we had pre booked. If not we would not have bothered after the first day. No fresh produce and the cheapest pre packed pastry type things ever. However scrambled egg cooked to order good as was the coffee.

Conclusion:

Mixed feelings on this place. Yes it is very cheap but that wasn't why we booked it. We wanted a small hideaway for a week. we just left here feeling grubby.
Staff are in desperate need of some guidance, there is a lot of running around like headless chickens doing very little.
Peter seems to work very long hours , maybe invest in a manager to keep some semblance of order and stop trying to do everything yourself while your bar staff gaze vacantly into the middle distance.
Put the prices up a little and get the place clean. Basic is fine, dirty is not. We did try to discuss this with Tracy but I'm not convinced that the comments will be taken on board (three out of four couples made the same observation whilst we were there).
The accommodation may be cheap but factor in flights and £1000 is gone before you spend anything further - therefore not so cheap.

The resort in all fairness was far too Brits abroad for us. the first night we ate out we were automatically brought chips with our main course (I'd ordered potatoes) the waitress said as we were English she assumed we would want chips as everyone does.
Small rustic bar down by the beach is friendly with good basic tapa's. Also the only place we heard Spanish spoken throughout the resort.
Went into Mahon a couple of days / evenings. Good choice of places to eat and late taxi back only 20eu.

We would go back to the island but not the resort and sadly not to the C.M.

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies. As there is no AC you may want to keep the door open in summer so may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bollybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Friendly, yes, and trying hard, yes, but I suggest not professionally run.
I'm not certain why the food reviews are so good I found the food in the restaurants in Cala'n Porter were much better value for better quality. Breakfast is basic continental or full English, no fresh fruit, yoghurt etc.
Pricing for the same drinks differed from evening to evening depending on who serves you!

The rooms are very basic and the pricing reflects this, it is keenly priced.
The view is certainly the best thing about the location.
Bring your own soap and be prepared to service your own room if you are fussy about cleanliness. The cleaning leaves much to be desired. Don't look at the mattress, you wont sleep well afterwards.
Certainly not suitable for wheel chair users.

Room Tip: No AC in basement rooms, but they are larger than 'ground floor' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We didn't stay here but were there most nights for either drinks or food. They were absolutely brilliant, especially with our nine month old kid. Peter and all other staff were so friendly. Food was amazing, and the view from the terrace is just stunning. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliceJjobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Club Menorca for 4 chilled out days. Never stayed at a 1star accommodation before but once you get over that and look at the scenery and enjoy the food, it suddenly becomes 5 star. Rooms are as basic as they come, no frills so if you don't mind that then Club Menorca is the place to stay. We've stayed in Menorca about 5 times now in the 4 star Argemenon in Es Castell which is a lovely hotel but have never had such good food and at such great value. The menu choice is good and can't recommend the paella enough, it was amazing and by far the best meal we had. Breakfast is great value for money, 5 euros for cereal, cake/muffin, continental breakfast or poached/scrambled/fried egg on toast with tea or coffee. Or drop the continental and have a full English breakfast with cereal etc for only 6.50 euros, great value and the terrace couldn't be a better way to start your day with absolutely stunning views. Peter, Terry and the team couldn't be more friendly and accommodating, was more like staying with family, nothing was too much trouble. Having square eyes we did miss having a tv in the room for just when you went back of an evening or just chilling in between getting ready to go out for the evening, but no biggie, we just had to talk to each other !! Lots of steps down but the effort is worth it. The views from the terrace are amazing with views down to the beach from 30 meters on the edge of the cliff and they are currently working on a rooftop bar that should offer a different atmosphere and again beautiful views. We came home so chilled out and relaxed just after 4 days, a big thank you to Peter, Terry, Jan and Tracey for making our stay so enjoyable and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shar0nswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week - apart from the amazing views, enjoyed being made to feel so welcome. It was home from home - we liked the "basic" charm. The staff were delightful - we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggi727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently returned from an 11 night stay at Club Menorca, having visited a few times in previous years. A great big thank you to all the team for making our stay so pleasurable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with you. Apart from the absolutely stunning views which have brought us back more than once before, the staff and care afforded to residents is second to none. A small team who make those on holiday feel genuinely welcome and cared for. Our special thanks to Peter, Carole, Tony and Alex.

We ate both at the hotel and in the town during our stay and the food from the hotel restaurant was excellent value and really good ~ the paella was first class. Breakfasts are cooked to order and completely fresh. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for the team who took the time to fully engage with residents. There wasn't the usual feeling of being 'invisible' within a hotel. We left feeling we had made friends with the Club Menorca team and would have no hesitation in recommending this as a great holiday venue.

The rooms are perfectly adequate ~ not five star luxury but absolutely fine and so lovely to wake up to the sound of the sea and to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking a wonderful cove and bay. The price reflects the star rating but the personal service provided by the owner and his team, together with the idyllic setting, good food and winde is second to none and what makes this a place we are sure to return to. There is wonderful informal atmosphere to Club Menorca which we really enjoyed. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#1 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sa Paissa
Sa Paissa
#6 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nelva Resort
Nelva Resort
#4 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sa Barrera
Hotel Sa Barrera
#2 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
372 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Menorca

Address: Calle de la Mina | Paseo Maritimo, 07730 Cala'n Porter, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price Range: $11 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Menorca is a Spanish Residencia and Bar-Restaurant in a fantastic setting, being set into a Cliff face overlooking the beach in Cala'n Porter on the south coast of Menorca. Indeed Club Menorca, being set 30 meters above the water, has a setting unequalled in the Balearic Islands, if not in the whole of Spain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Menorca Cala'n Porter, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing