We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Restaurnts in Cala en Porter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Als

Big Als
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the better Restaurnts in Cala en Porter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Not one for eating in British owned restaurants when abroad I had very little option as many of the other establishments seem seem to have over 100 dishes to choose from and you have to question the freshness, we dined there twice and had steaks the quality of the food is good and cooked well and you could do a lot worse

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    65
    30
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“buffet pretty average, but good value and lovely staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The 14,99 'All You Can Eat' buffet is good value, but be aware that the quality and choice of the food is not amazing any standards. A large selection of chips (4 different types!) and other fast foods (onion rings, garlic bread etc) but in terms of meat, there was only a chilli con carne, chicken curry and some ribs and wings. Like I said, not great quality, but great if you just want to fill up on junk food. Staff arte lovely, and drinks and very cheap (1.80 for a pint of beer. pint of fanta was 3.80!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big Al's is true to form”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visited Big Al's with family last week on 11th Sept and it was so good we went back two days later.
'It does what it say's on the tin' so to speak and more.
Run by a lovely northern lady and her brilliant staff, the atmosphere is family friendly, very welcoming, great fun and the food is excellent, with very good value to boot.

We can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.
It's a definate for anyone holidaying in Minorca.

Choose a course from the menu or take your choice from the buffet with all you can eat for about 15 Euros. The food is fresh, tasty and very well prepared. Oh and the beer is less than 2 Euros. The cheapest pint in Minorca.

Watch out for someone trying to beat the 2kg steak challenge, or try it yourself. It's massive and far too much for all except the bravest and biggest appetite. Finish the meal and you get it free, otherwise it's about 36 Euros. On our second visit we saw two young men taking up the challenge. They only got about half way through it. The record holder was there, a great guy called Colin from Portsmouth. He managed to do it in 38 minutes last year.

Let them know if you have a birthday in your group, they will lay it on a bit, all good fun.

Great for couples, groups, family, kids.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichMax_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprise meal of the holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This would normally be the last place we would eat on holiday as we much prefer traditional Spanish fayre. However this was very local and one member of our party fancied a huge steak so we bit the bullet. Obviously, the menu was as expected but without exception, we had no complaints. The meals were fresh, served by friendly helpful staff and a good atmosphere. No one went home hungry! The house wine was acceptable and by far the best baby changing facilities visited on the holiday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Busybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“last night,7-14th sept 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

we have been to menorca 10-12 times,in different locations,decided to leave big als to last night,once there after sampling the food and atmosphere we wished we had gone there on the first night i do not think we would have gone anywhere else,fantastic night wonderful food steak was unbelieveable,best we had out of the 4 places we ate,cant wait to go back next year

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Als also viewed

Cala'n Porter, Minorca
 

Been to Big Als? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing