We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wat a view!!!!!”
Review of Cova d'en Xoroi

Cova d'en Xoroi
Attraction details
birmingham west midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wat a view!!!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

great, but very expensive to drink there & get in at nite, but worth it for the views. you do get a free drink with your ticket - so make it last... no dress code which is a bonus, but a mix of people & ages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,141
    610
    274
    140
    180
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Must Visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What can i say. picture perfect little piece of heaven. Go and see for yourselves. Dont be put off by the 92 steps as i nearly was. there gradual and loads of platforms and benches to rest on the way back up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank w0ngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Oh my God - this place is heavenly”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You have to visit. Its amazing, so much better than I imagined. We visited during the day when it was quiet and enjoyed cocktails with an amazing view. I actually want to move in and live there, it was so gorgeous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well Worth Just One Visit.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having spent many holidays at my Grandfather’s villa in Cala En Porter as a kid during the late 70’s and early 80’s, I returned after a 30 year gap. I remember the caves being known as a nightclub with sunset views but was not old enough to visit back then. Revisiting the resort, I was recommended by a friend the caves were worth a visit as do most of the TA reviews so decided to check the place out.

Left the beach late in the afternoon and headed off. Finding the cave bar is pretty easy by car, just follow the signs from the resort centre heading for Carrer de sa Cova higher up on the eastern side of Cala En Porter. Parking can get hectic up there just before sunset but you should still be able to park legally nearby within only a short walking distance. Timed it nice with just a 10min queue to join the sunset chillout session. The entry fee of €12ea is almost as steep as these cliffs but it does include a free drink and fantastic views. After payment we waddled in a line with other waddlers along the meandering pathway in and out of caves with various places to stop and absorb the stunning sea-views. Getting a premium fence-side space in a nice spot is not an easy accomplishment but you are allowed to stand on the furniture for better vantage points. There was a VIP area sectioned off containing luxury patio furniture but believe you have to pay by donor card for this privilege. At the end of the path is the bar cave area where you swap your drinks voucher for the liquid of your choice. You stare at the setting sun, drink in hand, listening to the DJ play an ambient dusk relevant mix and celebrate the disappearance of the big yellowy-orange ball of gas Ibiza’s Cafe Del Mar style. As the day had been a cloudless scorcher, the sunset was a classic beauty and raised a good amount of ‘whoops and whistles’ providing nice effects for the video I was shooting whilst standing on a chair.
There is an air-conditioned gift shop at the entrance/exit area with a good range of Menorca specific info books including some local cuisine books.

Overall, well worth just one visit at the end of one sunny day. As it is an ambience-related tourist attraction, I loved it but I have no need to return and certainly would not have bothered on a cloudy day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_TallPaul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr Sam”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This bar was okay but a bit pricey. What I want to review is the resort itself. Nothing to do, nowhere to go, and nothing to see. Worst holiday of our lives. Arrived on the Sunday to torrential rain. In the so called resort it seems that all the drinking holes are run by english southerners, as are the majority of their cutomers. And if you don't like wall to wall football then hard luck. As for eating places, well if you are looking for fine dining forget it as all you will find is cafe/bars selling burgers and chips etc. So after two days of bordem we decided to go on a coach trip at a cost of 27 euros each. In the advert it states that you will visit a shoe factory and cheese factory and a gin distillery. Very interesting we thought, but alas no all you do is go into the shop where they sell their goods. The trip took ELEVEN hours in total and by the end of it we were ready to top ourselves. This was our first and last visit to the island. The scenery is none descript it's baron. So it's back to our little fishing village in Turkey for us where unlike the spanish they actually have manners and are always willing to go that extra half mile for you. Another thing to take into consideration is if you want to go anywhere on the island by bus, which by the way is not cheap you have to travel to Mahon first and then to your destination. We found to our cost that you need to read ALL the time tables as when we got back to Mahon at 8 O'clock in the evening the last bus to cala en porter had all ready left so it cost us 40 euros by taxi to get back. My advice is do not go to cala en porter unless you are a real cockney gizzer who loves football and are prepared to eat tacky english food, or you are criminal on the run as I found a few living there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cova d'en Xoroi also viewed

Cala'n Porter, Minorca
Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
 
Minorca, Balearic Islands
Minorca, Balearic Islands
 

Been to Cova d'en Xoroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing