We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location”
Review of Harbour Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour Club
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at the Harbour Club in February and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We had great weather even though we did have rain on one day. The Harbour Club is well situated just a five minute walk from the Town square lovely resort with very friendly and helpful staff nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is a great sun trap and very quiet and relaxing with plently of sun beds. We ate in the "Wine Bar" restuarant on one evening good quality, good value for money home cooked " English" food ,nice pool/snack bar.the apartments were very well equiped with nice balcony with sunbeds as well as patio table & chairs sea views. Very clean but could do with a bit of a refurbisment as bathroom a little shabby but don't let this put you off. The beds were also not too comfortable but who wants to "lie in" on holiday! We were charged a 30 euro utility charge for the week we which was a bit excessive as we certainly didn't use 30 euro's worth of electric in a week. Charge of 15 euro's a week for safe deposit box. We had a great week there and would definatly go back.
Los Gigantes is a lovely quiet little town can recommend "el pescador " & "little italy" to eat. La Sangria snack bar for english breakfast and Paddy's Bar for drinks and entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2009

We have a timeshare apartment with RCI at Orange Lakes Resort in Orlando Florida and, as we did not use it in 2008, we banked the time and booked a week here instead.

We flew from London Gatwick and arrived an hour late at Tenerife. We had pre-ordered the mini bus from the apartments, 30 euro’s for both of us, which was cheaper than a taxi, and we thought this was a good service. After a couple of other drop offs in Los Gigantes we arrived at The Harbour Club. For anyone else who is due to stay here you have to pay 30 euro’s for electric and 15 euro’s to use the safe for the week which we thought was expensive. You are given a pool towel each for the week and a remote control for the TV and lights and then told which apartment you are in. Anyway we headed to our apartment, which was no. 30, and luckily in the 1st phase. (2nd phase is over the road and approx 100 steps up to the apartments!). We were down for the 2nd phase but as they were not fully booked gave us the 1st phase. To be honest I would have refused the 2nd phase. The outside of the apartment was quite nice, a small terrace of sorts, with a plastic table and 4 chairs. When we walked in we were both quite shocked, as it was nowhere near the standard that we have in Florida. It was clean but so dated, dark and not at all welcoming. The sofa was ok but was worn and uncomfortable, we had an iron table and chairs which meant when people used them above us in the other apartments you could hear them scraping on the floors, not ideal to have. All the flooring is tiled and is shabby, cracked and looked dirty. The kitchen is quite well equipped but again very very dated with odd tiles that didn't match anything else. The bathroom was the worst. Large water stains on the floor, old fashioned sink and bath that had seen better days. The bedroom was ok but had huge dark brown wardrobes that just made the room look so depressing. Alot of paintwork was chipped and marked throughout the apartment. It really does need a total overhaul. The hot water was a joke. We had to wait 2 hours in between showers for the water to heat up and we did complain but when the maintenance guy came he couldnt speak english so we have no idea what he did but it made no difference. The toaster blew up and they came very quick to replace it so that is one good point.

The staff were friendly and helpful but I feel as if the whole place lets them down.

We would return to Los Gigantes but not to The Harbour Club until it has been given a full refurbishment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spursgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Booked the Harbour Club at Los Gigantes with R.C.I exchange points. Hired car at Los Cristianos Airport and drove to Los Gigantes. On arrival the town has a one-way system, we drove around for an hour trying to find a place to park. Finally parked by the lido near the harbour and walked up the hill to the reception to book-in. The receptionist who was english was very friendly and helpful. I filled in the registration form and was told my apartment was in phase 2 (when booking knew nothing about a second phase) I was told it was the residential section with no recreation facilities. At 11-30am a young lad directed us to the apartment in the car, when we got there we were greeted by two workmen laying tiles on the pathway to the room using a stillsaw . Which was not a very happy sight. The apartment was well laid out . I went onto the balcony To look at the views, That is when I saw the young lad going down the 62 steps we would have to climb up and down to reach the facilities on the main complex. Which was not going to do me any good ( having had a knee operation six weeks previously.) There was no mention of a second phase or the 62 steps anywhere in the literature for this complex. The only other apartment available was in a basement which they dont usually let out and I understand why. There were no windows at all in the bedroom . We then checked out and went to the Pearly Grey Ocean Club in Callao Salvje which was far superior.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveskeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I accompanied our friends on a week long break to the Harbour Club abd it was lovely. We could not fault the accomodation with it's lovely sea view. The apartment was very well equipped and was spotless. The bar area was lovely and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Los Gigantes is a very nice town with plenty to do. There are sveral nice places to eat and a fair assortment of entertainment.

The local bus services are brilliant for getting around and we visited Las Americas, Puerto Santiago and Puerto de la Cruz - which incidentally took us through Tiede natonal park. Very enjoyable all in all with 'Loro Parque' well woth a visit. It is expensive to get in but if you visit for the entire day - it is very good value for money. A useful tip is to take a packed lunch and plenty to drink as prices within the park are a bit steep.

We had a fabulous time and would go back again tomorrow if the
opportunity arose.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank dORAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My partner and I went to The Harbour Club last month.
Our plan was to have a very relaxing holiday lying by the pool, stopping only to eat and drink wine! This we managed!
These apartments have been recently renovated and it shows, I went there 3 years ago and the change is quite phenomenal. The apartments were very clean, spacious and equipped with most things you need on a weeks holiday away. Ours was very close to the pool and bar which was ideal in the mornings but due to our dislike of evening 'entertainment,' not so great late in the evening when trying to relax on the balcony! That said, it did seem fairly popular so if a saxophone playing crooner and loungey singers are your thing you would probably enjoy it! The pool was a good size and there were always enough loungers (though curses on the ladies who would rush down at the crack of dawn to 'claim' their place round the pool!) The daytime pool bar was very nice, not too expensive and offered tasty tapas for lunch (one of the only places we found in the surrounding area that did offer tapas) along with the usual greasy fared doled out to the English when on holiday. The evening bar was nice, along with the surroundings, but it was very expensive for wine (think english prices). The food was staple fare for the area (think steaks, chicken etc) but definitely one of the better meals we had.
The one thing I would say to beware of is the fact that it is a timeshare affiliated resort. These people can be very pushy and if you are not interested, do make that clear.
Now, for the surrounding area............
The main things we noticed were that it is very expensive and not very Spanish/Canarian at all. It does seem very much geared towards / appealing to the more mature northern tourists (no offence meant, but they did seem to make up the bulk of the holidayers).
Having had visions of enjoying tapas as the sun went down we were more than disappointed to find a dearth of tapas bars in the area. There were 2 down at the harbour but they never seemed open, or if they were, they were closing when we got down there at 8pm! However, if you like your eggs, chips and sausages on holiday you will certainly be well catered for!
That said, there was a great Italian restaurant (run by italians) called Mamma Lucias which we returned to twice knowing that the pizza and pasta would be fantastic (speaking even a basic ciao and bueno notte works a treat!)
So, that said, we had a lovely, relaxing holiday which did exactly what it says on the tin. But don't expect a cheap, authentic holiday because this won't be it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LolaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank RobvanderLaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все номера одинаковые, нет ни какой разницы
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ольга С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.2 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Sombrero
El Sombrero
#2 of 3 in Los Gigantes
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 9 in Puerto de Santiago
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Club

Address: Avenida Jose Gonzalez Forte 26, Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Los Gigantes
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Harbour Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Club Hotel Los Gigantes
Harbour Club Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing