We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!!”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks stay at this lovely resort and hotel. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. The room was very nice and the beds were one of the most comfortable we have slept in whilst staying in hotels. The only negative is the shower/bath can be a bit awkward getting out. The balcony for the room is amazing! It is very spacious with sun loungers and a table and chairs and the views are to die for! The pool area is very clean with a nice pool, and there is never a problem getting a sun lounger no matter what time you go down. Another positive for this hotel is the food. We ate at the BBQ which was an excellent deal at €20 pp which included a bottle of wine and we also had a 3 course dinner which was one of the best meals we had during our stay! All of the staff are fantastic and were all very friendly and extremely helpful with any queries we had, especially Maria on reception who was brilliant. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    417
    75
    17
    17
See reviews for
419
596
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Fermanagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

For myself and my boyfriends first holiday together we booked for here and we wer more than shocked when we arrived at the hotel and seen our room. One bedroom appartment with a massive balcony and the view is really just amazing. Ur own sun beds to lay out privately and the place is so quite. There was plenty to do in Los Giantes and we walked up and down the hill every day. (Great exercise). The cleaners are a real credit to this resort as it was always immaculate- they washed our room almost everyday and the hotel itself was always clean. The pool was abit of a let down because it was full of children having no manners and splashing around when there's a children's pool above the adults pool, wasnt very relaxing and you couldn't get doing lengths. The reception staff really do bend over backwards. A real credit, and one guy (VLAD) that we frequently spoke to took a genuine interest in our stay and was a star when it came to renting a car for the day-highly recommend this for exploring Tenerife only €45. We ate in estero grill and highland paddys which wer our stand out places for the week and just a short walk too. Lovely places lovely people. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would without a doubt return :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LBROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portknockie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Royal Sun in beautiful Los Gigantes. This is a fantastic hotel. We had a beautiful one bed apartment with a large balcony, our own table and sun loungers and a gorgeous view. It was beautifully clean and well equipped with fridge/freezer, dishwasher, kettle etc. The rooms are cleaned every day bar one a week and the cleaning staff do a brilliant job and are very friendly. The shower can be a bit difficult to get in and out of but as long as you put a towel down and take your time its no dramas. We were very happy with our room. We were breakfast only and can find no faults here either, Riccardo and his staff in the restaurant put on a good spread and we enjoyed our breakfast very much. Special mention must go to Pedro in the bar, a real character who is a real credit to the hotel and made our stay that bit more enjoyable. The girlfriend and myself enjoyed our time chatting with him and also the reception staff who were always friendly and bent over backwards to help with any queries. We enjoyed our stay there, the pool was great and the Spanish staff that we met, every one of them, were friendly, helpful and a credit to the hotel. I would also like to say thank you to the handymen who, when the fans in our room failed, fixed them within the hour. So why am I not giving the hotel an excellent rating ??, simply put the Russian contingent in the hotel are some of the most ignorant people I have ever met. A couple of nights before we left they set up a Karaoke session in the bar at a massive volume, we could not hear what we were saying to our fellow guests and Pedro let alone the noise that people on the first level must have been putting up with. There was a massive room next door they could have used but they seemed intent on spoiling everyone else's night as they sat ignoring everyone blaring out Russian songs. We also saw this side at the Monday night barbeque, having spent twenty euros a head we watched with some mirth what can only be described as a full on scrum when the food appeared. It didn't matter if you were waiting as apparently being Russian in this hotel means you can just barge everyone out of the way. After an hour of trying to get some chicken we gave up. So to sum up this is an amazing hotel, the Spanish staff are a credit to the place but the Russian owners need to realise that if they allow their countrymen to run amok people like myself are going to have doubts about returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Brian_Mackay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. It was immaculate & well looked after! Pool was gorgeous & the views are to die for! Rooms well equipped & the largest balcony I have every seen! Shower/bath not the best but it did the job! We flooded the bathroom too so just be careful. Staff are all very friendly & aim to please. Pedro the bar man was ace & we had a good rapport with Vladimir Entertainment by the pool each day for the children & some for adults too! I would definitely recommend & would love to visit again! The hotel manager was always around & was happy to help with any requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROSSI45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely location and views...overall we were impressed, but were disappointed that there was such a huge Russian contingent...some entertainment for Russians only..very strange...
bath/shower design dangerous, and like other guests my partner suffered bruising when slipping getting in...and we also had flooding issues because of bad design
Breakfast very pleasant, with views to die for...and Spanish staff very pleasant...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristopherAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Tenerife but the first to Los Gigantes and The Royal Sun Resort. The apartment was huge with a very spacious balcony and the views were breathtaking. Shower was a nightmare as flooded the floor numerous times but apart from that the room was more than ok. Cleaned regularly by very friendly staff who even did our dishes. The pool was as quoted by my 7 year old "awesome." Long walk to nearest shops and restaurants but free shuttle provided by hotel takes you down to the marina or to the beach at Playa De La Arena. Was there with my Wife, Mother and our 2 young girls and had the bed and breakfast. Great selection of food and the staff were pleasant and polite. Ate in the Hotel Restaurant on 3 occasions and cant fault the food or the service. Hotel entertainment was ok but a number of times the entertainment was cancelled and i wasn't impressed with the Russian only Karaoke on the wed nights. Are there only Russian guests in this hotel?? Another downside was the 10am checkout which i thought was a tad early considering our flight home wasn't till 10.10pm
If you do venture into town I can recommend a couple of good restaurants. There's a nice Italian at bottom of hill, a nice curry house on way to Marina called Krishna's and another cracking Italian called Tamara just up from the Marina.
I would definitely visit again and planning a trip back next summer. All the staff were pleasant and polite. Built up quite a good rapport with Juan Pedro the barman who was funny and very pleasant to talk to.

I would highly recommend the Royal Sun Resort.

Kevin Woodrow

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kevwoodrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest

It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions. We will be very glad seeing you next time you come.

My sincere regards
Dioni Muñoz
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been back from the royal sun nearly a week now and its never stopped raining which makes us miss this gem of a hotel even more .we paid for a private transfers from and to the airport just to cut down on travel time and this was money well spent ..as everyone says the views are amazing well worth the walk up and down the hill (or taxi lol ) the rooms are large well equipped clean and comfortable . The bathroom is a little dated the bath/shower needs modernising and the lack of air conditioning can be a discomfort although you can hire portable air con machines so all is not lost this was our second visit in the last 12 months and I think breakfast has improved its got all you need to start your day .the pool is lovely and clean with plenty of sun loungers .the staff are pleasant special mention to Brenda (entertainment) Elizabet (reception) and Jose Angel(bar)who were excellent. The hotel lacks a bit of atmosphere at night I just think guests either stay in their rooms or sample the many places to eat in los gigantes and santiago so don't rush back which is a shame as the bar /lounge area is great and very comfortable.. Of the many places to eat we really like El rincon de jaun Carlos ,Jardin del sol,and surprisingly Highland paddy in los gigantes and La Pergola in Santiago there is plenty more so no shortage of choice..so the Royal Sun is a thumbs up from us we will back again just modernise that bath/shower for and extra star .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
286 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,740 reviews
0.3 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Property: Royal Sun Resort
Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing