We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week at the Royal Sun”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Never having been on a package holiday before I was delighted with our week at the Royal Sun Resort. I spacious, clean and lovely apartment gave us a home from home base for the week's holiday. The staff were lovely. I really have to mention Jonathan who served breakfast, Enrique in the restaurant and Jose Angel in the bar as well as the lovely Brenda who looked after entertainment. There were more, too numerous to mention! My only reservation was the unfriendliness of one member of staff from what i think was the Premier section who told us quite clearly we couldn't put our stuff on their exclusive tables while we were playing pool in a completely empty entertainment room! This was unnecessary and could have been handled better. However don't let that put you off. The location is lovely, the views spectacular, the pool and lounger area is clean and very relaxing and the food is delicious and served with care and thought. They even have free taxis to take you the short distance into the centre (and back, which is very nice when the sun is at its hottest).

Room Tip: No need, they all have sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire04052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Sun Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your feedback regarding our staff service and hotel condition.

It will be very nice to meet you here on your next visit.

Sincerely
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Having never travelled to Tenerife before, I was slightly dubious, but one look at the Royal Sun resort and I was in love. It was the first holiday myself and my partner had been on together and from the moment we stepped in the door, everything was perfect. We arrived at about half past 10 at night and the receptionist was very pleasant, explained everything to us thoroughly and was very welcoming. My first impression was how spotless and beautifully thought out the hotel was. As we opened the door to our room on the 4th floor, we were taken back with the sheer size of the balcony and the spotlessness of the room. The maids are amazing.

We were on a self catering basis and the room had everything we needed and more. We didn't try much of the food but what we had was lovely, and the poolside pina colada's were beautiful. Bit of a trek up and down into Los Gigantes itself but with a free taxi service up till 6pm and a taxi after that only 3.15 euros, you really can't complain.

I also had a relaxation massage by the pool, and all I can say is WOW! For 45 euros, in the uk you'd be lucky to get a facial, but at the royal sun, I got the works. Went back to my room feeling like Jelly! Would highly recommend.

Also just wanted to say a huge thank you to Adrian, our Tompsons rep. We never got a chance to see him before we left to show him our photo's of Loro Parque and Teide at night (both of which I would also highly recommend). Fab guy, bought me and my other half a drink so celebrate our birthday and couldn't do enough for us. Hope to see him when we go back next year!

Been back less than a week and we're already getting ourselves sorted to go back. Perfect hotel, perfect staff, breathtaking views. Truly paradise.

Thank you to everyone at the Royal Sun, we'll see you next time!

Rachael and Dave

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Rachael and Dave:

Thank you very much for trust in our hotel Royal Sun Resort and for choosing our resort in Tenerife.

We are very happy reading that exceeded your expectations and you will come back.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your home, Royal Sun Resort

Kind regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

What a lovely place, clean, well laid out, every room with a stunning sea view, charming staff. We were in room 504, a clean 1 bed apartment, large balcony, lovely bath (be careful getting in and out). Hard beds. Amazing breakfast, cava and everything could wish for to eat. However we were on half board and the evening menu is poor, not only in choice but quality. Same pile of poor veg with either very thinly sliced lamb or chicken on top. Pink pork. Dry pasta lacking sauce. Same veg soup all week. Poor choice of desserts. You can have a 33% deduction from the a la carte menu and then a steak costs about 12 euros. Such a shame because apart from this we enjoyed it. Thank goodness for courtesy taxi, its a real haul up the hill. Go whale and dolphin watching, it was good value. Great place for couples, not much around for children.

Room Tip: Any room has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Having just got back from the royal sun resort hotel in Los Gigantes in Tenerife I was amazed at just how well equipped and in such good order this hotel is. Spotlessly clean with clean towels almost daily plus rooms and sheets changed more often than really needed. The breakfast is just so well presented with so much choice and made fresh to your liking with a huge choice. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor massive balcony and the views are just wonderful, with all sea facing and the sun just oozes in all day long for all the rooms as this is built on a cliff edge all facing the same way. The restaurant staff and reception are all so obliging and helpful. The walk up from the resort is trying but good exercise, there is a good free bus service for those who don't want the climb. Resort has just enough to offer with a hand full of bars and restaurants to choice from with good food, but I have to say the BBQ nights and dinners at the royal sun are simply hard to pull away from for value for money. BBQ night €20 per person buffet style with so much choice it's unbelievable and you get a bottle of wine for 2 thrown in as well. I am quite a fussy person when it comes to accommodation and fairly hard to please, but I really cannot find anything adverse to say. I have never been in a self catering hotel with a kitchen that as well as an oven and hob it has a coffee machine, toaster, dishwasher microwave and kettle plus an adapter for you in case you forgot to bring your own. To sum it up this is one of my favourite hotels I have stayed in, I am 53 and have travelled at least 3 times a year so that's saying a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing with a great view but if you like the larger balcony go for the one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpaManager14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear guest

It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions. We will be very glad seeing you next time you come.

My sincere regards
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This review is a pleasure to write, we found the Royal an idealic Apart Hotel, we stayed a week from 13th April and found everything we needed for a great chill out holiday.we used most of the facilities and found the staff were top notch and very friendly, thhe food in the restaurant was great ,and the wine and the BQ on the monday just could not be missed..we always walked into town every day and found this no hastle . The gym could do with a bit of maintanance if you want to use it but the standard of apartments are really good,everyone speaks about the balconys and its all true,whow .Take care with the bath and everything else is top notch. Had a few a1 cocktails in the bar from Pedro, we took an instant like for him, he was great to speak to and and grave us a few laughs, Highly recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: barbeque is a must on monday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rich060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for trust in our hotel Royal Sun Resort and for choosing our resort in Tenerife.

We are very happy reading that exceeded your expectations and you will come back.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your home, Royal Sun Resort

Kind regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Firstly we would like to say thank you to every member of staff who made our holiday so good.
Special thanks to a receptionist Vladimir, waiters Luis, Andrea and Ricardo. They are very polite, friendly and extremely professional.
The hotel is extremely clean, modern and welcoming. As it was mentioned here many times, rooms are really spacious and have all kitchen appliances and tools. Each of two our one bed room apartments had huge balconies with sunbeds and chairs with tables. Balconies have enough of privacy. Please remember, that each room has a direct sea view (or ocean:) ), you don't pay an additional price or feel cheated view some sort side or partial sea view. You daily have wonderful sunsets.
The swimming pools are clean and spotless. One thing is a very important about this place, it is always felt, that the hotel is half empty. I asked the staff, they said the hotel was fully occupied. No crowded breakfasts or dinners,no annoying queues at reception, you can ALWAYS get sunbeds next to swimming pools. That is really appreciated.

You also have a free hotel taxi to the town and back (until 6:15pm), we used just once, walking is purely ok and I would encourage to discover all places around on a hired car.

A fantastic place to stay!

If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: A higher floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Royal Sun Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for you next stay in Tenerife.

Sincerely,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Writing this review whilst currently still staying here and I have to say its beautifully clean and the staff from the girl who checked us in when we arrived to the guys in the restaurant have all been both friendly and polite.
This is a perfect place to stay if you want peace and quiet it's at the top of the hill yeh so what,if you want to venture out use the free taxis down to to harbour.
I prefer to walk and it takes about 15 minutes each way, but we spent our days soaking up the sun by the pool or on the huge balcony which is even a quieter way to spend your day! There isn't the mad rush to get your towels out either that you get in most places I detest that if you don't get out of bed to put your towel out by 8am you've had it bit of a holiday! I only marked Royal Sun apts down due to 2 things one is the so called gymnasium ! It isn't, what's there is all broken and doesn't work so it's a complete waste of time.
The second is as most people have pointed out which is the bathroom! Because of the oval shaped bath the shower doesn't have a run off so it continually floods every night now if there's only two of you wanting a shower that might not be a problem but there was four of us and it was like we'd been hit was a tsunami most nights! Also getting in and out is dangerous if your not first in! I must of slipped 5 or 6 times and I consider myself quite nimble on my feet! But don't let that put you off this place it's very nice indeed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Sun Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your feedback regarding our staff service and hotel condition.

It will be very nice to meet you here on your next visit.

Sincerely
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
342 reviews
39 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,954 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 2 in Playa de la Arena
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 9 in Puerto de Santiago
6,296 reviews
2.8 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range: $112 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing