We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 4, 2014

well what can I say the view from the apartment was amazing dinner on the balcony as the sun sets what more can you ask .The apartment was well equipped oven fridge freezer , micro wave and even a dish washer . large bathroom with a sunken bath wide screen television not that we watch it , sun beds ,everything thing you need in fact . The hotel was very clean and spacious . It had a swimming pool and also a small pool for young children .We self catered which we don't normally do but this was good , breakfast dinner on the balcony great , if you did not want to cook you could go to the restaurant there which again was really good top class not to expensive . The walk down to the harbour was about 10 minutes if you did not want to walk the hotel provided a free taxi ,it is hilly but the scenery makes up for that , where as along the coast it is very flat . We went in January temp was 25c all the time . We travelled with Thomson which were very good transfer to airport was 40 mins . Wlll we book again yes for sure same hotel

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view and are of a same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royboyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a surprise Christmas present for my girlfriend. The only reason i chose this far afield was to wake up to the view and that alone. Upon arrival at 8pm at night we were greeted by a bemused receptionist who quickly summoned her manager. It was at this point that we were told the hotel was overbooked and they couldn't get rid of us any quicker. A taxi had been booked to take us to accommodation that we were assured was of equal rating. We spent the next week in a timeshare apartment which overlooked a supermarket(which took in deliveries at half 7 each morning) Thomson did not even know of this until we promptly contacted them. Now pursuing this at home but the hotel were no help and i fail to understand how a hotel can be overbooked when the booking was taken in August?? Overall a very sour experience and nobody, least of all anyone at the royal sun appeared to care.....

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

After arriving into Tenerife Airport (south) at 6pm and 30 minutes early we were celebrating that we would be safely in our hotel well in time for dinner. The estimated taxi time was 48 minutes but our transfer organised in the first instance by Low-cost Holidays was in excess of three hours and included an inordinate wait on a cool breezy evening on the footpath waiting for a driver. We eventually arrived at the road leading to our hotel and the bus pulled to a stop, the driver alighting and calling us to follow. I was a little bewildered and enquired "the hotel ... where is it ?" A long finger pointed to a road opposite ... "up there." There then followed a short exchange of words as he re - boarded the bus and drove off leaving us standing on a darkened intersection, preparing to push our cases up a steep incline in semi darkness a distance of 500 yards to the hotel beside which was a bus parking area and turning point ! !
I believe hotels should be in a position as the creators of the transfer companies business to make certain their customers are looked after. Who would return to an hotel knowing that they had to pull their cases 500 yards in all weathers and again downhill on the return journey ? Management wake up here and exert your influence !
For me the Royal Sun has a distinct lack of atmosphere one would normally associate with a lively resort hotel. The restaurants serve excellent food and are staffed by wonderful waiters and waitresses in a relaxed and caring service. Breakfast and dinner are cooked to order and is a welcome change from the popular buffet service offered by others. The pool area is beautifully laid out but on the best of days appeared bereft of bodies with only a handful of visitors enjoying the facility of comfortable sun beds, wonderful views and a lovely pool. Evening entertainment while there ( the usual jugglers, magician etc ) was so badly attended one would feel for the performers. We passed one evening as a handful of guests watched a juggler brop his club which spun across the floor and for me summed up a management that had dropped the ball.
During the evening the bar lacked ambiance with few if any customers. A small bar in a large indistinct area open to the front door and reception lending itself in its poor design to a distinct loss of atmosphere and hence customers.
While in town (a difficult walk in both directions for those who face the challenge, especially in the evening when the courtesy bus does not run) we were told the the Royal Sun was closed for years and was now re-opened selling Time - Share. I then understood better that management perhaps were divided on their priorities between looking after guests needs or selling time - share. Senior management on this premises was for us totally lacking in all respects. Not one manager approached us on any of 10 days to ask how we were enjoying our stay or asked for feed back.
Please understand I thought perhaps higher than I ever did in any hotel of the super staff on the ground on a daily basis. They were just wonderful and always prepared to go that bit extra.
Another illustration of management failure is the state of the bathrooms. On first look the bathroom impresses : so large , with bidet , toilet , washbasin , and a bath the size (and shape) of a preformed garden pond bedecked with curving curtains. On second look in the daylight of our first morning we noted that the shower head was only suitable for holding in the hand. Within an hour of contacting reception a workman had cheerfully replaced both shower head and wall fittings. He did not need to be told of specifics and arrived saying he was aware of our problem ! Here I question management in allocating rooms with pre-knowledge of problems to guests. The work completed and the cheerful workman gone I had my first and last " shower" in the Royal Sun Resort. The whole bathroom was flooded as the bath and surrounding surface was sloped outward and from which the water streamed on to the floor.
Nothing could be done to rectify this. One of the staff told us that every room had this problem. Coupled with the fact that stepping in and out of the bath was to say the least dangerous I cannot understand how these bathrooms passed EU safety standards ! As with other couples we met we all needed physical help to get into and out of the bath.
Royal Sun have three people canvasing for time-share in the streets of Los- Giantes. Every day we observed potential clients being shown around , treated to meals , sold to at tables. I was so terribly tempted to suggest to them to try having a shower before committing to a contract.
For those who like an hotel experience I would not recommend this "resort."

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but check facilities especially bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mpbg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest

We sincerely thank you for the time you dedicated to write your opinions. We thank for your honestly letting know people about the negatives remarks. We offer you our apologies for the negative situation that made you feel uncomfortable during your stay in our resort. Will take advantage of your negatives comment to work on them as opportunities for improvements and hope you can reconsider a new visit to our Hotel on next future.

Sincerely
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very good hotel, but the views (as has been mentioned by every other reviewer!) are amazing. Large apartment, slightly dated but don't look at the kitchen....look at the view! The hotel is at the top of a hill and its a bit of a pain to get up and down to the town if you want to explore but if you're content to laze around the pool all day then this wouldn't bother you. Seems to be very much on the new influx of Russian tourists hit list because we seemed to be the only English in the place....but who cares! Great staff, great hotel....just a bit high up (hence the views!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarnsleyMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Royal Sun Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for you next stay in Tenerife.

Sincerely,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here January 2014. The balcony and views are amazing - you really could not get better. However, the 1 bed apartments are not 4 star. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a 1 bed apartment. The kitchen is dated but has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The bedroom was very small, the 2 single beds are extremely tiny and you can't have the bedroom window open as it opens up onto the floor below so you can hear everyone coming / going on the 2nd floor. My fiancé found it difficult to sleep on the small beds which are only suitable for children - thankfully there was a sofa bed in the living room which we put up and spent the holiday sleeping in there. There was no air conditioning in our room just ceiling fans however, we were told the apartments on the higher floors do have air conditioning. We didn't have a decent shower whilst we stayed here as the shower head was not big enough to ensure the water fell into the big round bath so we flooded every night. My Mum and Sister stayed next door and they had the same problem with the shower too. The pool area is lovely with amazing views. The Gym - well there isn't much to say apart from 'what gym'- the running machine was broken and there was some little dumbbells in a the corner. We joined a gym in the next town.
The staff are all very friendly. On writing this review I am being completely honest about the accommodation not the views which are amazing!
We stayed self catering and dined out each evening in Los Gigantes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank willdells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Sun Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your feedback regarding our staff service and hotel condition.

It will be very nice to meet you here on your next visit.

Sincerely
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent a week in this hotel. Other guests were mostly germans and russians. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. Breakfast was good, there was bread, jam, cheese, ham, cereal, yoghurt, fruits etc. From breakfast menu you could also order omelettes, fried eggs with bacon and such. The hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious and the view from balcony was magnificent! The hotel is located at the end of a street so it's quiet and peaceful. On the other hand there is lots of uphill to climb from the harbor to reach the hotel. There's also free shuttle taxi driving to the beach (Play de la Arena) and the center of Los Gigantes and back to the hotel. All the TV channels were in Spanish, German or Russian with only couple of news channels in English.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for yours comments. We always appreciate comments as your and above all to know that we met the expectations of our clients.
That is our main goal and the best reward to our every day effort.
You can consider our hotel as your home in Tenerife.
It will be very nice to meet you here on your next visit.

Best regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a tour of the hotel and the rooms here are excellent all with a large balcony which overlooks Los Gigantes, La Gomera and La Palma. Would certainly stay here but would not eat here as we did not think the food was up to the same standard as the location. The rooms are all set up as self catering with fridges, stoves, washing machines and dishwashers so you can cater for yourself. There is also a regular bus service from the hotel down to the bottom of the hill and back again at regular intervals which is good to know as it is a very steep climb up to the hotel. If you hire a car while staying here park in the car park just before the hotel as once you approach the hotel there is nowhere to turn around and all you can do is reverse.

Room Tip: All rooms have a perfect view facing out to sea so no worries about a spoiled view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionisio M, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your comments. It is very nice to know yours expectations were fulfilled and that you enjoyed your stay among us. Hope to see you here once again. You can consider our hotel as your home in Tenerife.

Best regards,
Dioni Muñoz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,420 reviews
39.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range: $110 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing