We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find!”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at the royal sun for a week in mid October and not only did we have gorgeous weather but we had the pleasure of staying at this resort. The staff keep the hotel spotless, the apartments are HUGE and have the added bonus of all having a sea view balcony (also HUGE!). The pool area is one of the best i have ever seen although i can imagine this is extremely busy in peak season.

perfect venue for out of season sunshine!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

breathtaking views of los gigantes - huge balcony with table, chairs and sunbeds - lovely spacious apartment with huge bed, loads of storage, dishwasher, microwave and large fridge. all round great accommodation...the bathroom was also large with large corner bath...only problem was water getting onto floor no matter how hard we tried, but apart from that all great! we stayed for last week of november, was fairly quiet, hardly anyone around the lovely pool areas...lots of russian guests. lovely stroll down hill into town, but taxi back up is just over 3 euros. The hotel had a free courtesy minibus which ran all day until about 6pm....great for getting down to beach at playa de la arena or into los gigantes.l...always punctual. Very friendly staff, we ate in restaurant on the first night and got a discount....lovely meal and again great views from balcony. friendly guys in the cafe as well. reception was helpful and friendly. will definitely return again for a winter break.

Room Tip: we had room 406.....next to one of stairs....was quiet when we were there in november, but could pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here mid November for one week. Room 312, next to pool. Generally quiet, some noise on event evenings, but didn't go on late. Room very clean, balcony and views great. Had problem with ceiling fan in lounge on arrival, but within one hour, all sorted. Staff friendly, cleaning was optional, we just put " do not disturb" sign on door, and they didn't.
We stayed self catering, so can't comment on food, but used free shuttle bus to get to Playa Arena, where we shopped in the "Mercadona" supermarket. Lots of choice, good prices.
Steep walk into and out of Los Gigantes, but nothing to onerous if your reasonably fit/ mad.
Lots of bars/ restaurants in Los Gigantes, visit the marina sea front and try the "Funky Chicken" for fish and chips on Fridays.
All in all, very nice accommodation, Russians have invested heavily in this place, kept themselves to themselves we found.
All the usual excursions available, Whale/Dolphin watching trips from marina. Ocean Explorer good value. We did Mt Teide "by night". Spectacular.
Weather was great, booking again for March 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, and large balconies, plus sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My friend and I had an away from it all, seven day break at the Royal Sun Hotel and we had a lovely quiet holiday. The room was excellent. The views from our terrace were amazing and in all the venue was perfect for anyone wanting a quiet hassle free time in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madchainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Customer

We have shared your review with all staff the Royal Sun Resort, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your home, Royal Sun resort

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Apartment clean. My one and only fault is the bath. If you have restricted mobility it is difficult getting in and out, no hand rails.
Hotel provides a free shuttle bus down to the local towns, which is fantastic on hot days and saves your feet.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gossips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Customer

We have shared your review with all staff the Royal Sun Resort, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

We will consider your comments help us to improve

Kind regards from your home, Royal Sun resort

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sun the first 2 weeks of November and overall we had a very enjoyable holiday and were pleased that we had chosen to stay there and considering I had already booked to go there a second time in January 2014 based upon TripAdvisor reviews I was somewhat relieved.

As others have said the apartment balcony is large with stunning views, the pool and public areas are fantastic, clean and modern. The apartments themselves are a little dated but clean and again as others have said the shower in the bath situation is far from ideal and I did come a cropper, luckily no broken bones, to water that had leaked out of the bathroom under the door into the main apartment (a combination of a tap leaking and the shower curtain not keeping the water contained). The fan in the bedroom was not working and we were provided with an alternative fan but air conditioning would really be preferable as we were very hot at night and as we were in room 103 which although has one of the largest balcony's in the resort it is also very open to the possibility of having intruders so we were unable to leave the doors open at night.

Mostly in the evenings we ate out including Jardin del Sol, El Rincon de Juan Carlos, El Rincon Antonio, Tamara, Estero, El Pescador and had some great fish and seafood.

The onsite shop was quite good however it did run out of things pretty quickly and only appeared to be restocked once a week.

There are a few simple things that I would like the resort to change which would have made my experience excellent instead of very good.

1. The music around the pool area was far too loud on most days and also the wrong type of music was being played. On holiday I would like to relax around the pool, this was not possible after 11am when the pool bar opens. I like music being played around the pool but at a relaxing volume and chill out tunes instead of Lady Gaga etc being played 25 times a day on repeat.

2. Food quality and choice at lunchtime. We ate a few times at the pool bar and also in Café Royale at lunch time but we were disappointed with the quality and consistency of the offerings considering the 2 times we had breakfast there it was very good indeed. At lunch we never got what we ordered. There was always something missing or different, the food was cold and was not as described on the menu. Also the prices of the menu in Café Royale for lunch were quite expensive. 9 euros for a prawn salad that consisted of 4 small prawns was very expensive. The prices and the inconsistency could perhaps explain why they were not very busy.

3. BBQ and Paella evening. We chose to eat on the 2 special evenings and although the food quality of what we ate was of a good standard and tasty we felt, as I think many other people did who were not part of the Russian groups, that we were a second thought and were there just to make up the numbers. It appears that Russian groups are given special treatment on these evenings and are accommodated half an hour before the evening is supposed to start which ended up meaning when we arrived at 7pm when we were told it started there was either a little cold paella available or bbq chicken which had gone cold - the head chef told me not to eat it but left it out for another half hour! and no bbq food left of any significance. Both evenings were very disorganised. There appear to be a lot of staff doing very little including the manager. The one person that seems to try and hold things together is Enrique, a fantastic man. The manager and staff could learn a lot from the staff at the Jardin del Sol in the square in the village where we had very good food and service on 3 nights.

3. Pool bar drinks. The first week we purchased drinks all day in the pool bar but gave up the second week and took our own drinks to the pool because when ordering a large cerveza it was served in a coca cola paper cup which was 30 to 50% foam and was charged at 3 euros. There is no reason why the plastic tankards they use in the food area can not be used at the sunbeds so the server can see that the beer has been poured correctly. Also we were charged 4 euros for a large cerveza when a different member of staff was on a couple of days!

4. Evening bar. Although the barman that works in the bar at night is great the bar area is not an inviting place to be. It has harsh lighting, it's inside and feels like its attached to a Bingo hall. We felt that the Café Royale terrace which is closed at night would be a perfect place for evening drinks in the fresh air overlooking the town. Each night when we returned from dinner in the village we wished we could have had a few drinks sitting outside on the Café Royale terrace but instead just went back to our own apartment to have a nightcap outside on our own balcony.

5. Evening Shows. We did see 2 evening shows during the bbq and paella night which were of a good quality however the shows are on at 8pm and so we did not see any other acts as 8pm was usually when we were heading out for dinner. I thought again if the show was on later and an outside bar was available they would have a bigger audience and also have had more drink sales.

N.B - I have hospitality management background so I would suggest this is why the 5 points above could have improved my holiday the most but I also know that it would not take much to make these improvements which would in turn increase the profits for the resort.

TIP: I have read on here on more than one occasion comments that there is only 2 English speaking TV channels, well this is correct to a point however there were a number of channels showing American tv series or films which were dubbed in Spanish but you could change the language with the remote control to change it back to its original. We watched many programmes and films in English during our stay.

Anyway, as I said at the beginning, we were overall very happy with our holiday and we are looking forward to going back in a few weeks time but I hope some of what I have said was helpful to anyone considering staying at the resort and I also hope some of my comments may be addressed by the management before our return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a strange hotel. The reviews we saw and the photos look wonderful. Indeed the hotel benefits from a beautiful panoramic view of the sea. The rooms are quite good, though we also had the flooded bathroom problem mentioned by other reviewers, and the cleaning was erratic, some days they would leave certain things like bath lotion and dishwasher tablets, some days they wouldn't. Other days they took the kitchen towel and didn't leave another one. Some of the staff are friendly one day and don't speak to you another. At breakfast one day we saw that on the menu was cheese omelette and also mushroom omelette, but when I asked for a cheese and mushroom omelette they couldn't or wouldn't do it (really chef, just throw in a handful of cheese with the mushrooms!) Plus the 2 boiled eggs were brought in a bowl and they didn't have any egg cups!

Try to open their website and your computer will freeze, as also it does when you try to get it via other companies' websites. Nor can you send them an email - your email will just stick in your outbox (these things happened for the whole time we were there - 2 weeks - maybe they've been fixed now; we told the reception about it but they just shrugged their shoulders)

There is no supervision of the pool and despite the no football games sign kids happily belted balls around the pool area while other guests tried to sunbathe in peace.

They need to do much more to bring this up to standard. I'm surprised there are so many 5 star reviews. It certainly isn't a 5 star complex.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PippoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
331 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
6,028 reviews
2.8 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range: $107 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing