We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly relaxing break”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My friend and I had an away from it all, seven day break at the Royal Sun Hotel and we had a lovely quiet holiday. The room was excellent. The views from our terrace were amazing and in all the venue was perfect for anyone wanting a quiet hassle free time in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madchainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Customer

We have shared your review with all staff the Royal Sun Resort, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your home, Royal Sun resort

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Apartment clean. My one and only fault is the bath. If you have restricted mobility it is difficult getting in and out, no hand rails.
Hotel provides a free shuttle bus down to the local towns, which is fantastic on hot days and saves your feet.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gossips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Customer

We have shared your review with all staff the Royal Sun Resort, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

We will consider your comments help us to improve

Kind regards from your home, Royal Sun resort

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sun the first 2 weeks of November and overall we had a very enjoyable holiday and were pleased that we had chosen to stay there and considering I had already booked to go there a second time in January 2014 based upon TripAdvisor reviews I was somewhat relieved.

As others have said the apartment balcony is large with stunning views, the pool and public areas are fantastic, clean and modern. The apartments themselves are a little dated but clean and again as others have said the shower in the bath situation is far from ideal and I did come a cropper, luckily no broken bones, to water that had leaked out of the bathroom under the door into the main apartment (a combination of a tap leaking and the shower curtain not keeping the water contained). The fan in the bedroom was not working and we were provided with an alternative fan but air conditioning would really be preferable as we were very hot at night and as we were in room 103 which although has one of the largest balcony's in the resort it is also very open to the possibility of having intruders so we were unable to leave the doors open at night.

Mostly in the evenings we ate out including Jardin del Sol, El Rincon de Juan Carlos, El Rincon Antonio, Tamara, Estero, El Pescador and had some great fish and seafood.

The onsite shop was quite good however it did run out of things pretty quickly and only appeared to be restocked once a week.

There are a few simple things that I would like the resort to change which would have made my experience excellent instead of very good.

1. The music around the pool area was far too loud on most days and also the wrong type of music was being played. On holiday I would like to relax around the pool, this was not possible after 11am when the pool bar opens. I like music being played around the pool but at a relaxing volume and chill out tunes instead of Lady Gaga etc being played 25 times a day on repeat.

2. Food quality and choice at lunchtime. We ate a few times at the pool bar and also in Café Royale at lunch time but we were disappointed with the quality and consistency of the offerings considering the 2 times we had breakfast there it was very good indeed. At lunch we never got what we ordered. There was always something missing or different, the food was cold and was not as described on the menu. Also the prices of the menu in Café Royale for lunch were quite expensive. 9 euros for a prawn salad that consisted of 4 small prawns was very expensive. The prices and the inconsistency could perhaps explain why they were not very busy.

3. BBQ and Paella evening. We chose to eat on the 2 special evenings and although the food quality of what we ate was of a good standard and tasty we felt, as I think many other people did who were not part of the Russian groups, that we were a second thought and were there just to make up the numbers. It appears that Russian groups are given special treatment on these evenings and are accommodated half an hour before the evening is supposed to start which ended up meaning when we arrived at 7pm when we were told it started there was either a little cold paella available or bbq chicken which had gone cold - the head chef told me not to eat it but left it out for another half hour! and no bbq food left of any significance. Both evenings were very disorganised. There appear to be a lot of staff doing very little including the manager. The one person that seems to try and hold things together is Enrique, a fantastic man. The manager and staff could learn a lot from the staff at the Jardin del Sol in the square in the village where we had very good food and service on 3 nights.

3. Pool bar drinks. The first week we purchased drinks all day in the pool bar but gave up the second week and took our own drinks to the pool because when ordering a large cerveza it was served in a coca cola paper cup which was 30 to 50% foam and was charged at 3 euros. There is no reason why the plastic tankards they use in the food area can not be used at the sunbeds so the server can see that the beer has been poured correctly. Also we were charged 4 euros for a large cerveza when a different member of staff was on a couple of days!

4. Evening bar. Although the barman that works in the bar at night is great the bar area is not an inviting place to be. It has harsh lighting, it's inside and feels like its attached to a Bingo hall. We felt that the Café Royale terrace which is closed at night would be a perfect place for evening drinks in the fresh air overlooking the town. Each night when we returned from dinner in the village we wished we could have had a few drinks sitting outside on the Café Royale terrace but instead just went back to our own apartment to have a nightcap outside on our own balcony.

5. Evening Shows. We did see 2 evening shows during the bbq and paella night which were of a good quality however the shows are on at 8pm and so we did not see any other acts as 8pm was usually when we were heading out for dinner. I thought again if the show was on later and an outside bar was available they would have a bigger audience and also have had more drink sales.

N.B - I have hospitality management background so I would suggest this is why the 5 points above could have improved my holiday the most but I also know that it would not take much to make these improvements which would in turn increase the profits for the resort.

TIP: I have read on here on more than one occasion comments that there is only 2 English speaking TV channels, well this is correct to a point however there were a number of channels showing American tv series or films which were dubbed in Spanish but you could change the language with the remote control to change it back to its original. We watched many programmes and films in English during our stay.

Anyway, as I said at the beginning, we were overall very happy with our holiday and we are looking forward to going back in a few weeks time but I hope some of what I have said was helpful to anyone considering staying at the resort and I also hope some of my comments may be addressed by the management before our return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a strange hotel. The reviews we saw and the photos look wonderful. Indeed the hotel benefits from a beautiful panoramic view of the sea. The rooms are quite good, though we also had the flooded bathroom problem mentioned by other reviewers, and the cleaning was erratic, some days they would leave certain things like bath lotion and dishwasher tablets, some days they wouldn't. Other days they took the kitchen towel and didn't leave another one. Some of the staff are friendly one day and don't speak to you another. At breakfast one day we saw that on the menu was cheese omelette and also mushroom omelette, but when I asked for a cheese and mushroom omelette they couldn't or wouldn't do it (really chef, just throw in a handful of cheese with the mushrooms!) Plus the 2 boiled eggs were brought in a bowl and they didn't have any egg cups!

Try to open their website and your computer will freeze, as also it does when you try to get it via other companies' websites. Nor can you send them an email - your email will just stick in your outbox (these things happened for the whole time we were there - 2 weeks - maybe they've been fixed now; we told the reception about it but they just shrugged their shoulders)

There is no supervision of the pool and despite the no football games sign kids happily belted balls around the pool area while other guests tried to sunbathe in peace.

They need to do much more to bring this up to standard. I'm surprised there are so many 5 star reviews. It certainly isn't a 5 star complex.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PippoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we spent a week in the royal resort in oct this year , just getting around to review now , this place was just great ! the whole place is kept spotless , and by may i add some of the friendliest staff ive ever come across , our apartment was spacious , and everything worked , balcony large and i wont mention the spectacular sunsets as if youve read previous reviews you will have read all about it , we managed the walk to and from town fine , we had our 2 kids 4 an 7yr old with us , but i guess in the strong summer heat it would be alot harder , the one thing that made our holiday so memorable was by far the staff, hi to alex who tried very hard to get us off our loungers and into the pool ! ... water erobics, water polo etc , but at no point do you feel under pressure to join in , but i must say it was the waiting staff at breakfast /dinner that stood out for me , they are 1st class , enrique you are a star , kids loved you! oskar sending you a high 5! wish i could rem all breakfast staff , but of course marina you were olso great , we felt like we were leaving people we had known for a lot longer than a week ! will be back , dont change anything too much

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your amazing comments! We are so happy to know that you had a great vacation with us! It certainly makes us want to continue to improve everyday!!


We have shared your review with all staff the Royal Sun Resort, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your home, Royal Sun resort

Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The view is the best part of the apartments and you can forgive all the other points for this view.
Lets start with the positives. The balcony is huge and offers get views of the cliffs and island opposite. The rooms are cleaned daily and the whole complex was clean and tidy. The mini market was good. The pool was ok.
On the negative side the restaurant food was poor and service was also poor. We then tried the breakfast and it was expense and tasteless. The bathroom was spacious but the bath was ridiculous, impossible to get in and out of and leaked when full. There was always hotwater.
I would also caution against going in high season as the layout of the apartments means noise travels and I would imagin inthe summer there would be many people especially children.
Out of season when we went we found the place relaxing and the staff helpful. We also did not mind cooking in our apartment.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Ceramicjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel only opened less than a year ago having previously been timeshare apartments. The building was probably built back in the 70s or 80s and the fittings date back to that period. However these single bedroom apartments are large with very large balconies all facing South South West so you get the sun most of the day. The balconies are mostly well secluded from each other, with comfortable sun loungers so you can do your own thing. You don't hear much noise from surrounding apartments although you do get a certain amount of noise from people in the corridors. Best to avoid being in rooms near the swimming pool or restaurant area (09-12) on the lower floors to avoid being overlooked and noise from the evening entertainment. Most noise seemed to end by 11pm although it could be later in the lighter summer evenings.

This hotel is now Russian owned and seems to be catering more for Russian and Scandanavian visitors. There were some English but very few English speaking TV channels.

The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are a lot better than many hotels. The corner bath is just big enough for two but it is quite a stretch to climb in and out. Just be aware that the floors become very slippery when wet so worth taking care to avoid water splashing everywhere. There is no air conditioning, just ceiling fans. Although we did not find it too hot in November, it might be more of an issue in summer.

We went self catering so cannot comment on the food in the hotel. The kitchen facilities are a little limited but fine for the two of us. If you want to do some cooking it is worth bringing a measuring jug and a grater. There is a small supermarket on site with a local supermarket some 10 minutes walk away near the bus station. The best place to shop is at Mercadona supermarket in Playa al Arena which can be reached by bus or using the hotel courtesy bus if operating.

The swimming pool on the 3rd floor is quite small and can get overrun with kids who want to mess around so this can be irritating.

The hotel is perched above the harbour and it takes 10-15 minutes to walk down to the harbour and/or bus station. It is quite a climb back up particularly when the temperature is nearer 30 degrees. There seems to be a courtesy bus so worth checking when it runs.

If you don't have a car, the best solution is a Bono card available from Telefonos down by the church near the harbour. These tickets (costing 15 or 30 Euros) give you a good discount on the bus fare and you can use one ticket for two or more people. Bus 473 goes to Los Christianos, some 23 miles away and only costs some 3 euros each way per person so is good value. It takes about 1.5 hours to get there. The bus goes every 30 minutes with an express bus roughly every 2 hours. Beware some buses don't run at the weekends although the 473 still seems to run every half hour.

If you arrive at Malaga airport during the daytime, it is possible to get a bus from the airport to Los Christianos and then the 473 or express 477 to Playa La Arena (about 1 mile short of Los Gigantes) and then get a taxi (around 4 euros) to the hotel so you avoid walking up the hill. Total cost for 2 people would be around 15 euros compared to shared transport costs of double that. Don't forget to get the Bono card for the bus - buy it at the airport.

In summary, the staff are very friendly, the apartments are mainly nice and sunny and secluded. The property will need significant maintenance as the infrastructure is quite dated. We would consider going back there again as it has many advantages over some other places we have been.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,419 reviews
39.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range: $110 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing