We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week!”
Review of Royal Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sun Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great week!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent the first week in October at the Royal Sun. One of the best hotels we have stayed in! We had a one bedroom apartment on the third floor (same level as the swimming pool), large open plan kitchen and living area, smallish bedroom and large bathroom. Huge balcony! So lovely to be able to spend so much time relaxing in private! And then toddle along to the pool if we felt like it. Sun loungers on the balcony were more comfortable than by the pool and the view was just as beautiful so we had a few days where we stayed on our balcony all day! Bath tub was nice and big so we made a little plunge pool out of it for when it got too hot! Fully functioning kitchen was brilliant, imagine it would be great with small children who could be fussy eaters (like me!) and make sure you take some dishwasher tablets with you so you don't have to wash up. Bed was a bit hard for me and the combination of having the ceiling fan on at night and the window open meant I had quite broken sleep but I am a light sleeper. Plus I could just get up and snooze on the balcony! It was very hot, particularly from about 2-5pm so nice to have a sleep in the shade. The pool area was never crowded and plenty of sunbeds. We liked the seated area in the pool! And good slush puppies from the pool bar. Used the squash court a couple of times, a lot slippier than normal squash courts! Did not make use of the restaurant or bar as went out most nights. Got a free wifi code to use for 7 days, nice luxury to have internet in our room and all around the hotel, especially to use what's app and face time so my phone bill has no extra charges! No hair dryer in the room so lucky I took one. Would probably have expected one to be there but no biggie. If you don't want an early morning wake up make sure you put the sign on the door as our cleaner (very nice lady) was doing the rounds by 9am. We didn't use any taxis as the walk was good for us after all the eating and lounging around. Good workout walking back up to the hill! Restaurants - had a nice meal one night in the Chinese backing onto the square, they also do take away delivery if you want a night in! Ate a couple of times at a restaurant just before and opposite the Italian with the birds, funny waiter! And also had a nice lasagne and pizza at an Italian if you keep going along the road after turning left out the hotel, probably the closest restaurant to the hotel but we only found it on the last night! Imagine we will be back at some point in the future, please don't change too much before then!!

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for your great comments, Dear guest, they are very important to us in order to continue giving you the same quality that we are known for!

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon to Royal Sun, your wonderful resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    430
    79
    17
    17
See reviews for
454
607
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

.
Had an amazing holiday here.from the 23sept to 4th october The rooms are superb, equipped with everything and fantastic balcony with breath taking views of Los Gigantes and the sea. Very clean Maid service excellent, beautifully clean crisp bedding. Perfect for self catering ...loss gigantis harbour is a 15 minute walk downhill Bit of a hill walking back. taxis are cheap. Richard was very helpful.and Alexandra from the pool bar she was lovely..we have stayed in most hotel in the area and I must admit this one beat them all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holli r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Customer
We thank you very much for your comments. We were very happy to read them and to hear about your perspective as one person of the whole group. We are honored that you have enjoyed our services and wish to come back and visit us! What great news!

We know that we have a very professional staff are Richard and Alexander, thanks very much!!!

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon to Royal Sun, your wonderful resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had an amazing holiday here. The rooms are superb, equipped with everything and fantastic balcony with breathtaking views of Los Gigantes and the sea. Very clean and nice touches such as a bottle of water on arrival and dishwasher tablet. Maid service excellent, beautifully clean crisp bedding. Perfect for self catering but lovely restaurants in the resort which is a 15 minute walk downhill and a workout walking back. As previous review plentiful taxis and cheap. Only downside for us was the quality of food at breakfast, very overcooked eggs badly presented, cold tea and coffee not nice, and for that reason we did not try the restaurant in the evening. We did not join the entertainment until the end of the holiday as most evenings we ventured further afield, however when we did do we had a brilliant time at the Karaoke....ask Richard to join in. Alex great fun too and Pedro great behind the bar. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your comments are so important to us.

We know that We have a very professional staff are Richard ,Alexander and Pedro.We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon to Royal Sun, your wonderful resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from the Royal Sun after spending 10 wonderful days there. What can I say, the apartment was brilliant, everything you wanted was there, dish washer, full oven and hob, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, iron and ironing board, television. The bath was so big you could have a swim in it, but the best bit was the terraced area. It had table and 4 chairs and 2 sun loungers and still had room for more. I can honestly say this is the best place we have stayed in. The hotel itself was clean and the maids do an excellent job. Richard and Pedro were brilliant, we got given cold flannels to put on the back of your neck as the weather was so hot. As people have said before it is at the top of Los Gigantes but the views from the terrace was well worth it. We only had 1 evening meal at the hotel so cannot really comment on the food. I would have no hesitation in booking this again, Thank you all for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSunTF, Director General at Royal Sun Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Customer

Wow thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your vacation with us!ho help our way to making sure you have the most wonderful vacation. Thanks for mentioning our staff

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon to Royal Sun, your wonderful resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well what can I say about our stay in the royal sun resort hotel? Incredible!
My partner and I have just arrived back and it was such a lovely experience. Overall the holiday was fantastic but the staff at the royal sun resort made our stay so wonderful. On arrival we were met by Richard at the front of house. We spoke with him almost daily and he provided us with everything we asked for. A delightful man who is very professional and cared for our every need. Richard even managed to give us a special treat in our room where after we returned from our evening meal, we came back to find a bottle of champagne and rose petals in our hot tub! class! The rooms are huge, balcony's the biggest you have ever seen. We stayed in room 516 where the views would take your breath away. Vladimar who works in reception also was very friendly and deserves a mention. The hotel was clean and tidy, lovely swimming pool and we will of course return to this hotel. Thank you to the royal sun hotel and again to Richard for making this holiday the best. See you soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from 11 nights s/c at royal sun. Great hotel & staff . Only down side was no a/c. When they put that in it will be a wonderfull place to stay. Never ate in resterounght but snacks v.good. all spotlessly clean & views to die for. Will return

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wilomid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull, england
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

superb views from all rooms. Rooms cleaned every day and everyone at the hotel is so helpful and friendly. you can certainly see why its the top hotel there. Hell of a walk upto the hotel every day tho but only 3 euros for a taxi and you are back in 2 mins. Lots of places to eat in the main town and lovely walks to the next village though again steep walk walking back. All in all a perfect quiet holiday in a great hotel

Room Tip: Gets really hot on your balcony so make sure you move all cushions into the shade before you go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeb5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,694 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,621 reviews
39.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Resort

Property: Royal Sun Resort
Address: Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There are studios, one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower, or semi-circular bath and a window that looks out on to a mini cactus garden. Bedrooms have a double bed and doors opening onto a large private balcony or terrace, furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Royal Sun Resort Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing