We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach in the fridge!”
Review of El Sombrero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Sombrero
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cockroach in the fridge!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were due to stay at El Sombrero for 14 nights, but after the 3rd night we decided that what with the unbelievable traffic noise which was constant, ants in the apartment, the poor attitude of the owner and the final straw of a cockroach in the fridge (there was no seal on the bottom of the fridge), we decided we just couldnt stay there any longer. We were not the only ones to move hotels either. I read the write ups on Trip advisor before I booked it, and must say that I booked it after reading the write ups as one even said that 'it was a little piece of heaven'! All I can say is that if this place is heaven, I wouldnt want to go there! The owner was rude and was really only interested in looking after his regular customers. When we checked in....at 8pm on a Friday evening, we were just given the room key, and told where the apartment was. No 'hello, hola', or anything. the reception guy was really not interested!. We were told we couldnt watch the tv until the following evening, although this was sorted out the same evening. We asked to move apartments after the first night as the noise of the traffic was so bad, but we were told that even though they couldnt check to see what was available as everything is done manually, we probably wouldnt be able to move for a few days. Had there been a little more interest in making our stay more comfortable, we probably would have felt a bit better about it, but honestly, I would not recommend staying at this complex at all and I would never go back there.

Room Tip: If you do plan on staying here, I would strongly advise you to insist on a room away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topcat040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    197
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
92
275
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just a lovely complex. We stayed for a week at the start of September. The apartment was very spacious and was kept spotlessly clean. Fantastic location, with a bus stop outside door where you get picked up and dropped off. There is very reasonable supermarket up the hill 5 minutes away.
The only problem was not being able to keep our room on, as we had a late flight, however that wasn't really the complex fault.
Would return and will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cats33333333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We first stayed here 10 years ago and have been back the past 2years. Great place to stay and all the staff are very friendly,Sonia at the poolside bar will look after you very well and you must sample her sangria best ever . Rooms are very clean and very spacious, we will go back next year.

Room Tip: Poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nixon6466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in El Sombrero in June. We stayed for 2 weeks and couldn't complain about anything. The service was great and the cleaners who came round everyday to change the beds and give us clean towels etc were lovely also.
We also made a couple of new friends in the form of 2 cats!! We nicknamed them El Som' and Brero which funnily enough when shouted on they came to the nicknames!!
Would recommend El Sombrero to anyone. Would also go back again too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We returned to Los Gigantes after about 15 years to the same El Sombrero apartments in Tenerife. We were not disappointed in any way. The apartments had been updated and we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the one bedroom apartment we had booked when we arrived. The balconies on the top all had excellent views of the sea and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the sun set each night over a glass of wine or 2!!! The whole site around and within the apartments were kept clean throughout our stay and the people in the reception could not have been more helpful. It is definitely best to book your hire car for good value for money.
We will certainly return again and wont hesitate to book the same apartments. This time we wont leave it so long before our return!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have the better views and it is worth spending a little more if you're a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am fast running out of superlatives to describe the El Sombrero experience
each time we have visited has been better than the last.
From Juan and Pedro in reception right down to the cleaning ladies and the pool guy nothing is too much trouble, if you have any kind of problem just ask and in no time it will be sorted.If you want clean comfortable accomodation in a peaceful environment then this is the place to come, however if you want drunken louts, unruly kids and teenagers bombing in the pool and loud music 24/7 the I would advise you not to, maybe Los Christianos would be more your cup of tea or should I say bottle of lager!
I think the best recommendation for El Sombrero must be the amount of nice people you will meet here who will tell you that this is their umteenth visit some I have spoken to have been holidaying here for 14 years or more and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

well went back again this year and stayed in a 1 bed apt this time which was very spacious but i prefered the studio( better view) but it was again very compfy and clean ..was nice to see some faces from last year and also lots of new ones, my husband went on the MASCA trek was he said was brilliant ...............

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sombrero

Property: El Sombrero
Address: Avda Jose Gonzalez Fortes 28, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sombrero 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your El Sombrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sombrero Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
El Sombrero Hotel Los Gigantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing