We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sombrero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Sombrero
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I went with a friend to El Sombrero apartments in Los Gigantes on 23/05/13. This was a 2* apartment, I was a bit apprehensive as it has been a while since I stayed in a 2* accomodation.
I was pleasantly surprised, I had paid for a 1 bed apartment instead of a studio, it was great, I looked at the bedroom then heard my friend let out a scream of delight as there was another bedroom, the place was massive!!! So we had been kindly given a 2 bed. The apartment was spotless and we had a huge balcony, the only downside we didn't get much sun but the weather was scorching so it was nice for a bit of shade. The pool was nice and the lady selling drinks and food was lovely.

Room Tip: We had requested a pool view, we still had that but we were in number 4 on the end it was quite so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    196
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
92
268
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just got back from another super 10 days at El Sombrero and as the title of this report states I have booked again for Sept this year. This will be our third time and believe me my wife and I are well travelled but we have yet to find an apartment anywhere as good as this for the price. The guys on reception, Juan & Pedro are very obliging and helpful, in fact we found all the staff including the maids and ground staff to be pleasant and willing to assist if asked.To sum up if you want a peaceful relaxing hoiday in a lovely safe and quiet place look no further than Los Gigantes and The El Sombrero apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a lovely week staying at the El Sombrero - our apartment was simple, but not as basic as we expected and very clean. Los Gigantes was just what we wanted - quiet, but with enough good bars and shops to keep us entertained - there were a few nightspots that weren't to our taste, but they were easily avoided. It was great being so close to the Harbour Club (two minute stroll, if that) as the views are great, service is excellent and there's live music every night.

There's a lovely coastal walk to Puerto de Santiago too, with an excellent restaurant at the end (La Pergola) that serves fantastic food in a scenic setting.

We'll probably go back to Los Gigantes next April - I think it'd be too busy during the summer season, but in spring it's still relatively quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 12 days in a 1 Bed apartment which was basic to say the least. We have stayed in better ones on our other visits to Tenerife & we would not consider going here again.
The rooms are kept very clean as other visitors have mentioned but there are a few problems which I will list below.
Pro's:
Reasonable room size for 1 bed.
Good position for shops & restaurants etc.
Near to local bus stop.
Linen & towels changed regularly.
Staff very helpful with any problems.
Con's:
No air con or even a fan.
No hairdryer.
No microwave.
No TV unless you pay €25.00 a week & that's only basic English channels.
Had ants in the bed a few days after we arrived, but it was sorted fairly quickly, but not nice.
Kitchen only had 3 of each item of cutlery, plates etc. Only 1 egg cup & a couple of pans. So very basic. So we didn't bother cooking.
Beds & pillows very hard.
No terrace, just small balcony that wouldn't fit 2 loungers, only 2 chairs.
Small pool that had not many loungers & they had towels on them at around 8am, so you couldn't get one to sunbathe on.

Room Tip: Only go for a 2 bed or larger as this would be better as you would have a terrace with own loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey ENGLAND
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the El Sombrero apartments from 19th to26th April. The apartment was large and clean, but quite basic. Most of the apartments we have stayed at, have had a microwave oven, sunbeds on the balcony, and a hair dryer. It was actually the hairdryer that I was most annoyed about. I think that they are missing an opportunity here to make themselves some more money, by at least having a couple in reception for hire.Having said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the apartments are in a nice position for all the bars and restaurants etc,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, not gound floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent a week in April at El Sombrero Apartments in Los Gigantes with my husband and 3 children. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean, spacious and well equipped and furnished. Lovely view of the sea and cliffs. We spent a lot of time around the pool, which although cold at first we got used to and the kids really enjoyed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - they even posted to England a much loved teddy bear that we left behind. The pool bar served great lunchtime snacks and they bought mint specially to make us mohitos which were delicious! Would recommend this accomodation which is excellent value and in a great location. Los Gigantes itself is not a very Spanish resort so you visit for the weather rather than any cultural experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Myself and my family have just returned from a wonderful two week holiday at El sombrero. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which felt like home, we also had wonderful views of the other island from our balcony.

The apartment was large, spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The cleaning ladies were very pleasant and were around nearly every day of our stay. The reception staff were also very welcoming and always pleased to help.

The pool area was very nice and my children enjoyed the pool bar food, which i thought was very reasonably priced, when comparing their prices to other places were we have stayed.

I would definetly recommend El Sombrero, as we are already planning a return to these wonderful apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Los Gigantes
Sensimar Los Gigantes
#1 of 1 in Acantilado de los Gigantes
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sombrero

Property: El Sombrero
Address: Avda Jose Gonzalez Fortes 28, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sombrero 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Sombrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sombrero Los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
El Sombrero Hotel Los Gigantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing