We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun in the yellow boat”
Review of Ocean Explorer - CLOSED

Ocean Explorer
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham Abbey Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun in the yellow boat”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went out knowing that we wouldn't see the whales as the sea was too choppy, but we still had a wonderful time. The couple running this boat are very friendly and we were so pleased that we picked them over some of the larger boats where the decks were too full. There were 5 of us on this trip, so it's like chartering your own boat but considerably cheaper. We had a trip along the base of the cliffs and a quick ride out to see if there were any dolphins but sadly we didn't see any this trip. Not to worry as we hope to go again next year.
I urge anyone to try Ocean Explorer if they want a small, friendly experience. You will not regret it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slappals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    18
    0
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and price”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely friendly staff. American lady who runs it is so pleasant. You get the feeling they do this for the fun of it rather than make a quick buck. Whales are v small but lovely to see. Will go again with these guys. Lovely experience. Oh and the views from boat are amazing

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“See the Whales”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was a brilliant trip organised by very nice people. It is a small boat so you get to see more. They also say that if you don't see the whales you get your money back. You can't say fairer than that.Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoltonMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The trip ideal way to see the Pilot baby Whales
Only 10 when we went at 11.30am 15 euro each
1.5 hour trip
Ignore the other boats which are overpriced and crowded
Lorenzo took us within 6feet of these wonderful whales

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OLD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Best Way to see the Whales”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The trip was well managed and the small boat means you really get close to the whales. It only takes 10 people so you get really good views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TouringTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Explorer also viewed

Los Gigantes, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing