We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Los Gigantes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jardin del Sol

Jardin del Sol
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Los Gigantes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went for the first time because it's in the town square and looked OK. Then, when we were deciding which restaurant to go to on our last evening there was no contest, we were back to the Jardin del Sol

The food is simply superb. Everything we ordered was cooked to perfection and served with grace and panache. We sat outside both times enjoying the al fresco dining while seperated by a sort of hedge from the rest of the square.

No, it's not the cheapest but this sort of quality costs and I, for one, found it value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    103
    36
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not Good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were looking forward to our meal here after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor. I ordered Sirloin steak and my fiancé ordered a Fillet however, the menu didn't confirm 'Fillet of what' and we presumed it would be fillet of beef. Whilst waiting for our meal the next table were served their food and they had steak with little roast potatoes. However, when our meals arrived we were served frozen croquette style mini potatoes that you would normally find on a child's plate . My Sirloin steak was okay/average but my fiance's meal was sent back three times, each time a new piece of 'fillet' came out but we can assure it wasn't steak. It was disgusting - It certainly was not fillet of beef - the menu did not state fillet of beef we just presumed it would be. He likes to think he is a steak expert and has eaten steak all over the world and can assure you this was not fillet of beef. We didn't pay for his meal and left the restaurant very disappointed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willdells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We ate here on the last night of our holiday (3rd Jan) as a family of four. Some of the menu was unavailable, I suspect due to time of year, but there was still plenty of choice and our food was beautiful. We recommend the scallops, the suckling pig and most of all the stuffed bananas - which Dad said was the best dessert he'd ever had!
The place itself was lovely and the service was great, would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still great but say no to the bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just got back from Los gigantes & another visit to this restaurant.
Down sides:
They are still serving "croquette style' potato balls & are calling them canarian potatoes on the menu.
Their bread is1.70€, is it just me or is this just a way to make a quick buck on the restaurants behalf?
I am not mean but i always say no when they wander towards your table with that innocent looking bread basket!

plus points:

We chose to go to this restaurant for a special birthday meal & we were not disappointed.
It is just that little bit nicer than some restaurants in the village & the staff are professional & polite.


Still a restaurant that I would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terriers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Level Contributor
275 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“still very good but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Always loved it here, good food and service. Still can recommed, but one of the things they've always done is loads of interesting vegetables and that is no more. Now more normal veg, and smaller portions too. Also, bizarre pricing system, the house wine has increased in price by E5 since last year, but the other wines are unchanged - so there are now a few that are cheaper (and better) than the house stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin del Sol also viewed

Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
Los Gigantes, Tenerife
 

Been to Jardin del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing