We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel before it was refurbished. Excellent views and this has not changed. Food good, hotel staff very helpful and beautiful views of the ships and sailing boats. Nice restaurants to eat in and not far to the local harbour Cala Fonts for some retail therapy.
We will be back

Room Tip: side sea view has sun in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    150
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
42
591
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Returned yesterday from a most relaxing,peaceful stay.
I loved our room,it had a stunning dual aspect sea/pool view. It had recently being refurbished so everything was fresh and new. Loved having tea and coffee facilities in our room.
Another reviewer said he had nowhere to put his bags. Which I find surprising as we had enough storage to put away both cases and all our other belongings.
The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and I heard virtually no noise at night time. For once I didn't need ear plugs. The bathroom was also brand new. Double sized shower tray with deluge shower as well as conventional one.
The pool area was lovely and spacious us with 2 levels to sit on with plenty of sun beds to go around (unlike La Quinta)
The food was buffet style with some items(fish,pork,beef,chicken) cooked to order. The restaurant had the same spectacular view as our room. Plenty of choice and variety of dishes .
I would say most of the guests were 50plus but there were a few younger couples too.
A very relaxed, friendly atmosphere all round. All the staff were lovely,friendly,helpful and very welcoming. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. The views are fantastic. We had a second floor pool, sea view sunrise room. The room was modern and clean. The staff speak good English and are most helpful. We stayed half board and found the food to be excellent.

Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolsR4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Returned from a weeks stay on 22 June 13. Our room was on the second floor; clean, well maintained and spacious with fantastic views overlooking the pool and the harbour. In our mid 40s, we were 15 to 20 years younger than the average guest but that wasn't an issue at all. The hotel is quiet and has a peaceful atmosphere. There was no problem in getting a sunbed no matter the time of day. Beach towels were also provided by the hotel which we didn't know about until we got there. There were no queues either at breakfast or dinner and the food was outstanding throughout; we were very impressed with the delicious sushi on the last full day of our holiday. The staff are fantastic, but we were especially impressed by Ana the Restaurant Manager who was equally efficient as she was friendly. Es Castell is fairly small, tranquil and has a laid back atmosphere. Mahon is easily reachable either by the bus that runs every 30 mins or by foot. Our airport transfers took no more than 20 minutes including one stop at another hotel in Mahon. A super hotel all round and a fabulous holiday too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

So, I’m probably going to upset a few “regulars” with this review, but I’m going to give an honest opinion. It was OK, nothing more. I can only think that this hotel gets the number one rating because of the “regulars” there are people who return year on year because it’s convenient or habit.

The hotel had a refurb last year and is a triumph of style over substance. It’s an Ikea hotel, the public spaces are Ikea, the bedroom fixtures are Ikea, and the cups are even Ikea (check the label stamp on the bottom of them). Now there’s nothing wrong with the Ikea style if you like that sort of thing, the Hamilton and Agg both seem to have suffered the same bedroom refurb, it’s just not a style I like, no character, too stark.

We booked directly with the hotel seven months ago and requested at the time a high floor room with sun in the afternoon and you would think that booking that far in advance and directly that we would’ve got what we asked for. Nothing of the sort. Mid room, no sun, at all (North facing room). When we questioned the room allocation we were told that the hotel was full and we would have to talk to the head of reception the following day. Now this is were one of the few plus points of this hotel appears, the staff. Always trying to help even if there efforts are sometimes in vain. Juan Miguel (reception head and all round top bloke) could only offer a room on the 1st floor that had a side sea view (West facing) that would be available sometime the next day (the third day of our holiday) and a high floor room the day after that. We took the first option and actually the side sea view was probably on reflection better that the north facing sea view. It didn’t stop there. After we had packed up our case and left it in reception for them to move into the new room when it was ready we went off for the day telling them we would return around 3, we were informed that our bags would be in the new room when we returned, they weren’t, and after a little running around by Juan Miguel they were retrieved.

The room in a little more detail. Well the fridge was running a little hot. I asked them to look at it the next day (after leaving a bottle of water in there overnight without it chilling). Went back to the room after a few hours of sun bathing, still old fridge, still not working. Down to reception just a tad annoyed after the room allocation mess around and asked them to replace the fridge by the time we came back from our afternoon walk (which took us down to the Hamilton to enquire about a room for the rest of the holiday, looked around, quite impressed with the roof terrace and room quality). Any way got back and the fridge had been replaced. I would mention that there is a bit of a lack of storage space in the room and nowhere to put your bags once emptied, so that stayed on the floor beside the bed and proved to be a toe stubbing obstacle at 3 in the morning if you know what I mean. Oh and only one card which meant if you’re not in the room you have no power, this is the first 4 star I’ve been in that did this.

The food. We originally booked HB. Breakfast. It was OK. Dinner. It was not. We changed to BB on the 5th day, I struggled to find anything that I actually wanted to eat and I am not a fussy eater. I found Dinner bland and boring. Yes you could have stuff cooked for you but I wouldn’t call it show cooking, I’d call it queuing up for something that was a bit average in a “catering for the lowest common denominator” kind of way. I’ve been to smaller hotels with more choice and variety.

We had a little chat with the hotel manager after asking to go to BB and again this is a plus for the hotel. You can tell that she cares about what paying guests think and she did offer a move to another hotel but by then we had four days left and I was too fed up to pack the bags, get in the car, drag over to the new hotel, unpack, get settled and find out it was just another version of the same production line. I just wanted to change to BB and go and get something decent to eat, cooked the way I wanted it in town.

This has turned into war and peace, so basically. The Agg has better views and the Hamilton a better location and room finish. Go BB at whatever hotel you choose and go into town find a restaurant you like, Sa Barqueta, Bar Camacho, not Dinkums though. Don’t forget Cala Corb for an afternoon drink and a “start late, finish early” weekend evening/early hours.

Menorca never disappoints, this hotel did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissmygaseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel certainly lives up to its good reviews. It is clean with friendly staff and excellent views across Mahon harbour.

Every part of the hotel is bright and there is always a lovely clean smell in the building. We really enjoyed our visit and would certainly use this hotel again. We opted for a sea view room and this certainly had the wow factor, with large French doors opening onto a balcony which wrapped round two sides of the room. There was also another window, opposite the bed, enabling us to lie in bed and watch the water and the breath-taking views.

The only down side to the hotel was the outside area. There was not enough sun shades to go round and not enough sun beds because other guests were putting their towels on the sun beds to reserve them and then going off to different places, meaning when we wanted a sun bed there were none free, although most were unoccupied. To be fair to the staff, they were trying to address this issue- on the day we left they had put signs on all the sun beds advising against this practice.

The hotel is a short walk from Cala Corb, which is a very quiet little bay with a bar (Picatapas) run by Louis and his wife. We spent many a happy hour with a meal or just a drink, watching the coming and going in the bay. If you want somewhere busier and livelier then Cala Fonts is a ten minute walk from the hotel, with a good selection of bars and restaurants.

We had a really lovely ten days in Es Castell and will certainly return to the Carlos III next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Exactly as described in the Thomson brochure, set in a quiet residential area of Es Castell. Recently returned on 15.6.13 after a one week stay at this lovely hotel. All the staff were most friendly, welcoming and approachable - a real credit! The bedroom/bathroom on the second floor was very spacious, clean and modern with beautiful sunrise sea view over the pool area and balcony. We booked bed and breakfast but decided to have a meal in the restaurant on the first evening for convenience, which was a very enjoyable buffet style with plenty of choice and the food was cooked to order. Again there was a wide choice in the variety of food available at breakfast. We booked a couples holiday as we wanted something quiet and relaxing and this ticked all the boxes. After chatting to a few of the other guests, this appears to be a hotel to which people return year after year - which is an excellent indication of the quality of the accommodation and service.There are lots of restaurants and bars in Es Castell and at Cala Fonts which is just a short walk around the cove which we found to be very reasonable. There is a supermarket just around the corner and the local bus stop, is only a few minutes walk. Car hire seems to be quite reasonable and it would be a good option if staying longer than a week as there are a lot of little places which are more accessible with a car. This was our first trip to Menorca and we were very impressed with the beautiful scenery and the friendly local people and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Book a room on the second or third floor with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antilees7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
17.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,028 reviews
18.1 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,835 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
PortBlue La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,093 reviews
24.3 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artiem Carlos III Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artiem Carlos III Adults Only

Property: Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Address: Calle Carlos III 2-4, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Family Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artiem Carlos III Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with great charm, completely renovated in 2012. Located in the historic harbour of Mahón in a prime waterfront position. Only a few minutes walk from the village shopping centre of Es Castell, and from Cales Fonts, a traditional small fishing harbour. The white sanded beaches of Punta Prima, Binibeca and Cala Mesquida are less than a 10km drive away.Rooms with panoramic views. Friendly and welcoming staff, always very much appreciated by regular clients, who are considered friends. Hotel for adults only who are seeking to explore the true, authentic Minorca while enjoying the comfort offered by a modern 4 star hotel. A wide range of food is served from the restaurant and terraces overlooking the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Artiem Carlos III Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Carlos Iii Hotel Es Castell
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing