We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Agamenon
Nearby Hotels
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Son Granot(Es Castell)
$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House(Es Castell)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$161
$156
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eurohotel(Mahon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
301
178
49
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
178
49
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala fontsthe busresidential areaplenty of choiceminute walkolder clientelecorner roomlounge and dining roomevening mealplenty of sunbedshired a carper weeknight lifequiet hotelbuffet stylesuperb viewspublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 535 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is in a fabulous location...you will not be disappointed with the views (despite the opinion of a previous disgruntled guest but you cant please everyone). Every room seems to have a view of the sea. We were fortunate to have the 5th floor and the views are fantastic. The hotel is immaculate and spotless and all staff friendly and attentive. The lift is not a problem, easily fits 4 people in and its quite easy to open the door when you reach your designated floor. Room space is good with plenty of wardrobe space. There is no tea/coffee making facilities but this is not unusual in Spanish hotels. Free WiFi in the room was also a bonus for us.
The chefs vary the dishes and presentation is excellent.
Es Castell is stunning, only a 10 minute walk, passing some of the best Tapas bars in Spain. I would not recommend the restaurants on the quayside in Es Castell..try a different Tapas bar each day as we did.
Only a few minor negatives really (hence only scoring 4/5)...
1. There needs to be a system in the restaurant for paying for drinks.
2. Reservation of sunbeds by the 'saga louts' should not be allowed.
3. There should be signs for guests to remind them to shower before entering the pool.
4. More sunbeds needed for the high season.
I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyDimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We visited the Agamenon for the first time in July 2010 - we'll definitely go there again. Having read other reviews, I am at a lost to understand any criticism of this fantastic place. The accommodation, facilities, food and staff are all excellent. A great hotel in a great town. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjimno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Agamenon is ideally placed to visit both the quaint town of Es Castell, with it's little harbours, bars and restaurants, and the bustly Mahon, 25 minutes walk away. It overlooks the large harbour and you could spend time sitting in the garden area watching the boats and cruisers passing back and forth over the deep blue water. The hotel is quiet, the pool is ideal more for adults than children, with areas to sunbathe or sit in the shade.
We thought the food was excellent, served buffet style in the well-staffed restaurant. Lots of choice; cooked or continental breakfasts, plus cereals etc., and several courses available at evening meal. There was usually a local dish, lots of fish we had never had before, and the more familiar meals like curries, chips and chicken.
The rooms were clean, spacious and modern, and there were lots of coat-hangers in the wardrobes! We were facing the harbour (beautiful views) and partly the car park but had no problems with noise at all. (we were on the 2nd floor) The staff were friendly and very helpful.
We can't really fault this hotel, loved the area, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Travelled at the start of July as a group of 4 - one double room and then 2 "single" rooms which were in fact the same size as the double!
Rooms - bright, modern, brilliantly clean and furnished, excllent bathroom, large balcony with brilliant views up the long harbour of Mahon, (every room appears to have this sea view!). Great air-con. Plenty of towel and sheet changes, maids great.
Food - we had B&B and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, whether you went down early at 8.30am or late at 10am - fresh produce, yoghurts, pastries, juices, fruits, teas, coffees etc.
Pool - gorgeous heated pool, immaculately clean and in beautiful gardens. Plenty of comfy sun loungers, always a quiet, relaxed atomsphere, overlooking the dramatic harbour area where you can watch boats come and go. You can get in the sea view private steps, no beach but still great.
In general, hotel staff were excellent, great facilities and nothing too much trouble. Mix of Brits and Spaniards, which is great.
Location - right on the waters edge, walking distance from a few small shops and cafes, a little further (5 mins) is the gorgeous area of Cala Fonts. Such a picturesque little port lined with chilled out restaurants and cafes. Well worth taking the harbour tour for 10 euros. Es Castell itself has dramatic old building and a huge open marching ground where there are regular markets.
Beaches - we took taxis to Punta Prima and Binibeca which although "resorts" were a lovely way to spend the day.
A visit to Mahon, day or night, is highly reccomended, (via water taxi if you can!). Beautiful historic town, plenty to do, see, eat and admire.
Looking forward to a trip back there very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeakerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The last reviewer saved me a fair bit of typing. I agree with every single thing the reviewer said. Have just returned from a week at the Agamenon and would say that it is a good hotel which appears to be resting on it's laurels. The repeat business seems to have made it a little complacent and whilst the food I thought was nice and hot, that's all it was, "nice". Presumably those grotty flats overlooking the hotel were built after the hotel was, so it's difficult to blame them for that. As for the abandoned cars in the car park, that is a downright disgrace, but again, not a lot the hotel can do. We invited friends to visit when we stayed and were quite embarassed by the location.
One suggestion I would make to the hotel is to put an immediate stop to the people reserving sun loungers from 6am onwards. I do feel the hotel is reasonably good value for money, and may go back sometime.
Well done Agamenon, for the free internet, and the reasonably price safe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews