We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull holiday- G & T Epsom”
Review of Hotel Agamenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Agamenon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in June. Hotel and outside area very clean and well maintained.Rooms big enough,views perfect,enough storage for clothes etc.
Had all inclusive with SAGA. No complaints with the food,plenty of choice for everyone one.
Only downside for us,was that the brochure gave the impression that the bars/restuarants were a bit nearer and a more pleasant walk.
On a final note, if Judith from Cheshire reads this - or anyone who knows her,please thank her for her card,we would like to reply but have not got her adress.

Room Tip: We were on floor 4, overlooking the car park.This was not a problem,we enjoyed the shade in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSMITH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from a glorious week here. Excellent views of harbour and shipping activity. Nice garden and perfect pool for exercise and just cooling down. We always found a sun bed. Best of all, no children so was very peaceful. Would suggest B&B as loads of good restaurants in Es Castell. Didn't try dinner. Hired a car so saw a bit of the island. Loved Mao and Cuitadella. Recommend a boat trip. Very clean and good maid service. Reception staff always friendly and helpful. Only complaint was that the air con was not powerful enough to keep room cool and awkward bathroom design. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Face west (Mao) for afternoon sun and hot room or face east for morning sun but cooler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, which is not too big and busy, then this is the place. It has incredible views from most rooms, the pretty gardens and pool area and also the restaurant and lounge area above it. We only did a short 5 night break and loved the fact that almost only quiet couples come here (all ages but mainly retired).
Cala fonts is a lovely harbour area to eat at and Mahon is not far if you are looking for something livelier.
We will definitely come back.
The only slight criticism would be that the food (we only did b&b which was fine) is not great and considering that this is coming from an easy to please non 'foodie' that should tell quite a lot. As the nearest place to eat is 10 mins walk, we had lunch at the hotel a couple of times. I didn't expect the burger to be similar to something you buy frozen in a supermarket for a few pence. The salads weren't great either.
The staff are all amazing and it's very clean.
People complain that it's not 4 star quality but I've always found star ratings vary overseas.
I would say it offers value and is a very very relaxing place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuartaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel location is excellent on the edge of Mahon harbour with amazing views. The rooms are quite spacious, clean, good sized bathrooms and nice large balconies. All staff we encountered were helpful, efficient and friendly. There is a nice walk from near the hotel to Mahon taking around 25 minutes and Cales Fonts and Es Castell are a pleasant 10/15 minute stroll. The dining room has picture windows with harbour views and is bright and airy and meals were very good. A good choice on the menu for evening meals, lots of fish which is quite normal for Spain, everything well cooked and good quality.

The majority of other guests were with Saga and they do seem to take over the hotel. I do feel though that if Saga want to put on a Gala Dinner for their guests this should not be inflicted on other guests and held somewhere in a private area.

Everything considered though I would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Hotel Agamenon with Saga ‘All Inclusive’. This is the first time I have been to a Hotel with only 70ish bedrooms so I had to accept that everything will be scaled down from what I am usually used to. The main positives of this Hotel are: its superb location overlooking the bay into Mahon where you have a constant traffic of all sorts of boats/ships, the relaxed chilled ‘laid back’ atmosphere of the Hotel, the cleanliness of the Hotel, the brilliant attitude of the staff and that you didn't have to fight for sunbeds (although a couple of nerds still had to get up before dawn to claim theirs!!) but still plenty left when sensible people get up!
When I was there the hotel was predominately occupied by Saga guests (apart from the ants in my room) other than the last two days the Spanish from the mainland started to arrive as it was nearly Saga’s last week.
Bedrooms good size with the balcony set at an angle so you all have a ‘sea view’.
Things that could substantially improve this hotel and make it acceptable to what it advertises itself as 4 star are: bar staff available when you want a drink (they appear to multi-task during the day) tea/coffee making facilities in the room, washing drying airier on the balcony, available internet facilities on site (although there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel which the reception being good), make available bathroom accessories,
Difficult to comment one way or the other on the food as it was inconsistent throughout the week, if you don’t like chicken or fish stay away. One day the soup was like dishwater and on another day it could be fine. There was little choice but I will put this down to the size of the hotel??. The ‘sweets’ were ether ‘cake type’ or you could have fresh fruit (apple/banana/plums). On one night I noticed fresh yogurt with raspberries in glass dishes Oh Yea Great!! but when I went back to get one they had gone and they only do one tray so once gone they are gone!! There are no daytime activities and in the evenings twice (poor acts as well).
For Saga and ‘All Inclusive’ this did not include coffee over the bar (you had to make your own in the lounge), also bottled water was not included. The wine at meal time was ‘on tap’ get as much as you want but it was like water, better at the bar upstairs.
Es Castell is a lovely small town with numerous bars and about a 10/15 min leisurely walk, go in the evening and the atmosphere is great. Nearby bus stop to Mahon costing 1.65e every half hour.
Finally can I ask that those guests that keep following me around hotels who are above me scraping the furniture at all times of the night, allowing doors to slam and the television on full volume, please leave me alone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lawnsw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I planned a holiday which was to be relaxation, peaceful time together and a change of scenery.This was efficiently organised by Saga.The Saga Rep was smiley,kindly,efficient and informative.From our first entrance to the Hotel,being greeted by Sili,the Receptionist,such a pleasant and cheerful lady,to our departure we were surrounded ,when necessary by unobtrusive but helpful staff.
The meals,full board were ample and varied.The fish was a joy for me!Once again I must say the Restaurant staff were unobtrusive,busy and friendly.We felt that the Chef deserved commendation.
Our room on the top floor was a delight ,with double aspect view which was not expected,with views over the water to Bloody Island and beyond and not a whisper of traffic noise.The lounge area was spacious,with company if it was desired.The grounds of the hotel were attractive for lounging in sun or shade,the garden was well maintained with areas for wandering,even down to the water.
We found the situation on the island perfect for our needs as an older couple,with pleasant walks down to two harbours as well as a longer one across the Maquis to Mahon,the capital.The bus service was explained by our Rep and we shall make more use of it when we return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from the Agamennon. This is a very nice hotel staffed by lovely people. The staff, Cilli, Angeles, Jorge, Gabriella and anyone I've missed can't do enough for you and always with a smile on their faces.

The hotel is in the majority a Saga hotel (we booked through Thomsons). I would say the hotel was 3/4 full of older clientele. This was actually quite nice because only 2 people smoked, so it was very pleasant being by the pool not surrounded by smoking English! The only problem we had was a Thursday night evening meal when they took over the restaurant for a couple of hours due to them having a gala evening meal. No spare tables at 7pm so just had a drink in the lounge before.

The room we had was a corner room overlooking the pool and the view was fantastic. As well as the balcony we had another window that faced the water. The hotel was very clean throughout and the gardens were lovely with the main pool area to sunbathe on or stepped garden areas overlooking the water.

We hired a car through the hotel for 3 days (Owners Direct) at a very reasonable rate and it was a take out and return full contract so not ripped off.

There is a very punctual bus service throughout the island. We walked into Mahon from the hotel and it took us about 25 mins to reach the centre, although if you have trouble walking some of the streets are steep. It would be easier getting the bus as it takes you right to the main square. Bus was €1.65 each way per person. As it was my birthday when there I had a treat of a taxi back one day and that cost about €8.

Es Castell is a lovely small town with numerous bars. Our favourite was off the main square called Camacho, run by a very nice Spanish family. There is also Cala Fonts where you have a lot of restaurants in a wonderful harbour setting where you can sit and watch the world go by.

All in all a very nice hotel, area and people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Janet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,566 reviews
23.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,380 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agamenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agamenon

Address: Calle Agamenon 16, 07720 Es Castell, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range: $105 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agamenon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Agamenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agamenon Hotel Es Castell
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamenon Es Castell, Spain - Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing