We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Hotel Agamenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Agamenon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent an all-inclusive week with some friends at the Agamenon and wished we had booked a fortnight. The hotel has a welcoming and friendly air which continues throughout one's stay. Es Castell is very close and worth a visit to the little harbour. Mahon is a comfortable walk away (or a three minute bus ride). We have stayed in the Mahon area twice before and this hotel's location is ideal if you do not have a car. The island has plenty of interesting and scenic places to visit. The review from RogerKH (see other reviews) is pretty much what we experienced, so no point in repetition. We would certainly stay there again and would hope that it is now no longer necessary to take reading matter to the bar to pass the time whilst waiting for a drink!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    164
    45
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
324
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Agamenon. This Hotel is in one of the best locations we have seen, the harbour providing a magnificent setting to see both the large commercial and smaller private boats coming and going, always something to watch.

The Hotel itself is on the outskirts of Es Castell and we took a car so that we could drive around and take full advantage of the islands scenery. There is a regular bus service to Mahon on the half hour for those who prefer not to drive.

The Agamenon provides excellent views from every room, all the staff being very efficient and friendly however; the level of staffing leaves a great deal to be desired as all of them are expected to do far too much. Other reviews also highlight this problem so I hope that Seth Hotel management take the problem on board. Some guests almost passed away waiting to get a drink from the bar. Not good enough Seth!

The food was very good we are fish lovers so it suited us down to the ground. Meat eaters might not share our view. The cutlery layout needs revising as just a small spoon for desert is not acceptable and try not to leave the table in the middle of eating as the staff are super efficient at clearing away. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. The pool is a decent size and being rectangular excellent for those who want to swim with plenty of sun beds for those wishing to fry.

On the downside the only blot on the landscape being the dour demeanour of some of the Saga guests and the attitude of their travel company’s representative who gave the impression that these guests were superior and thus entitled to better treatment than anyone else. How sad can one be!

We travelled with Thomson whose rep Nigel was very nice but this being his first assignment has a lot to learn and he needs to assert himself more.

Our holiday experience overall was very good and we shall return.

Room Tip: Front corner rooms are windy but all have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s stay at the Agamenon and found it to be a delightful small hotel in a perfect location. The staff were always very friendly and helpful even though at times they were obviously under pressure, particularly in the restaurant. Our room had a comfy double bed, balcony with view of the harbour, flat-screen television, fridge and a double wardrobe. The bathroom had a hairdryer and very efficient over the bath shower and everything was spotlessly clean.
The bar area and dining room had stunning views over the harbour. The buffet meals were always very good with lots of variety and although it was sometimes busy at peak times, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a table. We did, however, occasionally have to wait for someone to serve at the bar as there really did seem to be a shortage of staff.
There was entertainment 3 times a week which wasn’t really to our taste but seemed to go down well with the other guests.
There is a small pool which was well-maintained and there were plenty of sunbeds.
There is free WiFi but the signal wasn’t very good and I wasn’t able to log on. However, you can use the hotel computer for a small charge.
Es Castell is a quiet town but 10 minutes from the hotel is the bus stop which has half-hourly buses into Mahon.
Just a 15 minute walk from the hotel takes you to the Cales Fontes which is well worth visiting. From there you can get a trip around the harbour by water taxi for just 10 euros or visit the fortress on La Mola. There is also an excellent military museum in the main square.
We never saw the manager during our stay but if he or she is reading this, please buy some more side plates. Saucers are meant for cups, not food!
We would certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A&CSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you first approch the Hotel Agamenon it gives the impresion of being an old out of the way place. This is a false impresion, yes it is on the edge of Es Castell but that only adds to its attraction for me. The Hotel Agamenon has only 75 rooms and is situated overlooking the Mahon inlet. The views from the lounge and dinning areas can not be discribed but have to be seen. From the hotel you can walk within 5 minutes to Es Castell central with its shops and bars etc. Calla Fonts has a number of good coffee shops/bars and is worth the walk.
There is a bus to Mahon every half hour, but again its only a 30 minute walk at most.
So the location of the hotel is ideal.
The Hotel itself was clean and the staff very friendly, if thin on the ground. The lounge area and bar were on the ground floor and the dinning room was down a dozen or so steps (there is also a lift from the lounge to the dinning room). All meals were buffet-style self service with a very good selection to choose from, one would not go hungery here.
There is only one lift, which can be a bit slow, but hay your on holiday.
My room was through out my stay kept clean and tidy by the chamber maid, the Hotel opperate a if you want it changed tell us service, which works well for the enviroment (very considerate of them). All rooms have a side on view over the inlet, but the non pool side is best. The evening entertainment was not briliant but I did not go there for that so will not comment. I liked this Hotel and would got to it again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the pool gets the sun in the morning and the poolside view in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I were on a cruise with saga sapphire when I suffered a DVt and was transferred to the hospital in Minorca for four days then to the hotel awaiting flight to uk
The hotel is perfect with good food clean rooms wonderfulviews
The hotel staff were very kind and helped I every way
Saga holidays have a resident manager
Who could not have done more for me and my wife
When fully recovered we shall return for a proper holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have just returned from a stay with Saga at the Agamenon. First week the hotel was overrun with 80 young boys and girls doing what they do best. Loud music, loud voices, banging doors, no supervision and sometimes playing basketball at a tournament. This did not make the stay peaceful and relaxing. Dining was interesting as they filled their plates to overflowing but the hotel staff kept the food coming. Good selection at lunch and Dinner but get their before the young people.
Staff were kept very busy, one receptionist running between that and the bar to serve from the all inclusive bar. They kept smiling but management at fault for putting them into that position.
The young people got back from partying very late and only one member of staff in the whole hotel trying to keep them quite but failing till 5am.
They left at the end of the week and things improved. The atmosphere at the hotel was not as advertised by Saga might need to change their description on the Internet.
As I said what staff their were did a great job under difficult circumstances.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SagaMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel March 2013. Definitely not 4 star! Decor and furnishings are tired and supposed to have been refurbed in close season!!
Insufficient numbers of staff, waiting to get served at bar midday,early evenings!! Had to go and find receptionist/Manager to get served.
Food was sufficient and varied although not always enough for max nos of guests.If you like fish you will be pleased with variety.
Rooms were clean and bland, good views from Balcony.
Snack bar at poolside not available, probably due to early season/staff shortage.
Calas Fontes well worth a visit - 10 min walk.
Would not return.
This is not a Saga only hotel as you may have been given this idea when checking the brochure!

Room Tip: Any 300's, 400's overlooking pool with side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TivvyTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Es Castell
0.2 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,089 reviews
3.3 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Mahon
Hotel Port Mahon
#1 of 8 in Mahon
675 reviews
17.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,026 reviews
25.2 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 56 in Ciutadella
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agamenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agamenon

Property: Hotel Agamenon
Address: Calle Agamenon 16, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Es Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Es Castell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Es Castell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agamenon 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agamenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agamenon Hotel Es Castell
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamenon Es Castell, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing