We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bar Espana

Restaurante Bar Espana
Carrer Victori 48, 07720 Es Castell, Minorca, Spain
971363299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In a side street but well worth a visit. Good set menu deal 18 euros for three courses and wine. Finish the evening off with a visit next door to the little cage for a bit of sport on the wide screen tv and a coffee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kjkjkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below expectations set by previous reviewers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

It all started when we were given the menu & had to ask for the 18.50 set menu which was reluctantly given.
Slow service, (to be fair, they were quite busy); the 'whitebait & baby squid' was average as was the fried local baby shrimp (shell on). We ate the shrimp Vietnamese style - shell and all so they were tasty.
The mains - fillet rabbit & dorado fish were again, just ok & nothing impressive.
Overall - an acceptable eatery but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have been to Bar Espana same as Nikki's, Good simple traditional food, lovely service from Salvador always a smile, has seen our kids grow up. Mitch xx

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nowhere better in Es Castell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can't add to the superlatives for this restaurant. Food and service with a smile. Don't know how they do it for the price - actually obvious - they treat customers properly and serve consistently delicious food. We will be back again and again and...........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank profectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Every time we go to Menorca, we have at least one meal at Bar Espana in Es Castell. And every time we have been, they have never let us down.

Returning to Menorca after a lapse of five years, with friends who had never visited this beautiful island, we went to Bar Espana one evening. We were amazed to see that all the staff were the same as five years ago, the menu was as we remembered it and the prices did not seem to have changed.

This is a restaurant that prides itself on serving excellent food in HUGE quantities. One of our party had the starter of whitebait - there was enough on his plate to feed us all. Every time we have been, I have always ordered the fillet steak with roquefort sauce - my mouth is watering as I write this!! There is a good selection of beers and wines; and the bread is always fresh (not like some of the restaurants that tend to serve their bread on the stale side).

For a hearty, good value meal served with plenty of Spanish charm, you can't do better than visit Bar Espana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vexilllogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar Espana also viewed

Es Castell, Minorca
Es Castell, Minorca
 
Es Castell, Minorca
Es Castell, Minorca
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing