We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“traditional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Bar Espana

Restaurante Bar Espana
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Es Castell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have been to Bar Espana same as Nikki's, Good simple traditional food, lovely service from Salvador always a smile, has seen our kids grow up. Mitch xx

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    60
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nowhere better in Es Castell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can't add to the superlatives for this restaurant. Food and service with a smile. Don't know how they do it for the price - actually obvious - they treat customers properly and serve consistently delicious food. We will be back again and again and...........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank profectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Every time we go to Menorca, we have at least one meal at Bar Espana in Es Castell. And every time we have been, they have never let us down.

Returning to Menorca after a lapse of five years, with friends who had never visited this beautiful island, we went to Bar Espana one evening. We were amazed to see that all the staff were the same as five years ago, the menu was as we remembered it and the prices did not seem to have changed.

This is a restaurant that prides itself on serving excellent food in HUGE quantities. One of our party had the starter of whitebait - there was enough on his plate to feed us all. Every time we have been, I have always ordered the fillet steak with roquefort sauce - my mouth is watering as I write this!! There is a good selection of beers and wines; and the bread is always fresh (not like some of the restaurants that tend to serve their bread on the stale side).

For a hearty, good value meal served with plenty of Spanish charm, you can't do better than visit Bar Espana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vexilllogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first visit to Menorca and Es Castell. A great choice of restaurants but our favourite has to be Bar Espana. During a week's stay we had dinner here three times. The staff are very good and extremely friendly and the food is excellent. We opted for the 'menu del dia' twice and a la carte once and were not disappointed.
It was good to see that it was patronised by Spanish people as well as English.
At a quiet time for the town it always had a good number of customers which says a lot for its service and food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WestMidlandsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great recommendation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were charmed by the staff and delighted by the presentation, quality and good value of the meals. We had to return during our week in Es Castell just to try out some of the other tempting items on the menu of the day. We were once again very happy with our choices. It deserves its position on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyTibberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar Espana also viewed

Es Castell, Minorca
Es Castell, Minorca
 
Es Castell, Minorca
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing