We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Vilaflor

“Great local restaurant”

Hotel El Sombrerito Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 2/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Vilaflor
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly local restaurant in the sleepy village of Vilaflor, serves tasty, hearty local food at a good price. I had the goat stew and arrugadas (Canarian salted potatoes) - very good.

Quirky collection of trinkets decorating the walls of the main dining area - very interesting place and well worth a visit. We were on our way to do the Paisaje Lunar hike, and this place fuelled us nicely for the walk ahead!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craigpwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2019

Very friendly, local and way off the tourist traps.
Exellent local food as rabbit stew and porkchops.
Ideal place for a good stomic-filling lunch when you come off your trip of the Teide.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kross2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

Food is ok but not best in town. My cooked meat was half cold and microwave heated. The service instead was very unfriendly not often seen in Tenerife! Quit your job if do not like it and do something else you unfriendly young service worker!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank jensw913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

The very good restaurant to stop by for a lunch on the way to Teide from the Southern part of Tenerife .. rabbit stew is great ..

Cozy, home atmosphere

Rabbit stew + Potatoes + Glass of house wine + Small beer = 12 EUR!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Vadim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

To say Vilaflor is ‘sleepy’ is an understatement. After a morning’s hike we decided to wander in to get something to eat. No one place seemed better than any of the others, but at least with Sombrerito we could hear there were plenty of customers inside. The restaurant takes up the full length of the back of the building behind the bar; when we arrived about 2.45pm it was incredibly busy with only one guy serving. Needless to say, we had to wait quite a while to be served, but when we were the food was great - good, simple, plentiful and incredible value. There are nice views out the back. The restaurant is decorated with lots of bucolic bric-a-brac paraphernalia. It seems popular with locals, hikers and cyclists, creating a nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Gill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel El Sombrerito Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hotel El Sombrerito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing