We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to AVOID, not worth the money”
Review of Hotel El Nogal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Nogal
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Very unconfortable bed. Probably the cheapest matress of the market.
Dirty room, hairs in the bath and in the bed.
Hotel recently fumigated.
Worst breakfast in a hotel. You better get up early if you want to eat something of poor quality, otherwise you hardly find any food. They don´t replace it.
Expensive SPA; for sauna and turkish bath you pay 30€ per person for an hour
Their lost our ID for a whole week!!!!
Unprofessional management
Reception very poorly trained.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajgoldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 247 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

Lovely Family run hotel (now the son & daughter) in a small village, La Escalona, on the road up to Vilaflor. Our room (18) was in the old original part of the hotel, and was more than comfortable plus we had a terrace right outside the door to sit in the evenings. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We used the spa everyday and took advantage of the wellness package after a days hike. Breakfast was very good and we had no problem with the self-service aspect as it enabled you to meet the other guests however, the evening meals... not good, chef is from Madrid, I cant even begin to describe his tomato soup! there are some places in the village of La Escalona which serve local specialities and further down the mountain there are more small towns with places to eat.
You do need a car to get around from the hotel, the hotel is excellent if you are planning a walking/hiking holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bundner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for my 50th birthday, somewhere quiet and out of the way, a bit different from the run of the mill beach holiday.
Firstly the hotel is the best part of 50kms from Santa Cruz!
The hotel is in a small village 12kms from Playa De Las Americas, and quite difficult to find.
We hoped for somewhere different and certainly found it.
There are very few English guests and the staff are not therefore that fluent in English although we got by.
The minute you walked into the hotel you thought you was walking onto the set of Zoro.
The decoration and woodwork throughout are tremendous.
All rooms are quite small but adequate, they are very dark due to the amount of wood decor,ceilings etc, in them. Bathrooms were small, do not expect to get layed out in the bath, they are very short in length. The beds we found as comfortable as any we have ever slept on abroad.
Balcony may has well been non existent in the old part of the building but was still charged for.
Breakfasts were very poor. Basic continental, fruit juice & coffee out of a machine, yuk.
Very little choice of meats, cheeses and nothing remotely warm.
We made a mistake booking half board and were under the impression that we could order off the menu in the restaurant. I was given the restaurant menu by mistake on the first night and was well impressed with the choice, until a rude waiter said we had been given the wrong menu and it was replaced with another. What a difference, choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 2 sweets. The next day after complaining to the manager and much arguing and using the fact that I intended leaving negative remarks about the hotel in my report she agreed to us choosing from the al a carte menu and allowed us 32 Euros towards the cost of our food. What a difference, the food was excellent, try the baby leg of lamb for 2 people, order the night before.
Due to the weather we did not use the facilities very much, the outdoor pool looked clean but was quite small, loungers looked ok.
Indoor pool and spa was a nice set up and looked very inviting.
The barking dogs certainly exist.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and i would go back but not in November, too cold up in the mountains, we loved the atmosphere of the hotel. The staff told me me it is 10 degrees cooler in winter at the hotel than on the coast, but 10 degrees warmer in the summer.
The location was great 10 minutes and you could be down on the coast or up in the mountains.
Do not go to this hotel if you enjoy any night life at all, it does not exist.
If you like somewhere different, quiet, relaxing and can stomach the breakfast i think you will enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LELY119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We booked El Nogal through Classic Collection in our regular travel agent and although we were fairly last minute in our booking they couldn't give us any advice or comments from them as to whether it was suitable and what it was actually like. We always prefer hotels that are not the usual high rise/crowded pool type scenarios so we went for it and booked El Nogal.

We arrived late afternoon to a darkened and what felt like a deserted hotel - the lady came out of the closed restaurant to attend to us at reception and showed us to our room. First impressions on the hotel itself were nice - it seemed well restored and maintained and was clean and nicely decorated. Here comes the "however". However, when she showed us to our room it was sparsely furnished and very dark - the "balcony" was an enclosed one with windows to open and as we did - we encountered the dogs that were mentioned in the previous review. My husband went for a walk around the hotel - before we even unpacked anything. He said that he didn't see another person on his walk around and the hotel was in darkness in several parts (other than the spa).

We had decided before arriving that we would play it by ear as to whether we would need to hire a car or not - this is a definite if you are going to stay here. Its location is on a steep hill and as I am 6 months pregnant I would not have attempted to walk from this hotel. Gradually we saw some walkers arriving back in their cars - and we came to the conclusion that this was not a suitable stop for us for the next 7 days as we had planned relaxation by the pool (of which there appeared to be minimal sunbeds compared to the number of rooms) It is a lovely place to treat as a retreat or base if you intend on exploring and walking the island - which is what most of the returning guests appeared to be there for.

We did get moved that night to an alternative hotel down on the coast which although was the usual high rise scenario was a sight for sore eyes for us after our initial experience at El Nogal.

We then enjoyed the remainder of our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at the El Nogal in February 2008. We purchased the week as part of a package deal out of Aberdeen, Scotland.

On the positive side: 1) The location is wonderful. I think I would have jumped off a balcony if I'd made the mistake of taking a hotel in the commercial sprawl along the beach. El Nogal is near the small village of La Escalona, a 20 minute drive up zig-zag roads above Los Cristianos, a kilometre or two outside of town. There is a good view of the sea from here. 2) The hotel was spotlessly clean. 3) My wife, daughter and I had room 43, which had a second bedroom, certainly adequate for the three of us. 4) The hotel is very nicely and interestingly decorated with stone, wrought iron and wood. 5) Staff were adequately helpful. 6) Lunch was the only meal we had at the hotel and it was very good. 7) Nice warm indoor and outdoor pools.

On the negative side: 1) The view during winter is diminished by gravel terraces surrounding the hotel which in summer would be nicely covered with crops, and there are some rather ugly condominiums under construction nearby. 2) I was disappointed not to be able to keep our window open to enjoy the air because of the idiot dogs in the houses 300m down the hill that barked incessantly, (one could sit at the pool and not hear them). 3) I was never able to connect to the hotel wireless network, although I was able to with no trouble at the next hotel we visited. No one at the hotel was able to fix the network so that I could connect. 4) Breakfast was pretty pathetic, but then it usually is in Spain.

All in all, a good place to stay to avoid crowds assuming you have your own transportation. As long as you don't expect perfection, you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shortstop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We had our reservation for sept 06 confirmed in MAY 06 when we went directly to their reservation and front office manager. End of August our reservation did not exist anymore, because the hotel received a better deal from a tour operator. Not professional, not even legal, but there are other hotels......

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wochenend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I agree with the previous reviewer. This is a most disappointing hotel. It is in a great position and public areas are beautiful but the rooms are poor and the management and staff are indifferent at best and belligerent at worst.
Room: We had an unspectacular ‘superior’ room (a bit Travelodge) with a very small enclosed balcony and a shower room (no bath) that was too small for 2 people to stand in and smelled of fish and onions. We wondered if we really did have a superior room but, as the manager said as we witnessed numerous arguments at reception, a superior room does not guarantee: a view, a balcony or specific size. We did discover though that some standard rooms were miniscule with no windows so we counted ourselves lucky.
Food/Drink: If you want a full choice in the restaurant you must be seated at 7pm. The service is slow beyond belief. The first 2 times we ate there I had to catch my dinner as it shot off the plate as it was thrown on the table. Food is bland, clearly cooked from without passion or flare – not the Basque and Italian delights promised in the literature. There isn’t really a bar and therefore no daytime bar snacks or cold drinks. Breakfast is uninspiring with coffee and fruit drinks out of vending machines and too few tables and chairs for the number of people.
Pool Facilities: The outdoor pool was filthy. Across the grounds of this 40-room hotel there are about 25 sun-loungers or which only 6 are unbroken. There are 8 parasols, most of which are also damaged in some way.
Spa Facilities: The pool is really nice as are the Jacuzzis. The other facilities are all chargeable with fees ranging from €60-€85 (not €15 as advertised). We did not see anyone use these facilities but the ‘therapist’ also works as a waitress and receptionist so we were not confident of her training.
Noise/Ambience: The hotel is described as quiet and relaxing but we were relieved to return to London for some peace. 24 hour noise included booming music, circular saws, barking dogs and a maid who regularly walked in at 7.30am!
Extra Fees: The hotel has a long list of extra fees including a €30 charge for putting your own water in the mini-bar.
Surroundings: La Escalona has no shops/restaurants but Vilaflor (15 minute drive) has a friendly supermarket that will make up sandwiches to order and some good restaurants. El Sarmiento (opposite the pharmacy) offers a superb dining experience under the auspices of a most charming host whilst another restaurant on the parallel road (orange restaurant sign) offers genuine home-cooked cooking from a genuine Tenerife hostess.
We were very disappointed by this promising hotel. Our conclusion is that the hotel has contracts with so many large tour operators that they really don’t care if you enjoy your stay or come back in the future. We were not ‘guests’ but ‘transactions’. We felt deceived by the literature we read before booking our stay at El Nogal. We would not recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaflor
2.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
500 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alta Montana
Hotel Alta Montana
#2 of 5 in Vilaflor
108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa el Zaguan
Casa el Zaguan
#3 of 5 in Vilaflor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rural La Correa
Hotel Rural La Correa
#19 of 29 in Arona
69 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parador de Canadas del Teide
4.9 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Nogal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Nogal

Address: Camino Real s/n | La Escalona, 38614 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Vilaflor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Price Range: $77 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Nogal 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel El Nogal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nogal Hotel
Hotel El Nogal Tenerife/Vilaflor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing