We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice local restaurant and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Sombrerito
Ranked #1 of 3 Vilaflor B&B and Inns
Altenmarkt im Pongau, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice local restaurant and hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

a good place if you want to combine beach and mountain. and if you want to avoid the noicy and crowded bunkers direct on the touristic beachfront. rooms are clean and basic. food is really local fresh. the boss himself is running the service.

Room Tip: best combination of beach and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friedrich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of Vilaflor, a five minute walk to the bus stops and with some lovely walks nearby. The room was large with an attached bathroom, it was clean and had a balcony with views of the mountains. The buffet breakfast was good with a large selection of food.
I stayed for 3 nights, on the first night it was really noisy with doors banging and loud talking till almost 2 am but the subsequent nights were quiet.
When I checked out, I was given a packet of local biscuits which I thought was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

this hotel has all you would need but is not luxurious. The owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed three nights but only had one dinner there, which was average Canarian food..
Vilaflor is a lovely village and handy for the pine forests and el Teide.
Our main problem was in booking on-line. The German website refused our credit card, and then demanded to be paid by bank transfer, which would have cost us a lot more as we are not in the Euro.
We sent two e-mails saying we wished to pay by credit card, but received no reply.
Eventually we contacted the Hotel once we were in Tenerife, and he had no booking for us. He also said that despite the website stating "there are only two rooms left" he had no bookings at all for those dates. We paid him directly in cash when we left, and this was marginally cheaper than the website price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank FortWilliamGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Located in the centre of Vilaflor half way up the south slope of Mount Teide. A peaceful haven after the coastal strip of Tenerife. El Sombrerito is unfussy with no frills but all the necessities. Rooms are comfortable, clean and bathroom had bath and plenty of hot water. Food is good standard Canary Islands fare. Excellent base for walking and trips to the summit of the volcano.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaflor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa el Zaguan
Casa el Zaguan
#3 of 5 in Vilaflor
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Nogal
Hotel El Nogal
#5 of 5 in Vilaflor
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Montana
Hotel Alta Montana
#2 of 5 in Vilaflor
103 reviews
18.9 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
372 reviews
31.9 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Sombrerito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sombrerito

Property: Hotel El Sombrerito
Address: Calle Santa Catalina 15, 38613 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Vilaflor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vilaflor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Sombrerito 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Sombrerito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sombrerito Tenerife/Vilaflor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing