We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience!”
Review of Hotel Alta Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alta Montana
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A family-run hotel located on the top of a hill, offering a beautiful terrace with ravishing views of "all" Tenerife has to offer. We were heartly welcome upon arrival, and offered a complementary hot drink. The owners are very warm and welcoming. Rooms are stylish, beds superb, baths up to standard and everything is there that you need after a walk in the mountains. Breakfast was nicely served and with quality food offered. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: The pool was not in operation this January, but in the process of maintainance. We had a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
55
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great views down to the coast. Room was clean, modern and warm.

Ideal location for Teide - but do go to National Parks website and get pass to go to top of volcano as cable car leaves you about 160m from rim and you aren't allowed up unless you have pass. Third largest volcano in world according to lonely planet guidebook. Amazing views.

We had an excellent meal in restaurant "El Rincon de Roberto" in village go downhill across main road and downhill again to get there - not far. Hotel also serve food but we only stayed a couple of nights and didn't end up eating there.

Checking out took sometime because the credit card connection wasn't working so may be easier to just pay in euros.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Alta Montaña is a small family-run hotel located on the top of a hill, with a wonderful terrace with great views on the surroundings.

I was very pleasantly surprised when, upon arrival, I was offered a complementary hot drink. Pretty uncommon in a hotel, but here the owners are very warm and welcoming.

The comfort is simple. All rooms have a small private terrace, I would recommend you ask for room #1, #2, #3, #4, #5 or #6, which have a great ocean view.

The breakfast is average. You can also have dinner at night in the hotel’s restaurant. Once again the food is simply but affordable and tasty.

There is free internet but the signal is too weak to get access from the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms #1-#6 all have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice small family run hotel. Basic and clean rooms, friendly staff, beautiful views from top to the down of the island, clean air. Distance to Teide is not more than 10km. Vilaflor is the highest village in Spain (about 1500m over the sea). Wifi at restaurant and reception area. Good restaurant, but the breakfast was simple. Best place for dinner in Vilaflor is El Rincon de Roberto (300m away, open 12-22).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lenintyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was a really lovely hotel! Great views and a great location for walking in the national park with 2 great hikes from the Parador back down to Villaflor. The owners speak a little English and are so warm and friendly - nothing was too much trouble! We were tired and dirty from a long days walk but were welcomed with open arms and the best coffee we had tasted all week. In the warmer months there is a lovely wee pool and vines.
The rooms are generous and comfortable with a nice big bath and shower.
Villaflor is a quiet spot. Ideal for those who want a taste of the Tenerife countryside and tis hotel is a perfect base - sunrises are beautiful and the stars at night are crystal clear. We would be back in an instant!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 5 nights and we are very happy to find this lovely hotel!! Clean and friendly rooms with a terrace and a wonderful view over the south of Tenerife. The owners are also very friendly.
We really can recommend this hotel for hiking tours and people who want to enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Star83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel for one night after a hiking tour. The surrounding area is very good for hiking tours. Most of the hotel rooms (room 1 - room 6) have their own terrace with a wonderful view to the valley. They offered us fresh fruits from the hotel garden, that was great! There is a huge garden which surrounds the hotel. The rooms are lovingly designed and clean. The breakfast is simple but good. The outdoor pool is nice. I felt very comfortable while our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steff_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaflor
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa el Zaguan
Casa el Zaguan
#3 of 5 in Vilaflor
45 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Nogal
Hotel El Nogal
#5 of 5 in Vilaflor
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parador de Canadas del Teide
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rural San Miguel
Hotel Rural San Miguel
#7 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
99 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
#10 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alta Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alta Montana

Property: Hotel Alta Montana
Address: Camino Morro del Cano No 1, 38613 Vilaflor, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Vilaflor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vilaflor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alta Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alta Montaña Resort Hotel, located in Vilaflor in the south of Tenerife, offers guests the chance to enjoy a pleasant stay in one of the prettiest places of Tenerife.With stunning views of the pine forest of Vilaflor and the sea, the Alta Mont Resort Hotel is the ideal place for nature lovers.Its 16 comfortable rooms where you can see an environment surrounded by nature and tranquility are divided into single, double and suites.With unbeatable views, the rooms are fully equipped: phone, TV, WIFI, bathroom, hairdryer, in room heating and bathroom, safe, terrace or balcony, daily cleaning, towels changed every day and sheets 2 times a week, bathrobe and pool towels.The Alta Montaña Resort Hotel, located in Vilaflor in the south of Tenerife, offers guests the chance to enjoy a pleasant stay in one of the prettiest of Tenerife.The Alta Montaña Resort Hotel is the ideal place for nature lovers. From its 16 comfortable rooms equipped with telephone, TV, WIFI, bathroom, heating, terrace or balcony you can admire stunning views of the pine forest of Vilaflor and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alta Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alta Montana Tenerife/Vilaflor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing