We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but quite out of the way” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hesperia Sant Just

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hesperia Sant Just
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel but quite out of the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the airport we took a taxi to the hotel at a cost of around 25 Euro and we had a friendly greeting from staff on arrival. Luckily my friend and I can both speak conversational Spanish otherwise I believe it would have been a struggle. Because the hotel is located out of the central area the staff didn't speak much English at all.

Our room was really nice and spacious with a huge double bed that could have comfortably fit at least 3 people. The decor was modern and there was a nice flat screen in the room, but only one English speaking channel which was Sky News. That wasn't too much of a problem though as we weren't there to sit in our hotel and watch TV. We had a huge wardrobe equipped with an electronic safe which is always handy for storing passports etc.

The bathroom was really big with a large bath/shower, his & hers sinks, toilet and bidet. There was also a nice selection of complimentary toiletries. The bedroom was also equipped with a minibar but I would recommend the short walk over the road from the hotel to the garage as they stock lots of snacks and drinks at much more reasonable prices. The hotel also offers a good room service menu and on one evening when we returned to our room feeling rather hungry we ordered some sandwiches which were reasonably priced, fresh and tasty.

So... the big issue, the location. To get into Barcelona City Centre involved a bit of a trek. This is what I would recommend... take the tram from the stop closest to the hotel into the City (20 mins). Stay on the tram to the very last stop on the Avenida Diagonal. This will then put you close to a large roundabout (look out for the large noticeable Coca Cola sign and you’ll know you’re there). From there you can walk into the City but it takes about 35 minutes. However, if you choose not to walk this is where the Barcelona Bus Turistic makes a stop. Now this is the bus service that I would definitely recommend, you can buy a 2/3 day ticket which will allow you keep jumping on and off the bus. The ticket covers all 3 routes that the buses take and hits all of the main attractions in Barcelona. It's worth the money and really easy and convenient. So from here you could actually just jump on the bus and stay on until the Placa Catalunya which is the 'nerve centre' of Barcelona and puts you onto the famous La Rambla. Definitely the simplest way of getting around and into the Centre when you're staying at this hotel. You also get some little headphones for the bus which plug into an audio panel at your seat giving lots of really interesting information about the buildings/attractions that the bus is passing.

So yeah... it wasn't all that much of a hassle. Although I do think our capacity to speak a little Spanish definitely came in handy in working it all out. I thought the hotel was great value but would hesitate to stay there again purely because of the location, but it could have definitely been worse!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taliebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    256
    90
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
184
20
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bordeaux
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

got a great deal through last minute mystery hotel so am not sure how i would feel if i was paying full whack!
was very lucky at the airport that the bus to hotel ( which is scheduled every two hours ) was just leaving...saw bus number in another review here.very handy if you arrive by plane.
hotel itself is in media area about 15 tram stops from centre right by a motorway. the rooms are well insulated so road was not a problem.
hotel has bar , resto, gym , wifi ,comfy beds ,pleasant staff and they do a nice fresh breakfast in the Spanish style. they will do an omelette for you if you ask..
good shop very nearby with everything you might need.
So a decent hotel all in all if you don't mind an hours commute or so each day in barca modern safe tram system or a taxi which are always waiting outside..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BordeauxHerzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Hesperia Sant Just after our cruise, because of I was trying to save little money by bidding on unknown hotels on some website I will not mention (but it was my first time using it and will be the last time)

We got the room number 222, if you have to stay at this hotel for whatever reason and they give you this room number, ask them to change to another room right away because the bathroom smells like pee. Right after checked into the hotel, we left our luggage in the room and went out to get some dinner, so we didn't notice the pee smelling bathroom. We thought once they clean the room next day smell would go away, so didn't bother asking for room change (but they didn't). The room had some cobwebs on the ceiling, and the bed was uncomfortable, I found myself tossing and turning throughout the night.

There's a supermarket near by the hotel, which is about 5 min. away by walking, so you can go buy some drinks and snacks if you stay at the hotel for couple days, and use a minibar in the room to store your drinks and keep it cold.

The hotel is outside of Barcelona, but if you have a rental car, then it only takes about 15 minutes to get to Barcelona so it's not that bad. The hotel also provide free parking in front of it.

Would I stay in this hotel again? probably not, I rather pay little more and find a hotel inside Barcelona.

Room Tip: whatever you do, DO NOT stay at the room 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedMiniStapler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Yes.. The hotel is a 30 minute tram from downtown.
Yes.. It's a business hotel.
Yes.. It's not even close to any "attractions"

But... The service was great, the hotel is modern, the food excellent, the gym and focus on healthy foods (like serving walnut milk) and the great experience of living Spanish life paying .85 euro to take a tram... Was WELL worth the 30 minute travel, and saving almost $800 on our 4 night visit.

If you are lucky enough to book through priceline.. You'll do well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nero2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

First thing's first, the location. We chose this hotel because it was so cheap and it was a secret hotel on Last Minute. But in reality we could have saved all the tram and taxi fares and stayed in the centre of Barcelona. Plus breakfast was 15 Euros.

The tram is just over 5 minutes away from the hotel but it is about 10 stops to the centre of Barcelona. You need to be fit and sprightly if you intend to go sightseeing.

Barcelona is a big city with so much to see that travelling to the outskirts after a long day is not
pleasant.

As for the rooms they are well
appointed but my shower didn't work. The hotel is nice but a bit soulless and lacked friendliness. It's really a big corporate hotel for business guests.

As for the staff, they were rude. Plain and simple. I admit I should have learnt some Spanish for my trip because I struggled to communicate with staff outside reception. I'm not sure if it's the Spanish culture to shout and be so blunt!!

The food is plain terrible. If you're looking for tasty wholesome fresh food then go elsewhere. We ate in Alambi and spent 30 Euros ahead and the food was very bland.

But this hotel is good if you are short of cash and need somewhere to stay near Barcelona. Just take lots of change for the tram!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

The Hotel was very nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly
I never had any problems at all.
The hotel is quite far from the city centre so travelling took a lot of time out of your trip especially if you only went for a weekend break as I did.
If you are flying into Girona airport I would suggest you take a taxi as it can be quite difficult to find if you have never been to Sant Just Desvern before. The taxi should cost around 20 euro’s.
There is so much to see and do although shopping can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambuca_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was a very nice hotel but at least 20 min by car from City center. spacious, clean rooms and very good breakfast! The hotel parking is bout 12 euros per day but there is plenty of space outside the hotel which makes this price unreasonable...! Fast wi-fi, nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Just Desvern
0.2 mi away
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#195 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Porta Barcelona
NH Porta Barcelona
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hesperia Tower
Hesperia Tower
#117 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Park Sant Just
City Park Sant Just
#3 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.9 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Sant Just? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Sant Just

Property: Hesperia Sant Just
Address: Frederic Mompou, 1, 08960 Sant Just Desvern, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Just Desvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Just Desvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Sant Just 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and stylish, the Hesperia Sant Just hotel has everything you need for a memorable stay in Barcelona! Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you'll love our quiet location that is convenient to the airport and city center via public transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, NHHotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hesperia Sant Just reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Sant Just Hotel Sant Just Desvern
Hesperia Sant Just Barcelona
Hesperia Sant Just Province Of Barcelona/Sant Just Desvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing