We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and dated but good value and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Benicarlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel Sol is some way from the beaches of Benicarlo and on the main road through the town but don't let that put you off.

The welcome from the owner was warm and her insistence that we garage the car (free) was welcome even though I didn't see the need. She also recommended a couple of beaches depending on what we were looking for and despite the overcast sky I had a dip off the main town beach which was sandy and well populated. A welcome beer on the prom afterwards set us up for the evening.

The restaurant recommended was in the middle of a local housing complex and was the local social centre but the inside was clean and the food excellent and good value.

Although dated the room at the hotel was spotless with free wifi and a comfortable bed. We were woken in the early hours by noisy guests but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. Breakfast included home baked bread, cakes and home made jam. Very good value. The pool looked inviting but we had no time to try it out preferring the Med.

The hotel would have received an excellent from me had it not been for double charging of VAT (10%). Tax was supposed to have been included but was added and I didn't notice until well on our way. I have no way of knowing whether this was intentional or not. I hope not as the owner was most accommodating and anxious to make our stay as comfortable as possible and I would have been pleased to have paid the extra for garaging the car!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

rooms are dated but comfortable. breakfast was lovely and lots of it, fresh baked bread, fruit tart, croissants, jam, eggs.......loads of it. The family are lovely and very welcoming. For the first 2 days we had the pool to ourselves. A welcome dip to the scorching sun. Beds were comfy and had plenty of cushions to prop you up. The window had electric shutters that blocked out the light and heat. The only gripe would be that only 1 person was allowed on the internet at a time per room. Not a great problem cos we were on holiday. If I found myself that way again I would definitely stay there. Although Benicarlo itself does not have much to offer. It was a great relaxing 3 days

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I recently stayed just for a night so my comments are based on the hotel as a stop-off for the traveller.

The rooms were basic, which is fine and in line with the reasonable price. The owners were friendly and accommodating. Absolutely perfect for my needs on the journey. But my lasting impression as with others here was the cleanliness - the place was absolutely spotless.

From the point of view of the traveller it's perfectly placed right on the N340 and has ample parking. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanGNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

August 2013, came across this hotel by accident, thankfully.Only positive things to say. Immaculately clean.Dora and her husband who are the owners were extremely helpful. Free WiFi . Swimming pool. Delicious breakfast . Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Light airy room comfortable bed. Delicious breakfasts with fresh crossants. We also loved the swimming pool and shaddy terrace to have a drink. We can recomend Hotel Sol with no problems we could falt nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda100_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mucha tranquilidad, y acto para ir con niños
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benicarlo
0.9 mi away
Parador de Benicarlo
Parador de Benicarlo
#1 of 4 in Benicarlo
630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
3.6 mi away
Hotel RH Vinaros Playa
Hotel RH Vinaros Playa
#2 of 12 in Vinaros
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Peniscola
Gran Hotel Peniscola
#16 of 50 in Peniscola
961 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Roca Restaurante
Hotel Roca Restaurante
#5 of 12 in Vinaros
46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 50 in Peniscola
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Avenida Magallanes 103 | Benicarlo, 12580 Benicarlo, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Benicarlo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Benicarlo
Price Range: $67 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sol 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol is a very comfortable hotel that offers you a quiet and friendly atmosphere. An oasis for you, for your family, your kids, your friends and your pet. Hotel Sol offers you more than a room! Hotel Sol is located at the city of Benicarlo, close from Peniscola, in the Baix Maestrat country, at the Costa del Azahar, its privileged position allows you to enjoy the best beaches in the area, as well as a fantastic cultural and gastronomy heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing