We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking tired now . .”
Review of Hotel Playa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Playa Grande
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped here while visiting area. Had not been here for 6 years and time not treating the Hotel very well. They have replaced the furniture outside but the rest of the Hotel does look tired. The Terrace does have a lovely view over the beach and sea though. The other trouble is some of the staff are just not friendly something we remember from 6 years ago too often ! Also doesn't help that both ladies and gents toilets did not have one working light between them, not great when there are no windows in either of them.(you can imagine the result)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our Satnav had trouble finding this. Arriving from Cartagena we did not realise that the town was so big and continued on along the coast. Once we realised this we found the hotel about a mile further on out of the town centre. The hotel room was a little tired, but was clean and had a balcony that overlooked the beach and sea by only a few metres. Parking was free and right outside the hotel. The highlight of our overnight stop was the WOK chinese restaurant which we found on the right on driving back into the town. For 8€ this was a buffet style and incredible value. The seafood, fish, chicken, pork and beef on offer for the wok was amazing. The hotel breakfast was served to us and was continental style. The orange juice was freshly squeezed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angerichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very clean but tired looking hotel with indifferent staff. The room had a distinct smell of the sewers which I was unable to get rid of despite opening all the windows. Basic furniture in the room without a chair to sit at the desk. Breakfast is not served until 8.00am and it is not possible to get even a cup of coffee before then. The bar staff seemed to resent our presence and it seemed like an effort for them to serve us.
I have stayed in better hotels in this town for a lot less money. They seem to rely on their location to justify the cost. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Find a better, cheaper hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two night beach stop. Rooms were tired and dated. But for the price and sea view can't complain. the restaurant was a nice surprise, 3 courses €10 Very good food. Beachside location. Came here because hotel bahia mentioned in latest rough guide was closed down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thermalnermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Have been there many times, they also have apartments and houses to rent. English spoken

Room Tip: Better to contact hotel as they have apartments and houses to let..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koomen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Beware of this hotel! Except for the staff, breakfast and location (in front of the beach but NOT the best beach in Mazarrón, since in Playa Grande there is no sand but stones) this is not a good choice. Rooms are terribly noisy and old, the beds are probably the most unconfortable I have ever slept in. They must spend a big sum of money to make this place habitable and to charge de prices they charge without making you feel they are laughing at you.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank maltrasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Ruben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mazarron
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Cumbre
Hotel La Cumbre
#2 of 4 in Puerto de Mazarron
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alegria Dos Playas
Alegria Dos Playas
#1 of 4 in Puerto de Mazarron
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#4 of 4 in Puerto de Mazarron
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Guillermo II
Hotel Guillermo II
#5 of 8 in Mazarron
20 reviews
24.2 mi away
Parador de Lorca
Parador de Lorca
#1 of 5 in Lorca
1,078 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Juan Montiel, SPA & Base Nautica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Grande

Address: Avenida Castellar 19, 30860 Puerto de Mazarron, Mazarron, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Mazarron > Puerto de Mazarron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puerto de Mazarron
Price Range: $36 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing