We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Best Relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Best Relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

this was our third time in Sentido Cala Vinas room 908 and it will not be the last , I really like the hotel and the area , my wife and I we give a huge thanks to all the Staff and the Director for keeping such amazing place .

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chakib T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your short and sweet review. We are very pleased that after this third visit you are already thinking of your 4th return visit. We keep constantly working to maintain and improve our standards. With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    625
    278
    94
    43
See reviews for
213
1,178
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our first visit, views to die for and wonderful food. Like the idea of serve yourself drinks. The entertainment staff were good during the day but felt there should be something more professional at night as there is nowhere to go at night in a residential area.Shouldn`t have to when all inclusive.All we had was Elvis from Durham but he was good. The karioke (entertain yourself) broke down so that was it for the week. It`s a case of twiddle your thumbs all night and hope you get on with the people at the same table.

Room Tip: Make sure you view the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time in writing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your suggestions about the entertainment evening programme.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute deal so went with an open mind. I knew where we were going and had researched the website, so I had a few expectations. Arrived to reasonable welcome at reception, and were given a room on the fifth floor. When we got in it was a twin room, and it was above the dining room, so there was a daft patio thing beyond our balcony which restricted the sea view. Like everyone does, we had requested a double with sea view. Hey-ho, they can't suit everyone can they? I asked for a change of room but was told there were none available. The room was clean to a high standard, but didn't have an iron or safe as standard. Both are paid extras for the week, which in this day and age, should be complimentary as part of the room!

The pool area is ok, not the biggest but could be bigger. The sunlounger situation is a joke. People "reserving" loungers but not turning up until after 2!! If it was me, I would throw them all in the pool to counter their ignorance for doing this, but not there to argue with people. It's stated that this is prohibited by the hotel, but the staff don't seem to bother and just allow it.

The hotel is right next to the ocean, so if the pool isn't your thing, then the sea is amazing to swim in. Perfectly safe and really clear. Really warm too.

The food is to a really good standard here. The choice is excellent and quality to a high standard. There is always something for all tastes and I couldn't complain about this. There is no table service or drinks menu in the dining room, you have to get your own drinks from the bar and bring them in which is disappointing. The waiting staff are efficient and happy tho, that's a bonus. Plus the restaurant has amazing views. The self service element was unexpected.

Staying on self service, I wasn't happy at the amount of this. The restaurant aside, the bar and snack service during the day was all just that. I gather this has recently changed, and everything during the day you have to get for yourself. The staff just stand around watching you. The novelty of this wares off after a couple of days, as its just a free for all when getting a drink or snack. Plus, the snacks are the sAme each day, so if you don't like a hotdog or a toasty, then your out of luck.

The bars were serviced by only during restaurant hours or at night. Outwith that, self service only.

The staff around the pool area didn't really do much othe than stare at you. They were miserable and weren't making an effort at all. The staff didn't all wear matching clothes either, so I had no idea who worked there or who didn't. For all I know it could have been someone from the beach.

The hotel is a nice walk to magaluf, and there are also nice boat tours which dock at the hotel pier. The area is quiet and if you need some peace and quiet, then this is for you.

There are suncare advisors at the pool daily....tip... Listen to them... They know their stuff.

Final note, the hotel age group was mostly older with Saga Holiday reps there with big parties. Didn't bother me but it might bother others.

Won't be back, but only because the world is a big place with plenty other hotels to try.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fonz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your honest review. All opinions are very valuable for us and we have taken note of all your comments. Regarding the matching clothes, only inform you that all our staff members wear uniform and name badges. Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We paid nearly £100 for a 'Comfort Room' on trust because we had no idea what to expect. We had a sea view but so did 95% of the guests, we had a basket of fruit which was not filled up during the week and of course everybody can get fruit from the restaurant, we had two small bottles of water in the fridge which was not replenished, the use of beach towels but without having to pay the deposit like the rest of the guests and two robes to use. There was also a small 'patio' area for 'VIP's' which is supposed to entitle you to a a sunbed with a mattress away from the rest of the guests, we used this area three times and on one occassion had to go in search of a 'mattress' which took about 3/4 of an hour to arrive. Also on occassions other people use this area! So as for spending extra on a comfort room it was a waste of money and very disappointing. Otherwise the hotel is good, food good and staff pleasant and the location is excellent just don't bother paying the extra for 'comfort'. Suggest it might have been better to have had two sun beds on the balcony area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your opinion regarding your recent stay.
The description of the so called Comfort Room is in the brochure, so you can see the different services and facilities.
We very much appreciate your suggestion of putting two sun beds on the room's balcony and we would be glad to do so, but unfortunately there is not enough space, so we have two chairs plus a table.
Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived to find,carry own luggage to room, piano bar opened at same time as restaurant so no chance for a relaxing drink if you like to dine early,also no piano player. Staff very good and rooms clean. Dress code not enforced for the evening so shorts and flip flops in use, No snob but evenings dress looks much better. Food very good something for every taste. Safe keys old fashioned and cost of insurance (non returnable ) expensive. No toilets on piano bar/reception area but up a flight of stairs, great if in a wheel chair or limb problems.Entertainment staff worked very hard to try and entertain everyone but some outside entertainers could ease the staff to the enjoyment of others.Three star plus yes. Four star no.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAYMOND S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your personal view.
We have taken note of all your comments and would like to answer to your concern of not having toilets at the bar/reception area.
The toilets at the 5th floor (one up from Reception) apart from a flight of stairs are also accesible by the lifts (5) , this for those with limb problems or wheelchairs.
We thank you for your opinion, as all are very valuable for us. Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Sentido, Cala Vinas having spent the most relaxing week there.

We were in room 1203 and the view was absolutely amazing, breath taking.

The food was fantastic, far too many choices! Compliments to the chef and the waiters/waitresses who worked tirelessly and always with a smile.

The lifts were a chore but being on the 12 th floor we had no choice but to wait but it did not spoil the holiday at all.

The majority of the guests were saga clients , at 47 and 49 we were amongst the youngest there. I did feel sorry for the few guests in their 20s as the was not a lot for them to do.

The evening entertainment was not brill but the three staff, especially Rachel and Teiko (?) worked so hard and did make us smile with their antics! All three were incredibly encouraging with the day time activities without being pushy.

The Elvis tribute act - mark elvis Dixon - was brilliant!

We took the boat over to Palma, 17 euros each which gives you just over two hours in the capital, I think in hindsight we shoud have used that money to just take a boat trip and taken a taxi to Palma as you really need more time there, the cathedral is breath taking! The problem with taking the boat is that half your time you are picking up guests from other hotels in magaluf and Palma nova.

We walked into magaluf, wouldn't recommend it! We got lost on the way home so took a taxi back for 7 euros.

Re the sef service drinks, it is a fabulous idea! Those who moan could have always gone to the bar and I don't understand why that would be a problem.

We made friends with a lovely lady who had ms and she was very disappointed with her disabled room as there was limited space for her wheelchair and the loo seat broke, she did not have the Internet at home so would not be able to make her own comments but it may be worth checking this direct wait the hotel if you have specific needs.

The only thing that disappointed me was that I emailed the hotel in advance to let them know it was a holiday to celebrate our 23 rd wedding anniversary and my husbands 50 th birthday tomorrow. We received no fruit no flowers in the room nor a specific couples spa package which the tour operator said we could have. There is a VIP area which was not used at all whilst we were there and I cannot understand how you get to be VIP? A couple had the VIP wristbands on but it was not stated why they were upgraded and they did not know either!

Overall this was a prefect holiday for us and suited all our needs. It was a quiet break, if you want anything busier then this may not be the holiday hotel for you. We had a great time x

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frost3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are very pleased that you had an excellent and relaxed week's holiday with us. We thank you for your nice compliments to the kitchen, restaurant and entertainment staff.
Our new all inclusive self service area has been very well accepted by our guests.
Regarding your questions about the amenities in the room and the sun lounge area, these can be booked through your travel agency.
In ending, we are glad that you had a perfect holiday and that it suited all your needs. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you again in the future. With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The main feature of this Hotel is its setting.We swam from the ladder into the sea just down from the pool to the beach at least 3-4 times a day.There is an alternative 60 second walk by path to the beach.The poolside is a little cramped but you will find space the further away from the pool you go.All rooms have a sea view and my tip is to go to the highest level available.The views are fantastic.It is reported that one of Simon Cowells villas is across the bay.The rooms are basic but fairly large and all have balconies.The food,if slightly repetative is good quality and the wine from self service is not bad either.What really lets it down is the lack of evening entertainment. as others have commented.At 10-30 ish you have 150-200 holiday makers ,all dressed up for the evening just sitting around looking to be entertained.Thank God for the Saga crowd who arrived and "filled in" with some singalong tunes till closing time at 12.Jellyfish have just started to be a problem due to entering the winter months but can be easily viewed from the elevated poolside areas so you can then decide whether to enter the sea or not.Two things you must do whilst there, and that is to book to see the Pirate show on the outskirts of Magaluf [10 mins away by taxi] which is amazing and you wont see anywhere else.Acrobatics i have never seen before and supposedly the show is unique to Majorca.The other is the island tour [both booked from the hotel itself] Briefly,the island tour [whole day] takes you through the beautiful mountains by bus,up hairpins bends to a little fishing village then by boat by 45mins up very dramatic coastline to another port which resembles a typical port from the south of France then back through the mountains through little villages by tramcar then a train.Just do these if nothing else !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for telling us your that you found the location of the hotel a 4 star setting. Indeed, Cala Viñas is a peaceful resort set around a pretty cove and sandy beach and the Hotel enjoy a stunning location on the coast. As you mention, the island of Majorca has so much to offer, like the diverse landscapes that ranges from mountains to fruit plains and hidden coves to magnificent coastal scenery. There is so much to explore!
Your comments will be of great interest for our future guests. Thank you very much. With kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.1 mi away
Occidental Cala Vinas - All Inclusive
6.6 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
40.3 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#3 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Property: SENTIDO Cala Vinas
Address: C/ Las Sirenas 17, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Cala Vinas HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ONLY ADULTS HOTEL (+18 YEARS OLD) Enjoy the sensation of watching dusk fall next to the sea, enjoy the magnificent views with excellent service. An ideal combination for a holiday or a few unforgettable relaxing days. For those who travel on business, our rooms or the beautiful natural cave are an incomparable background to host your events or meetings with a sea view. Please note that the SENTIDO Cala Vinas is for adults only (+18 years). Located on the south west coast of Mallorca and only a few meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Approx. 2 Km from the lively town of Magalluf and 3 km from Palma Nova both with shops, bars and restaurants. The island's capital, Palma de Mallorca, with its famous cathedral and beautiful port, are only 20 km away. The International Airport is approx. 30 Km away. 245 Recently renovated, tastefully furnished single and twin rooms with telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning, safety box (with charge), mini fridge, hair dryer, bathroom, shower, WC and balcony, mainly with sea views. Internet is available in most of the rooms free of charge, on request. Different entertainment program every day and an evening show program made for an enjoyable stay. The SENTIDO Cala Vinas offers an indoor pool with various types of water jets, SPA (€ charge) with sauna, turkish bath, jacuzzi, ice fountain, three different showers and a relax zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SENTIDO Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Vinyes
Cala Vinas Hotel Majorca
Hotel Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing