We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Holiday”
Review of SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

On arrival we were given a lovely glass of fresh orange and freshen up wipe, great touch as we had left home at 4am and had a slight delay and then a nightmare waiting for bags at Palma airport of one and a half hours..... not a great start, but very soon forgotten. Our suitcases were taken up to the room by the porter, we took the lift to the 8th floor and wow, the room was very nice but the wow was the most amazing view of the beautiful med and I do like my views we couldn't have picked a better room not noisy and had no problem with the lifts. This was the first time i'd stayed in an adults only hotel didn't realise it was when we booked it. but would recommend. Food was buffet style plenty of variety and would say we did enjoy most of it, red white wine to help yourself to and also water, oh we were on A/I as most holiday makers were I think. The main bar on the same level as the dining room was only open at meal times well lunch and dinner, so if you wanted a drink at any other time you would have to go to the pool bar sometimes quite a big queue but served quickly when there were two barmaids on, great choice of drinks seemed to have most things although I mainly drank g & t's wine or coffee, they always had a cocktail of the day so did try a pinacolada. We were quite happy with the room layout bathroom fine although felt we could have done with a mirror over the dressing table not a picture, that was my only criticism, there was quite a few English channels on the tv I think bbc 1 and 2 and itv, there was a few more but hardly watched tv. Good large private balcony but only got the sun for a couple of hours In the morning and we were usually out then. Pool area, was good plenty of sun beds if that's your thing, I didn't bother used a table and chairs near bar area and when you get too hot there is a lovely cool area with couches completely sheltered so great to read and watch the world go by very relaxing.... I only used the snack bar once and didn't really enjoy the snacks hot dogs and toasties, i'd missed lunch as i'd been on a trip to the cathedral, there wasn't much choice although I was late going in there. The small beach area is only a couple of mins walk and good to swim in the sea from here, I went in twice very cold but lovely. We found the hotel very pleasant and we met and talked to many lovely people, the piano bar was really just people chatting after dinner, bar staff were pleasant, we did enjoy the evening we had in the bar downstairs we started off doing the pop quiz and then watched the in house duo, sort of county night although I hate country music had such a laugh with the new friends we maid all up dancing night to remember, and just thought the two guy did a fab job, other reviews have said a bit cheezy but I just found it fun with a few people from the crowd, this was the only night we went in there. The two guys tried really hard doing quizzes etc in the day time and while we were there a new girl joined the two guys, she seemed really friendly and i'm sure will do well there. All in all it's what a hol should be relaxing good food great people efficient staff clean surroundings will definitely return, but please palma airport sort yourself out way too long for bags.

Room Tip: High floor maximise the view and not as noisy from the restaurant,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibizaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

It's really nice reading your comments about your stay with us. We are very happy that your holiday met your expectations. We will be very pleased when you return to our hotel in the future.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

this was our first holiday in 4 years and we weren't disappointed very quiet location the rooms were great and a fantastic view out over the med we both thought the food was excellent with a great selection the room was spacious and very clean the fact that its adults only made for a very peaceful week also plenty of activities going on through out the day which everyone seemed to enjoy very friendly staff made it a great holiday

Room Tip: most rooms are sea view but we heard from one couple we spoken too they said they were given a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much in writing your review and letting us know that you had a great holiday. As you mention, the hotel is situated in a very quiet and peaceful resort and the views are splendid. Maybe we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again. (Don't wait 4 years!)
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back on 29th June my partner and I had two weeks all self indulgence at this beautiful hotel with one of the best locations and views you could wish for
The food is really good with so much choice, I cannot understand why anyone would complain, the staff are fantastic very friendly and polite they work extremely hard long hours especially with my demands for two beers all the time ? .so do the entertainment team the young girl singer Rachel is a very talented singer and a thoroughly nice person as are all the entertainment team . we will definitely come back to this hotel again well done and many thanks sentido staff and management for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waynem51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Duty Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you had a fantastic holiday with us. We will pass your praising words to all our staff, this is very gratifying.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel apartments for 5 nights and were very impressed! We had an amazing sea view and a nice view of Magaluf! The apartment was clean, spacious and had air con in every room. The hotel pools were amazing and clean and all the staff were very friendly! We had such a fantastic time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vpanayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are really very happy with your "amazing" review. We hope we can welcome you again in the next future.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights late June. The room was great, we were on floor 11 after having requested a high floor. Brilliant sea view. The room had a mini fridge which was a nice touch. Bathroom fine. We're not sunbed seekers so can't report experience there. If having shade around the pool matters to you there was none except for umbrellas. Unfortunately the food at the dinner buffet was only average,( otherwise we would have given four out of five). I'm a vegetarian and the selection was very limited. My husband is not and said the quality of fish/meat was quite poor. Breakfasts were fine. On reflection we think the bed and breakfast option might have suited us better but there are only 2 or 3 cafes/restaurants in the immediate area so choice would have been limited and we did not hire a car this time. One minor niggle (but not at all the fault of the Cala Vinas) was that there was a hotel or apartment complex (not sure of the name) on the other side of the bay which had a very full entertainments programme, which could be heard a fair way off and continued till well after 11pm. Overall not too disappointed with our stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Duty Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your time in writing your opinion about the facilities and services of our hotel. We have taken duly note of your impression of the vegetarian offer on the buffet. Indeed, there is another hotel at the other side of the bay and sometimes, this depending from the wind direction, some noise can be heard.
With very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have returned from holidaying in this hotel for the second year running (you will see my comments from last year in July 2012). This is a very comfortable place to holiday. I can understand why people might not like the food depending on their palate. I love the food as there is always lots of fresh grilled fish and meat everyday and lots of salad. Many of the majorcan dishes served are very tasty, but look different from what we might eat in the UK, I would suggest however that these dishes should be tried. There were many more umbrellas this year, and therefore the issue we had last year no longer exists. We were on a full inclusive package, and the local drinks were lovely - not as strong as we might drink at home. There is no tea or coffee making in the room, but you can easily take a hot chocolate or coffee up to your room from the bars. We took our kettle with us and some tea and coffee and it was great. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming, many of them the same staff who I recognised from last year, and they definitely add to the whole ambience of comfort that makes this a very pleasant place to stay. I have friends who if they went to this hotel they would complain - but I have stayed in hotels all over the world, including a number of cruises - I still feel this little hotel is a gem if you want a 'home from home'. Everything is in your expectations! This is an adult only hotel and this appears to be strictly adhered to by the hotel management.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor with a sea view on both occasions and were given our request. There are ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpea011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are very pleased to read that also this year your holiday at the Sentido Cala Viñas was an excellent one. It's also very nice to know that you liked the Majorcan dishes of our buffet.
Hoping to welcoming you for a 3rd visit next year, with best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the end of June with my girlfriend.

To start the reception is spotless with marble flooring and we were greeted with orange juice. Very simple check in with friendly staff. We then asked about a safe which was €25 and a €10 deposit which we thought was quite expensive.

The room was quite basic but a nice bathroom with tiles and a shower and bath with shampoo and shower gel. The shower was bit too high powered and didn't hold on properly and when turned on would come off the hinge and spray everywhere however it was a very spacious bathroom.

The view from the room was stunning overlooking the beautiful bay and the beach with a sea view and looking down to the pool. The sea was right outside the hotel and was such a gorgeous view to the whole hotel.

On the first floor it was very noisy trying to sleep with everyone downstairs at the bar area with music playing until 12.

The bar staff worked extremely hard throughout the day and the drinks selection for all inclusive was impressive offering a range of cocktails beers wines and soft drinks. They were not always smiling but understandable as they were working 100% cutting down ques throughout their shifts and service was excellent.

The food was good but didn't vary massively from day to day there was a wide selection and the breakfast lunch and dinner times were flexible and fit in nicely with the day.

I have read reviews and seen a lot of criticism of the entertainment staff at the hotel. Activities are not for everyone but the day to day activities of darts pool mini golf water polo quizzes during the day added a lovely atmosphere to the hotel and allowed interaction between guests which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were very energetic all day.

Being in the 18-25 age range I found we were some of the youngest guests at the hotel. 75% of the guests here were over 55 but it meant there was a relaxed atmosphere with no children in the hotel. The guests were easy going and nice to talk to for the most part.

The location is just a little out of the way with a few shops and restaurants nearby but €5 in taxi or a 15 minute walk to magaluf

Excellent hotel love to return

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxhoward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Cala Vinas, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much in letting us know that you had a lovely stay with us. Sorry to hear about the incident with the shower in your room. You state that you were on the first floor, so we will check the rooms on this floor and see what can be done.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.1 mi away
Occidental Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas
#2 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
2,050 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
4.0 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
1,784 reviews
4.5 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Address: C/ Las Sirenas 17, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range: $101 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Cala Vinas HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ONLY ADULTS HOTEL (+18 YEARS OLD) Enjoy the sensation of watching dusk fall next to the sea, enjoy the magnificent views with excellent service. An ideal combination for a holiday or a few unforgettable relaxing days. For those who travel on business, our rooms or the beautiful natural cave are an incomparable background to host your events or meetings with a sea view. Please note that the SENTIDO Cala Vinas is for adults only (+18 years). Located on the south west coast of Mallorca and only a few meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Approx. 2 Km from the lively town of Magalluf and 3 km from Palma Nova both with shops, bars and restaurants. The island's capital, Palma de Mallorca, with its famous cathedral and beautiful port, are only 20 km away. The International Airport is approx. 30 Km away. 245 Recently renovated, tastefully furnished single and twin rooms with telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning, safety box (with charge), mini fridge, hair dryer, bathroom, shower, WC and balcony, mainly with sea views. Internet is available in most of the rooms free of charge, on request. Different entertainment program every day and an evening show program made for an enjoyable stay. The SENTIDO Cala Vinas offers an indoor pool with various types of water jets, SPA (€ charge) with sauna, turkish bath, jacuzzi, ice fountain, three different showers and a relax zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SENTIDO Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Vinyes
Cala Vinas Hotel Majorca
Hotel Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing