We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cala vinas”
Review of SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cala vinas”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Briliant hotel in an excellent location, if you are a sun worshipper you are not going to be short of it here... the hotel is placed at a perfect angle to the sun, its warm and sunny from sunrise until sunset (7 till 7 almost)

The staff are very efficient and quick some are not the most cheerful but they do what they're supposed to be doing, the entertainment around the pool is enjoyable without being irritating or in your face if your laid out with your headphones in or you look uninterested they wont bother you, entertainment at night isnt great, but the hotel is situated very close to magaluf and only 20 mins down the road in a taxi or hire car from palma, and there are a couple of really good shows to go to around the island.

The pool and surrounding area is amazing you can jump straight off the pool area into the sea also and they've installed a ladder to allow access back into the pool area, also the hotel has a port for tour boats into magaluf and palma which is great. only niggle is there isnt enough unbrellas so prepare to get up at 7 ish to get one if you really want one bearing in mind there is literally no shade in the pool area unless youy have one, the other bonus with this is you can experience the stunning sunrise over the ocean :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andk1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    651
    289
    96
    45
See reviews for
222
1,221
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week stay here.
The views from the hotel are fantastic the location not good. Nothing near to the hotel apart from a couple of bars and supermarkets. The local bus service finishes at 1830.
The food average for AI and the use of salt very high in all dishes.
Plenty of sunbeds not enough umbrellas and towels at a price of 20 euros deposit. (X2)
Entertainment poor. The staff try hard but are not funny. Same shows week after week.
Bingo every night.
Average age 60 to 80yrs. Used by Saga!!!
Would not go to this hotel and would not recommend to friends not quite ready for this yet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a-bird649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on an all inclusive basis from 3rd to 10th September with our 3 childern aged 18,20 and 22 and our sons girfriend.
I chose this hotel as we thought it would be nice to go to an over 18s hotel but we were not prepared for 90% of the hotel to be full over over 80s saga!
We stayed on the 6th floor and didnt have such a good view as higher or lower floors as we looked down on a floor of concrete and couldnt see the pool, but the view of the beach was lovely.
Our room was very basic for a 4* hotel and our hairdryer was broken (I told reception and they did nothing about it) so I had to go in out daughters room to dry my hair every night.
The food was ok but the quality seemed to go downhill when the 200 saga people turned up on 6th September.
The hotel generally seemed tired and needs updating.
The entertainment in the evening is appalling, our youngsters wouldnt even go downstairs to the bar after a couple of days, they hated it.
Our daughter had her 20th bithday when we were there and we asked if the hotel could get a cake, but they couldnt and put a bottle of bubbly in her room. She took it down to the bar by the restaurant before dinner and we were just going to sing happy birthday to her when we were told to be quiet and if we did want to talk we should go to the downstairs bar by an old lady who was listening to the lady playing the piano. We felt quite insulted.
The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and its lovely to swim to the beach and back.
Drinks from the bar are very good quality and the bar staff serve very quickly and there are rarely any queues.
Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

All I can say about this hotel is wow! You hear a lot of stories about All Inclusive hotels not being of a good standard, well this place was world class. The buffet had something different each day. I can see where people are coming from by saying the food was the same, but then again there was so many different variations, as long as you didnt chuck everything on your plate on the first day there was tons of variety. The staff were amazing, I cannot pick out one member of staff because every single person I met or saw was friendly, approachable and always had a smile on their face. The only let down we found was the Spa. The steam room and sauna were not hot and at €10 each per day, its not worth doing, just go sit by the pool and have an all inc slush drink! We will be returning again soon and suggesting this place to everyone we know.

As for the location, it is 10 min walk from Magaluf which in September mid week is actually a really pleasent place to go both night and day. After realising we had only spent €30 in 3 days, we felt the need to go out for dinner and the beach front in Magaluf is perfect for that. The hotel is far enough away however that even the most lively night in Magaluf you would not hear anything!

I could spend all day on here listing all the great things we experienced at this hotel and on this holiday but I would just be repeating all the stuff everyone else is saying. Just go and see for yourself, you wont be dissapointed!

Room Tip: 8th or 9th Floor are best view, but all rooms have excellent views. Take your own snorkell if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timfusciardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Arrived here having sat on a plane for two hours, so were a bit stressed. Friendly at reception with orange juice/water provided and lemon towel. Wonderful views from the dinner room on the 4th floor that overlooked pool, sea and the nearby beach

Good sized room and very modern

Staff very friendly and entertainment team were very good

Good sized dining room with wine and water on draught. Good choice of food and ice cream to die for

Location is great, right on the sea. The boat to maguluf, palma nova right on your doorstep.

Walk to Maguluf takes only 20 mins. All inclusive drinks served from 10am to midnight and no silly retriction on number of drinks per person

Overall ideal for a nice relaxing week

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Me and my mum (aged 66 and 29) went to this hotel on all inclusive. We loved it! It was so hot, had sunshine all day due to the great location. Our rep told us it is the part of the island that gets most sun, which is probably why simon cowell ownes a massive house that is visable from the hotel! Ok I would not recomend this hotel if you want to be loud and pissed and roll in shouting at 5 in the morning. Magaluf is down the road, I would recomend that for a hennight/stagnight holiday bet to get a hotel there, not this one as it is aimed at the more mature guests. I LOVED the entertainment team! So funny and they were so nice to chat too, as some of the bar men and that dont realy talk or anything so to have such helpful and nice people amongst the staff made every one feel welcome and always had smiles on their faces. The evening entertainmnet was bingo, and quizzes and a couple of nights they had acts from out side in. (eg, a guy with a guitar, and a michale jackson dance group). It goes quiet at 11 at night so you can always get plenty of sleep.

I realy like the food, it was a normal all inclusive buffet with meat, salad, chips all sorts realy. The puddings were nice. The usual party type food, realy nice pies and pastrys!
The room was nice, AMAZING views!! We were on the second floor over looking the pool, bay and out to sea. If you go here you must swim in the sea, it is so warm and so calm, lots of people snorkeling. I got a cheap mask from palma nova for about 5 euros, and used it everyday saw so many different types of fish. Even if you are not a strong swimmer, dont worry, go in the sea, its brilliant.

The air con in the room was good, beds comfy. Shower nice and powerful. Room cleaned every day. The only thing is there is no tea or coffee facilities in the room. But we didnt mind as just got a lift straight from the room to the bar/resteraunt when ready! I think though the hotel should put a small kettle and a couple cups in the rooms as I know alot of guests werent happy about this.

Ok over all. Go here if you are wanting some sunshine, relaxation., to swim in the sea. And want to eat and drink to your hearts content! (I liked drinks, they dont scrimp on the measures ether lol) The other guests were nice, normal, and down to earth people mostly of retirement age, (im a big girl and didnt fell bad about being in swimming costume etc, all ages, shapes and sizes here) Most gusets were couples, over 50 as this is a hotel that saga use. If you want to party, then magaluf is only a 15 min walk down the road( you cant hear or see it from the hotel and no rowdy people ever come up to the hotel ether). Taxi back couple euros. Go ahead and book this hotel you wont regret it. We payed 485 each all in with thomas cook and thaught it was good value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahpoppy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just got back yesterday from a pleasant stay at this hotel.I will say that before travelling to the cala vinas I emailed them as it was my wedding anaversary and asked for a high floor sea view room .When we arrived after a 30 min delay in England making us over an hour and a half late to check in we were pleasantley surprised with the cool interiior which although retro was impecable kept and ultra clean .I have travelled all over and it was a real nice touch that we were offered a cool drink while we were checking in (ok yes the safe charge was a bit expensive but you got half your money back when you haned your key back so not so bad).

Our room was lovley the 11th floor (1104) big queen anne size bed that was so comfy i wanted to bring it home with me had a half temfur matress....bliss and a good sleep.The hotel had put a huge bowl of fruit and a bottle of champange in the fridge with water ect which I was very surprised about I thank the reception the next day!and wow what a view from our room breathtaking on a morning to wake up to ,the rest of the room was nice too and was super super clean.The weather was very very hot for september a pavment cracking 35 c most days so swimming in that beautiful bay was the only way to keep cool.Pool clean and surrounding kept imaculate too.Food ok too bit of a miss mash at times but nice chioce (except for the chips hate chips).Resteraunt kept clean and staff so hard working and busy but nice and helpful.
Now the pionts that need sorting out ..this is a thomas cook hotel and owned by them too now they should try and sort out the sun shade problem ,I know its a planning thing......but they could plant more trees/palms ect as it was so so hot and 20 brollys between a few hundred people no matter which way you do the math its not going to work and this place is a massive sun trap ...so the shade is needed at some time for every one,come on thomas cook get your thinking caps on.Of course the usuall people got up at 6am and rushed out to claim their patch and brolley I watched this every morning and laughed was so funny two people came to blows nearly ..

The other piont that needs some adressing is the bar ...now I know it was september so not high season but come on a window no bigger than a burger bar for an entire hotel ..now thats just silly,we had to queue all the time for anything up to 15-20 mins,the other bar which I noticed near the bbq and entertaiment area was shut down what a shame as it could have been so much nicer particularly in the heat for two bars to run as the hotel was full.Entertainment was er.......odd sometimes think "it's a knockout"crossed with a "carry on abroad"film;but the entertaiment team worked so hard to keep everyone happy and in the heat too they must have been frazzeld sometimes.
It's a 15 min walk to magaluf(yuk what a dump) and a 25 min walk to the more upmarket palma nova which was nice.Everywhere is accessible by the bus which sotped 50 yards outside the hotel or get a taxi 5 euros.
All in all I enjoyed our stay and would go back we usually go a bit further for hols but was really glad that i chose this hotel as it was really pretty and laid back ......the only thing that spiolt it a bit for us and everyone else was a group of larger louts that stayed in our hotel was a group of 14 they were loud,drunk by 12pm ,rude and basically obnoxiouse ..I was surprised as magaluf was just down the hill so wondered if they'd booked it by mistake they upset some of the holiday makers in particular a group of ladies who unfortunatley where in the rooms next door,I'm not a kill joy and have two children 18 and 22 so know what young people can be like at times..., but these lads were out of order(try magaluf next time boys)!

Room Tip: go for a high floor above 5 for a fantastic view and sleep quality,email the hotel before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Truetrave1bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.1 mi away
Occidental Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas
#2 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
1,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
40.3 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
6.6 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Cala Vinas

Property: SENTIDO Cala Vinas
Address: C/ Las Sirenas 17, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Cala Vinas HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ONLY ADULTS HOTEL (+18 YEARS OLD) Enjoy the sensation of watching dusk fall next to the sea, enjoy the magnificent views with excellent service. An ideal combination for a holiday or a few unforgettable relaxing days. For those who travel on business, our rooms or the beautiful natural cave are an incomparable background to host your events or meetings with a sea view. Please note that the SENTIDO Cala Vinas is for adults only (+18 years). Located on the south west coast of Mallorca and only a few meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Approx. 2 Km from the lively town of Magalluf and 3 km from Palma Nova both with shops, bars and restaurants. The island's capital, Palma de Mallorca, with its famous cathedral and beautiful port, are only 20 km away. The International Airport is approx. 30 Km away. 245 Recently renovated, tastefully furnished single and twin rooms with telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning, safety box (with charge), mini fridge, hair dryer, bathroom, shower, WC and balcony, mainly with sea views. Internet is available in most of the rooms free of charge, on request. Different entertainment program every day and an evening show program made for an enjoyable stay. The SENTIDO Cala Vinas offers an indoor pool with various types of water jets, SPA (€ charge) with sauna, turkish bath, jacuzzi, ice fountain, three different showers and a relax zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your SENTIDO Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Vinyes
Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel Vinyes
Cala Vinas Hotel Majorca
Hotel Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing