We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never dissapoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Cala Vinas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never dissapoints”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Barcelo Cala Vinas is just an amazing find, we have visited this hotel over a span of 15 years on ten occasions due to the location, good food, friendliness of bar & restaurant staff, all facilities and excellent animation teams run by the big hearted Leonardo. This hotel was originally just a 3 star self catering and was renovated seven years ago to its standard today by Barcelo now offering All Inclusive together with half board options. The Spa was added and the childrens mini club and pool area completely improved. Having just returned from this hotel again just yesterday I do agree the rooms could be upgraded slightly and a couple of the reception staff are in need of a personality transplant, however all the other positives more than outway the aforementioned and the Ikea like furniture as someone called it is not that bad. Summary an excellent hotel in its own little bay, own beach three pools and facilities for all the family and only 12 minutes walk from the nightlife of Palma Nova/Magaluf if you dare. There is also a fabulous cocktail bar on the beach Ilchiringuito it is called amazing food and friendly service second to none and their cocktails are amazing Francesco will look after you. Dont hesitate just book it you will fall in love with this wee gem.

Room Tip: Always pay the supplement for a Sea View room Block 3 overlooks the whole bay which is lovely, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norahnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    568
    279
    120
    62
See reviews for
732
543
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visiting as a couple for four nights over half term, we were worried about the number of kids in the hotel. The only problem was that the 'adults only' pool seemed to be full of screaming kids. However, the hotel is spread out enough so that there is plenty of space for everyone.
The beach is stunning but it's a pity hotel residents have to pay for sunbeds. The food was excellent with plenty of choice - the sushi was amazing!
We hired a car which I think was a huge advantage as it is a little out of the way - away from the chaos of Magaluf! but close enough for those who want it. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel.
We stayed in block 2 but our room was just above the restaurant so was very noisy particularly in the morning with chairs scraping, but the view of the beach was lovely. The place is a rabbit warren and it takes a day or two to get your bearings and get into the right lift as not all lifts serve all floors!
Check in was a shambles and took ages - though I'm guessing this was because the receptionist was new and still training. There is no ATM at the hotel which is awkward as you need to pay cash deposits for a safe and beach towels
Overall a positive experience and we would consider going back.

Room Tip: Block 2 but as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day trip to this hotel, and had an amazing time. The staff are all very helpful, rooms are a good standard and cleaned every day. Food was excellent, lots of choice and always well stocked. Being so close to the beach was perfect and only a 20 minute walk into the magalluf resort. Would highly recommend and very good value for money. We travelled as a party of 4 adults but would be very happy to bring children to this hotel

Room Tip: Request a pool or sea view as the rear of the hotel is built into a cliff edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Please disregard the review about the food being rubbish at this hotel. There is so much choice even the most fussy people would find it hard to complain. Everyday the staff work hard to put on a feast for all to enjoy. the hotel itself is set in a quiet area and has a lovely cove beach. The entertainment staff try hard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Its the 3rd barcelo we have stayed and we stayed as a family ..

I have had no issues with the spanish reception staff - all were polite and accomodating , food ( dinner)was also laid out at 2am in the morning .. when we arrived .. rooms are basic with less than appealing furniture ( more like a poor cousin to IKEA) .. good looking hotel in an excellent beach side and clear water for swimming etc ..

Food- excellent and very good quality and freshly made and service in the restaurant and bars were excellent ..

The only issues we had were the russian reception staff on the afternoon shift were eager to sell us the excursions ( possibly with a commission motive ?) which we declined as we had our own car and asked for direections and advice - she was not very keep to answer our simple queries on travel and local villages etc

Parking can be a issue ..

we will return again here

Room Tip: ask for sea facing block but in the block where reception is situated not near the pool as loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked to stay at this hotel as location looked lovely and hotel looked very nice. When we arrived at 11am would could not check in until 2pm (never had to wait when arriving abroad), our superior room had nothing superior about it and beach view was of trees. The adult only pool was nice but couldnt use it as the bar was closed and had to travel 4 floors to get a drink to the only bar open though the hotel. The food was diabolical and miss-match for the first two nights its was near enough the same food, you had to sign for every drink even water which was a joke, in the restaurant i asked for another drink and the waiter sighed at me. The first few days in the bar downstairs there were snacks on but then they seem to stop, none of the staff mentioned there was a snack bar opened at the other end of the complex which was nice of them and on the last day we went for lunch in the main restaurant and my partner was asked to put trousers on and shoes not flip flops, it was red hot and we had eaten there all week through the day and not had a problem ( at night fair enough). Not a 4 start hotel and a let down for Barcelo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea and a small, clean sandy beach. Payment is needed for sunbeds and parasols. There are 3 large buildings which make up the hotel. Very easy to get lost. There are no ' you are here' maps to help you only friendly holiday makers who have been there longer than you.

Our room was a bog standard Mediterranean style. I fail to see why it was called a superior room. Daily maid service.

The food was something else! I am a fussy eater and for 2 nights I had cheese rolls for dinner! But other people were coming back with plates piled high. Quite a bit of choice but limited meat options. Each to their own.

The main thing however was the amount of children there ( obviously not the hotels fault). Running around screaming and enjoying themselves but nowhere for childless people to go. At night because it was May there is only 1 bar open so everyone went there. With the poor entertainment as well it reminded me of a holiday camp. Please Barcelo can't you open another bar?

Overall the holiday wasn't too bad but please note the nearest ATM is in Magaluf and because we were all inclusive there was no kettle for an early morning cuppa!

However despite all this the staff were marvellous. Efficient and very friendly.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 2516 and 17. Not recommended because every morning your early alarm call is the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
11.5 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#7 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
36.3 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
1.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
1.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cala Vinas

Property: Occidental Cala Vinas
Address: Calle Coral 2-4, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Cala Vinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Occidental Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Hotel Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing