We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palacio " Past Perfect"”
Review of Palacio Arias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio Arias
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Navia
Certificate of Excellence
Lugo, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Palacio " Past Perfect"”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were looking for an overnight stay and chose Palacio Arias and decided to pay a little extra so that we could stay in the "Palacete", that is the original Coffee Traders home rather than the hotel annexe,not that there was anything wrong with the annexe, it´s just that the Palacete is utterly superb. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the gardens are stunning. There was car parking in the grounds and also underground parking, although this we did not use. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and the recommendation to take the Maritime Walk to the beach was perfect. The breakfast buffet was well laid out... and the leche frito & crepes were delicious! We shall return.

Room Tip: Room 308.. this room has the "Bulls eye" window and had a good view of the sea. A charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    85
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
97
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel in July having been to the area many times before, but not to this hotel.

Our stay was a really pleasant surprise, and the hotel was really well located, the staff very attentive, the car park extremely useful, and the old palace building stunning.

The rooms were fine (bathroom a little dated, but for 50 euros a night you can hardly complain) and we had the menu del dia on the first night which was very good - the restaurant is in the modern building so not atmospheric, but served us good food and wine at a very reasonable price.

The staff at reception are really helpful, and the wifi actually worked (unlike some other hotels in spain at 3/4 times the price).

Overall, probably slightly faded in its grandure, but a great hotel with lovely staff nevertheless - we will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GilesDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Palacio arias and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms were modern and clean and had everything one could want including a safe.
The staff were friendly and polite (although non English speaking but this is Spain not Surrey!)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is a perfect base to explore this corner of Northern Spain.
While there you should definitely try the local bars and restaurants in Navia, they serve excellent food and drink at very reasonable prices. I would also recommend eating breakfast in the local supermarket cafe, you will eat better than at most British restaurants for under a tenner for two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aningeniousname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

very comfortable, well priced hotel - 35 euros, 52 to stay in the palace!! Jose Angel at the front desk is a fine fellow who obviously enjoys his job and takes pride in it. it was a quick, overnight stop but i was impressed with the property and certainly would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nd2trvmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2010

it feels very good to stay in a truly beautiful building, and this one is an old 'indianos' palace, built by someone who made his fortune in the Americas and came back to show it off. The nice thing is that the family that runs the place does so with complete professional care but without any pretentions. It is not expensive. Everything is as it should be in a hotel of this quality. Breakfast in the old part of the hotel is the most pleasant part of the stay I think. The manager is a truly caring woman who does all she can to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michielschepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Navia appears quite touristy but I'm not entirely sure why. Anyway, the town has a riverside location and is maybe a 90 minute drive from Asturias airport so quite handy if you're en route somewhere else. The hotel is set in lovely gardens just away from the town centre and consists of a grand villa and a typical hotel block bit. I stayed in the latter in a basic but ok room, for around 40 Euros per night. I didn't eat there but the food smelt delicious. Overall I'd give it 3 stars because the rooms were quite basic and dated. The reception staff are very helpful, and I have been back already so I think that says it all.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HisFussiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navia
0.8 mi away
Blanco Hotel Spa
Blanco Hotel Spa
#5 of 6 in Navia
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Suquin
Hotel Rural Suquin
#4 of 6 in Navia
50 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pleamar
Hotel Pleamar
#1 of 1 in Puerto de Vega
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Pinar
Hotel El Pinar
#3 of 6 in Navia
71 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Castro
Hotel Casa de Castro
#1 of 1 in Cartavio
54 reviews
24.8 mi away
Casa Vieja del Sastre
Casa Vieja del Sastre
#5 of 14 in Cudillero
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Arias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Arias

Property: Palacio Arias
Address: Avenida Inmigrantes 11 | Palacio Arias gardens, 33710, Navia, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Navia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Navia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacio Arias 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 rooms in the Palace, and Arias Apartments with 42 rooms & 21 apts. Also an address at avenida Jose Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palacio Arias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Arias Navia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing