We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Manilva Green
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Manilva
North of England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having rented many apartments in Spain over the years, both private and company run, my conclusion is that Manilva Green Apartments fails to meet expectations. Their prices are reasonable, but the downside is the lack of customer care. I stayed in apartment 114 for 12 nights at the beginning of March. ‘Carlos’ (the friendly’ish Brit receptionist from Rhyl of all places!), said I had the best apartment on the first floor. He could have been right, as it was an end apartment with an additional two windows in the end wall overlooking the garden and sea view. The one bedroom apartment itself was bright and airy. The views of the mountains and coast were fair, but unfortunately the curved apartment block is north facing. This means you get about half an hour of partial sun as it rises first thing in the morning, so forget about getting that all important tan sitting on your terrace. It can also be quite cold and a wind spot up there atop of the hill.

As for the “well equipped” kitchen I beg to differ. It was below par for the average Spanish apartment. It consisted of a microwave, toaster, non-electric kettle, coffee maker, two-burner cooker top and a mishmash of pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. No can opener, no corkscrew, and no tea towels. No washing machine either. Most Spanish apartments have a washing machine and even some a dishwasher comes as standard. I gather there are laundry facilities at cost located somewhere along the floors.

The bedroom is the standard two single beds put together with bathroom en suite. The idea of the two sinks embedded into the unit, although it looks good (a sort of his and hers) is impractical as the splash back alone means the water runs over the unit and onto the floor not to mention your legs! The lounge was fairly roomy with a sofa bed, a standing chair, dining table and four chairs. The TV was small cheap and nasty with tinny sound and a variety of standard free view channels including Sky News and BBC.

Other facilities: Double and single yellow lines on the road restrict car parking and there are only a handful of spaces off-road at the front of the hotel, which are used by the staff. There’s underground parking, which I found to be quite tight even though I was staying off-season and not many guests’ cars were parked. Sometimes the auto garage doors didn’t open. I’d hate to be there when the underground is full. There’d be little room to manoeuvre a car. I gather Wi-Fi is free in the bar area, but there are two standing pc’s at cost. The “24-hour” onsite supermarket, which the bar person or receptionist will open for you at any time of the day or night is expensive. I paid €1.20 for a litre bottle of water. You can find the same in the standard supermarkets for 24 cents, but this is what is called ‘convenience’ as there isn’t anything within walking distance. In fact the apartment block is quite remote, with no facilities within walking distance. I would think a car is a must unless you really like walking. The nearest port is Duquesa at the bottom of the hill, about a 5 min drive. In the other direction the nearest town is Manilva about a 7 min drive. The Italian themed eatery was closed during my stay, but I gather you could get simple meals and coffee in the main bar area.

My main concern was the zero servicing. I stayed for 12 nights and at no time was the apartment cleaned or serviced with fresh towels or bedding. They do say that the apartment is cleaned “before and after” your stay. What a ridiculous statement to make? This is even more poignant for longer stays. Everyone expects an apartment to be cleaned before their stay! You’ll have to buy your own toilet rolls. You get one roll for your entire stay. It would also be a good idea to take your own towels. This is way below par for company run holiday apartments. In others I’ve stayed at in the same area they were serviced every 3 to 7 days on average. Half way through my stay I asked the night receptionist when my apartment would be serviced. He said he didn’t work there and was only standing in that night, but would ask the regular staff to do it the next day. Needless to say it wasn’t. I won’t be staying there ever again as you can find better quality, better run apartments for around the same price in the general area and a lot closer to facilities.

Room Tip: ask for an end apartment overlooking the garden / sea view as these are a lot brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    72
    49
    15
    19
See reviews for
92
80
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our apartment was spacious - ample for our family of four, however, there were quite a few issues which we put down to it being out of season. Also I work in a four star Hotel in the UK so maybe my expectations are a bit high?
1. There was a heater in each bedroom, plus 2 in the living room, which we thought great (as it got cold at night in February) but after a lot of fiddling with a controller we figured out how to get 2 of them working, unfortunately the second living room heater and the heater in the master bedroom didn't work. I went to see Carlos on reception who was very helpful and friendly, and straight away sent the maintenance guy down. This would have been great apart from the maintenance guy shrugged his shoulders and said they don't work - I said to him (he spoke no English and I speak some Spanish not the greatest combination) that it gets very cold at night but he just shrugged again and left!
2. The gate you drive through didn't open for our key a couple of times(to come in)and the intercom to reception wasn't answered - luckily someone spotted us the other side and let us in - and once the gate stuck all together (to go out) and halted a trip to the beach until it was too late to go that day;
3. Little things wrong - no plug in the kitchen sink (soon rectified by reception admittedly!); (at this point we didn't really want to go tell reception about any further problems!!) the shower in the kids bedroom wouldn't stay up and slowly sank down so it was too low and eventually pointed only at the wall; the sheets and towels were not changed at all during our stay, nor was the apartment freshened; only sheets and blankets provided no duvets and it was a little cold; the aircon/heating fans were located (both of them) on our balcony (oddly not on the roof like some of the other apartments?!) and were very loud indeed and windy if you happened to be in line of one!; very little sun on the balcony as not south facing - I'm sure this is lovely in the summer when it is very hot though.
On the plus side there is free Wi-Fi when you are in the cafe / bar by reception; maintenance was sent very quickly to fix problems; Carlos was very helpful and has great local knowledge to help you get your bearings; it was too cold in Feb to use the pool but it looked lovely and had a great view and was clean; the complex itself seemed to be kept spotlessly clean; we paid for a duplex apartment but Carlos allocated a single floor apartment which was better suited to us as it was more spacious and the stairs are very steep in the duplex ones; great view from our balcony and finally Carlos makes a lovely coffee!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed here in January 2013, it was quiet, and calm. The complex is well run and maintained. The staff were efficient, friendly and really nice. We had wonderful weather with temperatures in the 20's . Our apartment was beautifully decorated in bright neutral tones, the heating worked really well and the kitchen was well equipped and the hot water was the hottest we have ever come across in a hotel which was a nice surprise.There was good parking in the underground area with a lift to our apartment. The pool area is pretty with plenty of plants and palm and lawn area and a wonderful view across the bay. I cant fault this hotel it gave us a wonderful winter break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 9 nights here we were very pleased with the apartment it was spacious and very well maintained the view from the balcony was just stunning, Carlos on reception was very helpfull . The local village is just 10-15 min walk and very friendly also there's a free mini bus down to Sabinillas. We stayed in October so it was quiet but that suited us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank judyPrice120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed just one week at Apartmentos Manilva Green near Sabinillas/La Duquesa - great little apartment (just 2 of us) very clean, excellent room service (contrary to other review our sheets/towels were changed mid-stay) - but what made the stay was the wonderful Carlos on reception - he is an absolute gem ! Pool a bit small so might be crowded in high season and in late Sept was too cold for me; didn't try restaurant so can't comment. There is a little shop just up the road towards Manilva that sells most things.
You really do need a car - we didn't try walking down to Sab'/Duquesa - bit too far on roads with no pavement, very steep & twisty. However short walk into Manilva village is great, and wonderful tapas bar (2nd on the right hand side as you enter viilage) - very friendly, good value tapas plus Manilva itself is an interesting, 'real' village. (first 'bar' on left is also antiques shop !). Sabinillas very run down, La Duquesa just a "mall" of restaurants - some very nice - but Castillo de Duquesa, a short walk further on, is much nicer and fabulous seafood restaurants. Portions are rather large - one starter was enough for two healthy appetites.
Good place to stay, Carlos made it superb!!

Room Tip: Too far from beach unless you drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisty-Tosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We decided to spend some days in these apartments to enjoy the Sun Coast but without paying a lot for services we were not likely to use; we have to say that our expectations were truly met: apartment was big (or even huge) for two persons, we had a small terrace to enjoy the landscape while eating, apartment was clean and we were not far from civilization but not so near you could be annoyed by noise (keep in mind that highway is really by the seaside in that area).
Perhaps there were not so many kitchenware as we have found in other places but at least you have the essentials: microwave, coffee machine, iron, induction cook, pans and pots....There were 3 AC machines in the apartment but we did not need them.
You have a couple of swimming pools, bar, restaurant, covered parking....all of them were correct.
Staff wasmvery pleasant and we did not have any issue with them, always looked friendly and eager to help.
Aparments are widely used by families, so be aware that there might be children everywhere (in our case noise levels remained acceptable)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andy_iq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just back from Manilva Green and we weren't disappointed. Duplex apartments were spacious, clean and with plenty of cupboard space. Kitchen well laid out and had all you need for a nice breakfast or afternoon snack. Beds are massive and really comfy with huge long pillows. Aircon was a little noisy but necessary as it was roasting. No wi-fi in rooms, which didn't impress my son, but is available, FREE, in the bar area. The pool is on the small side but we had a great time most days playing ball while cooling down. Mostly Spanish there which was nice too and they are really friendly.
We have decided this is one place we would return to for another week in the future. Thanks for a nice holiday.

Room Tip: Duplex apartment have very steep stairs so not ideal for young children or the older holidaymaker. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warriorant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manilva
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
3.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
864 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Manilva
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 35 in Estepona
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
12.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Manilva Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Manilva Green

Property: Apartamentos Manilva Green
Address: Camino Penoncillo 21, 29692, Manilva, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Manilva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Manilva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Manilva Green 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Manilva Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Manilva Green Hotel Manilva
Apartamentos Hotel Manilva
Apartamentos Manilva Green Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing