We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food and service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai blue

Mumbai blue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food and service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my boyfriend, lucky to get a table outside and enjoy the cool evening, staff were attentive and made sure we had drinks. Food choice was vast and something for everyone we had fish curry and fish passander would return when in the area again

Helpful?
1 Thank Superem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Playa Flamenca area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've eaten in many of the Indian restaurants in PF are over the years and this one is currently the best IMO.
Located in la Florida near the Abbey pub. Decor was very tasteful and modern. I ate there with my brother and his wife on their recommendation and was not disappointed. Food was delicious and service spot on, reasonable too as the bill came to 100 euros for 5 people including drinks.
Will definitely go back the next time I am visiting.
As said though you really need to book. It was packed on a Wednesday evening last week.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonaldoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable evening - service much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Last January we visited this restaurant with two friends. At that time I reported the food being very good but the service significantly lacking. On this occasion I am happy to report that both food and service were very good despite the restaurant being busy. Restaurant is bright and airy & décor is tastefully decorated albeit not very Indian style unlike the food which was authentic Indian. Menu is varied with the Dim-sum & Thai salad as starters worthy of special mention. All four mainers were thoroughly enjoyed especially the lamb & thai green curry washed down by palatable wines & beers. On this experience we will eagerly return to this restaurant in the near future & are happy to recommend it to all who appreciate good authentic Indian food at an affordable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mervspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was nice but not as good as Buddha Tandoori in Via Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Mumbai Blue had been recommended by a number of people & we are glad we tried it as it is a lovely restaurant in terms of decor, food & it is air conditioned. However, we much prefer the Buddha Tandoori in Via Park and it is about half the price!!

The chicken pakora & lamb tikka starters were nice. The papadoms came with no lime pickle & the other chutneys were in modern white dishes but were shallow so not enough in them. The mains of chicken tikka were nice but the naan bread was flaky, thin and just ok. The pilau rice came with rice & cucumber which wasn't our cup of tea. We had 1 soft drinks each with this & it came to 45 euros. The Buddha Tandoori has bigger portions, better quality & would have been about 30 euros.

Helpful?
Thank Jam220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have eaten in many different Indian restaurants in my time, but Mumbai Blue has to top that list.
the food & service is just outstanding.
From the moment we sat down in the bright & tastefully decorated restaurant we were made to feel welcome.
Every need was met, from menu recommendations based on our tastes to making a special starter for our party.
The staff & owner deliver an excellent service that makes you want to return again & again.
A definite must!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccih72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai blue also viewed

Playa Flamenca, Province of Alicante
Playa Flamenca, Province of Alicante
 
Playa Flamenca, Province of Alicante
Playa Flamenca, Province of Alicante
 

Been to Mumbai blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing