We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vigilia Park
Staffordshire, united kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the vigilia park in puerto de Santiago, we have had an excellent holiday. We were advised of some works taking place at the hotel but this was really kept to a minimum. There were 9 of us in our party with two rooms, although the rooms were dated they were large, and functional with everything you would need. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the complex itself was kept spotless. The staff were all excellent, very helpful and attentive. We were all inclusive and found the restaurant to be great with food hot and the kitchen staff keeping an eye on what needed refilling. The pools were fantastic and the view from the top pool was beautiful with breathtaking views, for the money we paid this was a great base. Maybe a little more entertainment at night would have been preferable. All in all a great holiday and a big thank you to the attentiveness of every member of staff.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Claire J,

A big thank you for your kind comments on our staff and services!
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    255
    133
    44
    34
See reviews for
240
231
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband ,myself and our two children spent a week during the Easter holidays (5th April - 12th April ) at Vigillia Park to celebrate a special anniversary, we had told the hotel via emali what we were coming for and requested a high floor with sea views, when we arrived we nervously waited to be allocated our apartment as usually i am always disappointed ! Not on this occasion however we were allocated Apartment 128 which was on the 3rd floor, it had two floors, on the ground floor a bathroom , small kitchen( but fully equipped with everything you could want in a self catering holiday), a lounge with a sofa bed( if needed ) with patio doors to the beautiful balcony with table and chairs, satellite tv ,a bedroom with a double bed with patrio doors to lovely wide balcony with plants on it , upstairs on an open mezzanine level ,two single beds and another bathroom ! Great for our two children !! The apartment was lovely and clean. The views from the balcony were breathtaking, better than other holidays we have had and paid lots more for ! The view took in the Los Gigantes cliffs to the right , a wide panaramic expanse of sea and La Gomera Island in the distance, the sun was on the balcony in the afternoon till gone 8.00pm when the sun went down, the sunsets were amazing every night. The hotel is worth going to also for the amazing rooftop terrace which has two pools and a jacuzzi, a snack bar, and lots of sun loungers and even more on the upper level of the roof terrace and of course once again the amazing 360 degree views, the hotel felt safe (we didn't feel the need to hire the safe ) the one thing i would say is take some hangers alghough our request for extra hangers and indeed extra pillows was complied with straight away ! and also be aware that there is no air con although two ceiling fans at this time of year was enough. We would definitely return to ths hotel but only if we could have the same apartment ! x

Room Tip: Try apartment 128 you won't be sorry ! Alternatively ask for higher floors with full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernadette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Bernadette E,

Thank you for your nice words about us! It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us!
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week self catering from Vigilia and had a great holiday. This hotel was very clean and well run.The roof top pools were surrounded by the great views of the Los Gigantes mountains. Only problem was where this hotel was situated regarding local restaurants and bars which were few and far between. To get to the nearest amenities you had to either walk or get taxis to bars/restaurants which were quite far off. No good shops if like me shopping is part of your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Audcop,

We are glad that you had a "great holiday" with us.
Thank you for your comments!
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived at the hotel which is set in a shopping centre and the reception is right at the bottom of this, with entrance to one of the pools. Hotel was a little dated but very clean with beds changed 3 times in a week and towels every day if we wanted .Make sure you ask for a sea view when booking this makes all the difference. We had booked this as it said it was an all-inclusive hotel, ITS NOT, you only get beer, wine and soft drinks, NO SNACKS, we had to wait constantly for someone to serve us at the bar as they were also working in the resturant which could be up to 10 mins waiting, this hotel should not be offered as all-inclusive as its clealy not. You can go to the Tamaimo Tropical which is all-inclusive for less and get all the food and drink. Included is snacks and ice cream. If you want self catering this hotel is great as the room has all the facilities for cooking a meal. The roof top terrace is great some waiting on the drinks also as the bar person was not always there, snacks could be purchased from the roof top terrace..this has great views of Los gigantes and the sea. The entertainment was not good at all on one of the nights the signing forgot all the words and some English guy had to sing. This hotel is not for disabled travellers or people who have trouble walking as everything is on a hill if you do walk to los gigantes you could get a taxi back. When going to Los gigantes there is an indian resturant called Krishins do not go its quite disgusting and was really expensive, food was tasteless and the kitchen was not very clean, myself and my husband were very ill the next day after eating there.
Peurto Santiago is very nice and if you choose a hotel closer to the sea there's quite a few bar and resturants that offer entertainment and good food. Hope my review helps you travellers out.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mukkaWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ms. MukkaWestMids,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with us.
There was a missunderstanding with our All Inclusive Lite service with the travel agencies, they didn´t inform our clients well of the services we offer. As you correctly say it only includes breakfast, lunch and dinner and drinks from 10:00 to 22:00. Drinks included: water, soft drinks, beer, local vine and sangria. There are no snacks.
Apart from this we hope that you enjoyed your holidays at Tenerife.
See you soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have recently returned from a week All Inclusive "Lite" at Vigilia Park Apartments (10th Apr - 17th Apr 2013).

Let me get the only thing that niggled us on our holiday out of the way which I may add was not the fault of the Hotel it was the misleading sale of the travel agency itself - We paid for a week all inclusive - now I have been on many AI holidays and you tend to expect all soft drinks plus tea and coffee as well as all locally produced wines, beers and spirits plus ice creams and snacks to be part of this AI deal. However on our arrival we was advised the only items included in the All Inclusive "Lite" (which when I checked the paperwork was listed on the details... failed to read this properly in order to question it silly us) are as follows
All Meals (Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner)
Lager
Wine
Sangria
Coke/Lemonade/Orange and water
However we wasn't that dissapointed we just brought some booze and utilised the free soft drinks so didnt cost us much extra.

Food
Beautiful! Hats of the the Chefs, although not a great deal of selection each day the actual quality of the food was excellent and all 3 of us was very happy with each meal.

Rooms
Spacious and always clean - included a kitchen. Fresh towels beds changed every other day.

Staff
Amazing - always very helpful, greated you with a smile and hello and if you had a problem it was sorted out very quickly!

Hotel
Fabulous! We spent most of the week on the sun terraces on the roof of the hotel, there is a bar up there that does serve food at a cost this is not part of the AI deal. There are two pools one for children, showers plenty of room we had no issues gaining sunbeds and could get a great view of Puerto de Santiago and Los Giantes.
There is also a pool downstairs with Reception, restaurant and laundry facilities.

Area
Lots of hills so if you have trouble walking around best to catch a cab, there is a taxi station just outside the hotel, there is a shopping complex within the Hotel and a supermarket in the basement of the hotel.

Overall experience for us was amazing, relaxed and unwinded with no troubles would definately go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Tania M,

Thank you for sharing your opinions about our little complex. We are glad that apart from the small missunderstanding of the All Inclusive Lite service you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Last year we spent 6 weeks here between May and September and we are returning again early May. These apartments are spacious, clean and well equipped. The rooftop pool and sun terrace have undoubtably got THE best views in the whole of Tenerife : Just look on google images and you will see what i mean.
The place is constantly refurbing - new rooftop bar furnishings and brand new fabulous jacuzzi.
It is an economy price development with millionaire views and i think some of other reviewers on here need to get perspective and remember how little they paid to stay here.
The staff are great, i was here for 2 weeks alone and they kept an eye out for me and were always there for a chat. The cleaners are very pleasant and scrupulous.
the area is a dream for nature lovers or sunseekers as long as you are very fit and healthy as walking anywhere involves very steep hills.
I would recommend this complex to any of my friends; if you want glitz, glamour and luxury you can stay at the Barcello down the hill for £120 per night or more.... i can have a week at Vigilia Park for that.
So to sum up, clean, spacious, amazing views and great service. Always.

Room Tip: You'll kick yourself if you don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Inger W,

Thank you for your nice words about Vigilia Park and our staff!
It´s really nice to read so kind and honest comments on us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and see you soon for your next stay!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We first came to these apartments 2 years ago (see my earlier review of 28 April 2011) and decided to come back again based upon our positive experience in 2011.

Since our last visit, our family has a new addition and one of the reasons that we came back to the Vigilia Park is that the apartments have a great roof-top toddler pool where our daughter could get her water wings in complete safety, which worked really well for us. Our older boys made use of the other roof-top pool and are of an age where they were happy to play in the pool and then relax on one of the plentiful sun-loungers. A concern about the roof-top pools is that there is a slope down from the main pool and we saw several people slip or fall over due to the water that pours down from the main pool and collects at the foot of this slope. The lifeguard came and squeegeed the water into a nearby overflow drain once a day, but this is not a proper solution to the problem and it seems only a matter of time before somebody slips and causes themselves a serious injury.

On our previous visit 2 years ago we had a quiet, two-bedroom, two-storey apartment on the fourth floor that overlooked the roof-top pools and across to the cliffs at Los Gigantes, which was an excellent location and provided good sleep quality. This time round we had apartment 118 on the third floor which was a two-bedroom, one storey apartment at the back of the complex. The apartment looked over a busy road and was directly above a couple of noisy bars, so its location was nowhere near as good as our previous apartment and sleep quality was nowhere near as good.

A number of other reviewers have commented on the current upkeep of the apartments and we would agree that it is now looking very tired with crumbling facades and mortar coming away on several of the balconies or the walkways from which the rooms are accessed. There was a certain amount of maintenance that was taking place whilst we were there, but this was not intrusive and did not spoil our stay, although we feel that the level of work that needs to be done to bring the accommodation back to what it once was is a very apparent issue that now needs to be dealt with. A number of other reviewers have also commented on the state of furniture, beds and bed linen and we would agree that much of what we had in our apartment was now at the point of needing to be replaced, especially the bed and bed linen which was of very poor quality. On a very positive note all of the staff that we spoke to were very helpful and our apartment was cleaned every day.

To summarise our stay:

- the location of the complex is fine for accessing local bars and restaurants
- the roof-top pool area has plenty of sun-loungers, a decent café/bar and provides fantastic views over the resort, the sea and the cliffs at Los Gigantes
- the accommodation itself is in decline and is now looking very tired and together with the need to replace many of its fixtures and fittings needs significant investment this year
- if you get a room at the front of the complex then you are likely to get fine views and decent sleep quality but if you get a room at the back of the complex then prepare for street views and much more noise

So to answer my question ‘what has changed in 2 years’ – the answer is not a lot, but time has caught up with this complex and unless there is significant investment, whilst we would be likely to come back to Puerto de Santiago, we would look to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: My advice to those looking to stay at this accommodation would be to book or ask for an apartment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveB1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mr. SteveB1664,

Thank you for your coments on Tripadvisor.
First of all would like to inform you that for the next time please make sure to book an apartment with lateral seaview otherewise you can find an apartment facing to the backstreet and obiously our complex is situated in the middle of the village so can have some noice from the locals.
Would like to inform you as well that this summer we made a big renovation work on our facade and we have put an extra railing and slip tapes next to the roof pool area for preventing accidents.
We are renovating some of our units also starting on the first level of the building.
Hope to see you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
Lagos de Cesar by Blue Sea
#10 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
3.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
12.8 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Property: Vigilia Park
Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vigilia Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing