We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but run down”
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vigilia Park
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was ok, but got pretty boring after a few days. Not enough spices and fresh veggies and too little variety.
The pools were good.
The resort was too far from a beach where you can swim. Too high waves.
Very friendly service.
Beautiful view over Los Gigantes and the sea from the room.

Room Tip: Get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teadrinker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Teadrinker7,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinions on your stay.
Unfortunately the sea during the winter season has more waves as during the summer season, for your next time e recomend to try the Los Gigantes beach which is more sheltered from the waves thanks to the port.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 655 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just back from Vigilia Park. Stayed March 17th for a week, weather was lovely warm and sunny, a bit chilly on the evening, so take a jumper.
We stayed in room 127 self catering. The apartment was lovely,2 floors ,2 bathrooms. Kitchen perfect for self catering, toaster, cooker, kettle, huge fridge and freezer. Tea towel and towels changed daily, washing up liquid and dish cloths provided, also shampoo, soap etc. We had a fantastic view from the great balcony, with a lovely sunset every evening.
Roof top pool is great, plenty of sunbeds, views amazing ,its peaceful, there is a cafe and toilet up there, great to lie and rest in the sun. Pool is sooooo cold though.
We walked into Los Gigantes every morning and Evening , such a lovely walk ,yes it is very hilly and would not suit everyone.
We went on the whale spotting boat with Top Class Tours, saw a large pod of whales, it was well worth the money, had a lovely couple of hours at sea.
Evenings we spent in Los Gigantes, plenty of bars with live music playing, our favourite was the wine bar, brilliant singers, lovely staff and great wine. We also enjoyed TJ's which also had great singers.
We also had to finish every evening off with a trip to Route 66 in Puerto Santiago, wow that lady can sing, fantastic atmosphere everyone singing and dancing the evening away.
So if you are a mature couple looking for somewhere nice, quiet, pretty, a meal and a drink with live singers for your evening entertainment, then this is the place for you, but remember it is very, very hilly.

Room Tip: High floor and a sea view to watch the sunset is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Karen C,

Thank you for your comments on our complex and the surrounding areas. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your holidays on Tenerife.
For your next visit we recomend you to pick up a taxi from Los Gigantes it cost 3,5€.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and my daughter have just spent a week all inclusive at the Vigilia Park Apartments from the 22th to the 29th of March 2013. We paid £460 for the available apartment for a week. At this price, it was... disappointing is about the mildest I can say.
I didn’t find the receptionist particularly friendly or welcoming when we arrived. We went to ask the receptionist if they could give us another room as ours was very noisy and were refused as “hotel is fully booked” that wasn’t true.
The down side our apartment faced a busy,noisy road and we have a view of the apartment buildings across the side street, where just within 10 meters local people overlooked our balcony. Therefore we didn’t open balcony and struggled in very dark apartment with only one window out onto a miniscule balcony. The whole apartment was "lit" by economy saving bulbs that made reading impossible.
There was noise from the shopping mall in the centre of the building and from a bar across the way that was very noisy every evening and night and it was impossible to try to sleep.
The beds were quite worn and uncomfortable. The sofa was grubby. Feel sorry for all very hard working staff that doing their best to keep this place clean and tidy.
Also there were only 2 English news channels on TV. If you like to use internet the reception staff offer you to buy the hotel Wifi-connection for 25 euro/week!
The food in the restaurant was basic and limited choice. The water in the pool on the roof is very cold.
Only one positive point was the roof terrace with fabulous views out to sea and the cliffs and that the weather was fab. Otherwise Vigilia Park is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at! Puerto de Santiago is just impossibly boring place. No good beaches around, nowhere really go walk and also no tidy shops around. We will not return to this resort and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndoringer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ndoringer d,

We are sorry that you didn´t enjoyed your stay with us.
We already sent our reply to your complaint letter received by the tour operator.
Even if not with Vigilia Park but hope to see you back on our lovely little island!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Vigilia Park in early February this year. We had fabulous weather and it was around 24 degrees every day apart from one day. We stayed self catering . The apartment had everything you needed. The kitchen was well equipped with toaster, microwave. cooker, oven and kettle. The room was well cleaned every day and the towells and sheets were changed regularly. The upper level pool area was abolutley lovely with a bar which snacks were readily available. The downstairs bar and pool area was good aswell . Everything was very clean and well looked after. My wife needed extra pillows and they were there in 5 mins.Would definitley go again next year but would recomend a sea view room for the extra few pounds.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room. We had a back room overlooking the street. A bit noisy and no outlook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikekington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Mikekington,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

March 16th 2013 for 1 week - Married Couple aged 50ish The coach journey from the airport took us through playa Americas, los cristianos and costa adeje - horrible busy England in the sun places. Puerto Santiago is 10 minute walk to Los Gigantes or 15 mins other way to Playa de la arena. Some lovely traditional places to eat all around you. The hotel, we went self catering, is very nice, yes could do with a lick of paint etc, but a comfy base and a good price. Swimming pools are very good, views (room 137) brill. Nice beach in Playa Arena. Across from the hotel and down a hill is a new complex area with more bars, shops and places to eat. - no regrets would go back.

Room Tip: room 137 great views. Try the fish restaurant over looking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Glennreg,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinions on Vigilia Park and the surrounding areas.
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we had a rooftop room 10 feet away from the jacuzzi and swimming pool.our apartment had 2 bedrooms,both en suite ,a reasonable sized living room and kitchenette and a very big balcony.the view was sensational with views of Puerto Santiago,Los Gigantes,the cliffs and the sea.the staff we're all very friendly and very efficient.the cleaner came in everyday except sunday and left the place spotless.the only things we can knock this place for are 1: the cups are the size of eggcups(just buy a mug).2:the swimming pools are the same depth all the way around so are no good to non swimmers.3: it's at the top of a hill so when coming home (maybe a little worse for wear)it's an uphill climb.apart from that everything here was excellent and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: ask for room 165 0r 166 on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Donnawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Steve-Donnawatson,

Thank you for your nice comments on us, it is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Special thanks for our cleaning service!
Sorry about the cups, we are already started to buy some bigger ones as well!
Also thank you for your comments on the swimming pool, on the upstairs one we just did a renovation 3 years ago, but we consider this modification for the next time renovations what would be probably on the downstairs pool (there are several clients recomended it as well).
Do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Myself, my partner and her 11 year old son have just spent a week self catering at the Vigilia Park Apartments from the 6th to the 13th of March 2013. I'll cut to the chase. We paid a little over £200 for the cheapest available apartment for the 3 of us for a week as we are a youngish family on a tight budget. This got us apartment 78 on the second floor. The apartment was spacious with all you would ever need for a weeks SC. It had large ceiling fans in the bedroom and living area which are an absolute godsend night and day even in early march!! I can echo the sentiments of other guests in saying that the apartments are a little tired in the decor and fixtures and fittings but really this is a minor issue. Be aware that if you go for the cheap rooms you will be on the far side of the complex with your balcony facing AWAY from the sea and therefore you will have a view of the apartment buildings across the side street from you. This however was not a problem for us as we were just grateful for a balcony where we could relax and eat the odd meal on. The balcony also gets the sun from around 10:30am till about midday. The side street the apartment faces onto has a few takeaways and a bar on the end which can mean it is a little noisy on a night but this is no big issue.

The hotel itself is a strange construction split into two sides of apartments with a shopping centre down the middle of the ground floor leading up to the reception/ground pool and restaurant area. The shopping centre area in no way spoils your enjoyment of the hotel although some shop owners can be a little irritating trying to tempt you into buying stuff. There is a little English restaurant called 'Scoobys' located there which is fantastic for British food and the lady who runs it is really fantastic and welcoming. You could say however that it is a little pricey.

Now, the best bit of this hotel by FAR is the rooftop area. I would go as far as to say that this is possibly the best place in the whole of Los Gigantes to sunbathe and enjoy the outstanding views of the town the sea and cliffs. You can actually be lying there on a sun lounger baking in 23C temperatures and if you gaze up at Mount Teide, it has snow on the top! Its incredible. There are also two pools on the roof. A childrens pool and an adults pool and although they are not heated like the downstairs pool I much prefered to swim on the rooftop as it was less busy. There is also a hottub and snack bar. I found that the rooftop got busy between the hours of 9am and 2pm but with the sun still strong all the way till 6pm I found the most relaxing and quiet time to be up there sunbathing was between 3 and 6pm. During these hours the rooftop really is paradise.

The hotel is situated very centrally in what is an ideal location for the beach, the restaurants etc and the Los Gigantes area really is a beautiful place without the stress and hassle of Las Americas and Los Cristianos.

I found the cleaning and maintenance stafff to be very friendly although contrary to what other guests have said I didnt find the receptionist particularly friendly or welcoming when we arrived. Nor did I on the other occasion I asked her a question but this again was a minor issue.

One tip for people self catering on a tight budget. There are loads of little 'Supermarkets' dotted around the area but we found them to be extremely pricey at best. Almost everything costs more than it does in the UK apart from perhaps the beer. Your best bet if you are hiring a car at the airport is to stop off at the Lidl just off the roundabout where you leave the TF1 and join the TF47 to Los Gigantes, this will save you a small fortune on your everyday essentials as you will be paying local, Spanish prices and not tourist prices.

With a bit of updating and a few issues ironed out, Vigilia Park really could be a special place to holiday. So until then, it will remain a Very Good place to holiday :) I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willbobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Willbobaggins,

Thank you very much for your full review on us!
Special thanks for your comment on our rooftop area!!!!
It´s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
339 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#21 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $39 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vigilia Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing