We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple accommodation with nice roof terrace, but uncomfortable beds and very old dirty sofa”
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vigilia Park
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple accommodation with nice roof terrace, but uncomfortable beds and very old dirty sofa”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If the weather is nice and you're not going to spend much time in the apartment, the roof terrace may make up for the shortcomings of the apartment. However, the beds were so uncomfortable that I got a bruise in my hips from where the springs dug in. The sofa smelled of smoke and dust, and there were only 2 English channels on tv: 1 about cars/ trucks and the Disney Channel. They do not provide beach towels so take your own.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJHL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear CJHL1974,

Thank you for your comments on Vigilia Park.
Would like to recomend for the future that if you find any imperfection please report it on our reception desk (like the sofa, and TV channels).
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    266
    136
    47
    34
See reviews for
254
239
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from this resort but it is a hard review to write, partly because of the way the hotel is built! It is constructed on two side of a shopping mall with bridges across at the top. The excellent points are the friendly helpful staff and the very good pools, especially the roof terrace ones with fabulous views out to sea, the cliffs and El Teide. The pool bar sold excellent food and drinks and it is an ideal place to relax. The down side is that as our apartment faced a road, with a bar that was very noisy some evenings. There was also noise from the shopping mall in the centre of the building onto which our bedroom backed. Shops were obviously opening shutters early in the morning and there was noise in the evening with people sitting about in the area. I am really torn with this resort, parts are so good, the apartment was clean, if tired, but sheets with holes are not good. We love this area, this is our third visit, but will not return to this resort which is a shame.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the sea, as high up as possibe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ms. John S,

Thank you for your nice words on our staff and on our roof terrace. We are sorry that the shopping center below the apartments didn´t let you to enjoy always your holidays. Unfortunately the complex was built it this way and we can´t do anything to change this.
Even if you won´t choose us again but hope to see you back on our lovely little island Tenerife!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our small family group (myself, wife, teenage daughter) have just had a very enjoyable week at Vigilia Park, in a 2 bedroom, sea view apartment. We chose it for the area and good price and feel very satisfied on both. As others have made clear this is not luxury accommodation and some of the fixtures and fittings are showing their age, but is good value, well provided with equipment and excellently serviced. We self catered, so can't speak for the restaurant - we would probably have tried it, but (as is often the case here) vegetarian choice was very limited. Our room was on 2nd floor with broad views from La Gomera across to the Los Gigantes cliffs that were much better than I'd anticipated when choosing to pay the extra for a "side sea view".
The hotel location is slightly "out of town" with not a lot appealing around it, but it's an easy 10-15 mins walk downhill to be in Los Gigantes or Puerto de Santiago with all they have to offer. Just that walk back up at the end of the evening !
One thing which looked like it could be a problem, but was not actually, was parking. The streets around the hotel are very full, but we did manage to find a space reasonably close by (often the last one!) each time we came back. Warning - don't hire a large car !
Overall though a great place to stay, excellent value for spacious accommodation.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the sea view - it looks as if outlook from others is straight across narrow street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and your lovely pictures with us! Special thank for our staff!
You are right that sometimes parking can be difficult in the evenings, there is a parking built just oposite the complex a few years ago but due to some "paper work" questions is still closed. We hope it will open soon during 2013 so this problem would be a wonderful solution for all of us!
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hi my partner and i have recently spend 12 days at Vigilia park in January.
the hotel staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. nothing was a problem for them. they even arranged a surprise birthday treat for me with my partner. The hotel is very clean with daily housekeeping service. The hotel is exactly as advertised with lots of amenities and entertainment areas The apartment was brilliant everything you need and we felt at home there. we loved it that much we have re booked for next January for three weeks and cant wait to go back.
A big thanks to all the staff especially Anna who helped when we had a problem.
H Goodchild room 161

Room Tip: Corner suites are large with great balcony and view of the sea and cliffs.it was very peacefull exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Christine H,

Thank you for your warm words on our staff and services, special thanks from Anna!
So, what else can I say? See you back next January!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I travelled with a group of 5 work colleagues to Vigilia Park for 4 nights of sun and relaxation. We opted for all inclusive to keep our holiday costs down. We arrived at 9pm and found Justo on reception very entertaining and friendly, he also had ensured that they kept the dinner buffet open a little later than usual so that we could eat. Our rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean with a lovely 'partial' sea view that was actually better than we had expected. The drying rack on the balcony was really handy and there were other useful touches like the ironing board and hairdryer. Like other reviewers have said, some of the decor is a little dated, but everything was functional, clean and comfortable so it really wasn't a concern. To be honest, our primary concern was getting some sun and we were spoiled for choice with 3 or 4 areas with sun beds spread around the hotel. We opted for the rooftop pool area (now complete with a blissful jacuzzi!) and spent many hours soaking up the rays. It was quiet and tranquil with spectacular views of the sea and Los Gigantes. We couldn't have been happier! There was also a bar up there (all inclusive drinks included beer, wine, sangria, soft drinks and bottled water) The food at lunch and dinner was varied and tasty and regularly replenished throughout the buffet service. We particularly enjoyed the beef stew, carbonara and chicken curry! All of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. We were also impressed by the cleaning regime in place, as we were getting up each morning the staff were scrubbing every surface and the hotel always looked spotless. On every day except Sunday, our bins were emptied, beds made up and clean towels provided which was lovely. The little shopping precinct under the hotel was handy and provided plenty of the usual tourist 'tat' and some lovely jewellery and pretty clothes and bags for sale etc. The hotel entertainment was probably more family orientated (a singer and a parrot show) but Justo on reception recommended a brilliant American themed bar called Route 66 (about 10 minutes away) which was fantastic and had a fabulous live band. We were all very sad to leave after an amazing 4 nights at Vigilia Park and we felt like we had had great value for money. We would love to return one day!

Room Tip: The partial sea view was even better than expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinkly_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Twinkly_fairy,

Thank you for your nice words on Vigilia Park, special thank you for your cleaning sevice and for Justo our receptionist!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the near future for some longer time!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a 1 week stay having booked bed and breakfast via Hotels4u.com, we paid extra to ensure a partial sea view and were given a 6 person, 2 storey,2 bedroom apartment with fantastic views. Yes the accommodation is a little tired but for the price it was fantastic. The breakfast was great and well worth the money, though we did not dine there in the evenings. The roof top pool area is beautiful with amazing views over Puerto de Saitiago & Los Gigantes, though the pool is not heated and very cold, the pool bar is good value and we lunched there twice. The bus stop is outside the entrnace to the precinct, and there are some restaurants, bars around the accommodation though we tended to eat elsewhere. I would stay there again and recommend it for the price

Room Tip: Book sea view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear EmmaC1980,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays, it is nice to read that you enjoyed Vigilia Park.
Yes it is a pitty that our roof swimming pool seems cold during the winter moths but we don´t have space to put heaters for the water in this area. That is why we only have the downstairs pool heated.
Thank you for your comments and recomendations on Vigilia Park and the area.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is our 3rd holiday to vigilia park and it was excellent once again. The room we were allocated was beyond our expectations, it was very spacious, well equipped, beautifully furnished and the views spectacular. All of the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was varied and quite delicious. If you are looking for a relaxing pleasant and memorable holiday, vigilia park is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Debbie M,

Thank you for choosing us for the 3. time! Hope there will be 4th, 5th.....
It is nice that you enjoy your stay with us. I am not sure if you do it normally but please contact us before your next arrival to make sure that you get a nice unit!
See you soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
Hotel Bahia Flamingo
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Property: Vigilia Park
Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vigilia Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing