We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but cheerful”
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vigilia Park
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap but cheerful”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I booked a cheap deal at vigil park for a relaxing hotel not expecting much we were pleasantly surprised! The apartments were set set in a shopping centre with the reception at the end where the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and well equipped with a view to die for which we upgraded for which is recommended . As the property is set outside the mountains. Although it was a bit tired it was spotless which was helped by the maid service 6 times a week. The property benefited from 3 pools, jacuzzi,pitch and putt,table tennis 2 bars ,a restaurant with nightly entertainment considering it was a cheap deal it was excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view if possible with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Denis J,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with all of us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you liked your stay with us.
Hope to see you back in the future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    260
    135
    46
    34
See reviews for
248
238
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

On arrival my boyfriend and myself were met by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist who told us what we can expect from Vigilia Park. We found our room to be really bright, clean and spacious for the two of us, the bathroom was spotless and cleaned every day and our towels were changed about 4 times during our 7 day stay, bedding was changed twice. We had an iron and ironing board, kitchen facilities were excellent, but we only used the kettle.

For me the pool area and terrace was not really up to standard and we didn't even venture there. Although the roof top terrace was better I did not really like it up there either, beautiful view of Los Gigantes mountains though.

Hotel is situated in Puerto Santiago and we found it a little quiet where we stayed, we didn't find many decent bars or restaurants in Santiago. On recommendation by a Trip Advisor reviewer we went to the Fishermans Inn one night and we found the food to be really nice but it wasn't one of those places you would go back on a few occasions. We would recommend Nino's II round the corner from Route 66, had a lovely meal there and would probably have gone back a few times if it was not so near the end of our holiday. My boyfriend had a gorgeous slow cooked lamb shoulder from the restaurant immediately next door to Nino's II, can't remember the name. Alot of people recommended Route 66 with the Old Dogs New Tricks, they dished out well known rock renditions, can't say we enjoyed them, when we went on the first night, but when we walked past a few nights after there were lots of people sat in and outside so if you like that type of music it's you'll probably like it there. If you want to watch some British TV or big sports events then you can go to Beeches Brook, but not much else to say about the place, no real atmosphere.

There were a few steep hills so wouldn't recommend this if you have mobility probems. We didn't mind as it was our little bit of excercise each day. Los Gigantes is about a 10 min walk away and it is really nice there so it is worth the walk down for a change of scenary, however the steep hill back up to Puerto Santiago is a killer. On the other side of Puerto Santiago there is Playa del Arena, 10 - 15 walk away. This is where you will find the beach. We didn't venture on this beach as didn't like the look of it (volcanic black sand).

There is a very good bus service right outside the hotel and we took the opportunity go to Los Cristianos on a couple of occasions. You can either get the 477 or 473 it's a bit of a journey but worth it. Los Cristianos is lovely, lots of bars and restaurants, lovely beech area, sand was more to our taste, shipped in from the Sahara I believe. We found a wonderful restaurant called 'Chill Out' in the Playa Vistas area of Los Cristianos. The food was absolutely amazing, well presented, the place amospheric and it didn't cost any more than some of the other restaurants we visited during our stay. You must go there if you are in the area.

All in all we had a really lovely week and we would definitely stay at Vigilia Park again if we were to return to Puerto Santiago. Saying that we did find this area a little too quiet for us so not sure if we would go back to Santiago although it was a really beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Yks123,

It is really appreciated that you take some time to write your complete comments on Vigilia Park and on the area.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on our little island.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnights stay at the Vigilia Park and found it to be a lovely hotel with very friendly staff and spot on cleanliness. My husband and myself were looking for a quiet holiday to recharge our batteries and found the hotel was in the perfect location with a good sea view and a short walk to the restaurants and pubs. The maid service was great and the apartment was spotless with our towels changed everyday and our bedding changed twice weekly. Tthe only flaw with the hotel was the food. We ate a few times at the rooftop bar which had a much better standard of food than the main restaurant. We only ate there once for breakfast and weren't very impressed. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Wendy W,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays! We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays on Tenerife and specially with us in Vigilia Park!
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found the hotel clean and friendly. The apartment was small, but quite well equipped and not uncomfortable. The location of the hotel itself was fine, its not near the beach, or main restaurants, but for us that was not a problem, we enjoyed the short walks to those places. We used it as a base from which to explore the island, and for that it was hard to beat.

Others have mentioned various negative features, but you can't expect a luxury hotel for what we paid, and we thought that it was great value for money. We would consider staying there again.

There seemed to be a wide variety of facilities and resources, but we didn't use many of them, apart from a daily swim in the main pool which although on the small side,was clean and uncrowded.

My main gripe was that when we booked, we specifically asked for a quiet room, but they put us in the noisiest part of the hotel, directly above a bar. If we had wanted to spend much time in the apartment the noise could have been very annoying. However we didn't, and between the hours of just after 11 to just before 7 the bedroom was usually pretty quiet, and although we had to complain to reception 3 times about other guests being very noisy and inconsiderate, the hotel did respond quickly and effectively to get them to stop. The hotel staff started opening up for the day and getting stuff out, etc at about 6:55, so that was usually our wake up call! Luckily, were usually happy to be up and about and off to explore another part of this amazing island.

So apart from that, we were very satisfied with the hotel and would recommend it for those on a budget.

My overall impression of the management was that they cared and were really trying hard to provide a good service.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 73 if you want peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Martin L,

Thank you for your comments on Vigilia Park. You make us happy to know that we think alike: "base from which to explore the island, and for that it was hard to beat".

We are sorry that we couldn´t fulfill your request to have a quiet apartment but in times of high demand sometimes if difficult for us to guarantee requests.

Thank you for your opinion on the managment as well, we are trying our best to offer all our guests some unforgettable holidays!

Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

In my opinion Vigilia Park is home to the nicest and most helpful staff that I have ever come across. The hotel is spotless and the daily maid service was a great bonus. The food is lovely and very reasonable. I would recommend this resort for anyone looking for a quiet holiday. The only thing I would change is the rooftop pool. It's extremely cold and it would be great if they could heat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Eilis B,

Thank you for your warm comments on Vigilia Park´s staff! It is really nice for us that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you for your recomendation for our rooftop pool. We already have studied the possiblity to have this pool heated as well but unfortunately we do not have enough space to install a boiler for it.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Read some of these reviews and honestly thought we were staying in a different Hotel......... this is a budget 2 star Hotel and not the Ritz. For what we paid for this Hotel we were more than satisfied.. Justo on Reception gave us a really warm welcome when we arrived and we were given the card key for our room .... we had booked a seaview studio but were upgraded to a sea view room on two levels, which had a great view over Los Gigantes .... a nice balcony too. On the ground floor we had a lovely kitchen with everything you would possibly need for self catering. a small oven, three ring hob, microwave, toaster kettle, coffee machine even an electric juicer........ plenty of crockery and cutlery and kitchen utensils such as sieve, colander chopping board, pans etc....although we didn't self cater at all... a big dining table with four chairs display cabinet with an assortment of glassware and ice buckets and a flat screen TV. Coffee table and large settee which turned into a bed if necessary. The downstairs bathroom had a loo, basin and walk in shower...........
upstairs there were two single beds - very comfortable mattresses, although the pillows were a bit flat we managed to sleep really well . a small wardrobe with three drawers beneath (note of adv. here - bring some spare coat hangers with you as not many - we requested some more but still only got 3) . the upstairs bathroom bad a shower over the bath .......... power in both showers adequate.

Breakfast was fine - but a few pointers which could be bettered....... they need to keep a closer eye on the level of food as often we had to request fresh eggs, also better heating under the food, although there is a good microwave which we made use of a few times if things were not hot.... one day the fried eggs were actually stone cold but soon remedied in the microwave! other than that we had no complaints as some have had on here.. . breakfast consisted as an example of fried eggs, bacon and sausages, beans, sometimes scrambled egg which was lovely on the one day we had it, a good selection of cold meats and cheese, boiled eggs, three different types of cold fruits... e.g. pineapple, peaches and mixed salad fruits, yoghurt.... three different cereals, toast bread white and brown, crusty cobs, selection of three jams and honey, a basket of mixed fresh fruit. selection of about five different teas, fresh perc coffee also a coffee machine with six different types from American to latte and hot choc. and a juice machine. How anyone can say this breakfast was not worth 6 euros if that is what they had to pay is beyond my understanding. you could almost eat until you burst (we were on a bed and breakfast basis so it was included in what we paid) ....... but I suppose you can't please everyone . I would recommend they check into the Savoy next time. Remember this is a TWO star hotel.

We did not do any of the shows - but we did see the latter end of Carlos singing with his guitar on our last night - what a lovely chap he was too......... Carlos if you ever read this I do so hope you enjoy wearing the football shirt .. you know who we are now!!!!!

On the whole the pools were lovely, downstairs one heated upstairs on roof not... everywhere was spotlessly clean and the possee of cleaning girls and boys did a great job . we never saw any rubbish anywhere and our room was kept spotless with towels changed daily should you need them to be just leave in the bath - bedlinen replaced every two or three days too.
Thank you for a great stay......... our first time in Tenerife and should we return then we would use this Hotel again..... just a quick note too - some brilliant restaurants around the area too... Doma Mia on the corner - Pizza and pasta, El Pozo Steak house (brilliant Fillet steaks) Fettucini Inn, with a lovely tapas place next door, El Meson come out of arcade and turn left it is only three minutes walk down the hill, and China Town II down in the main resort - taxi cost just over 3 euros. but it is walkable down but uphill back - this was best chinese I have ever eaten i think!

Room Tip: bring some extra coathangers........ask for front facing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KefalosBlues2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Ms. KefalosBlues2,

Thank you for your perfect description on us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Will foward your words to Justo our receptionist, to Carlos about the football shirt and to all our staff about your lovely comments!
We apologise that you only received 3 more coathangers and will have a talk to our made about this. Also if you come to visit us next time please do not hesitate to ask for more pillows as well!
Thanks to your verbal comments on our reception we already contacted a company to have a look at our hot buffet and they have detected that the problem is due to the heating lights above (as the heating underneath are working correctly), what will be fixed during this week.

Also thank you for your recomendations and your detailed experience about our buffet breakfast!
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recenlty returned from a trip to Tenerife where we stayed at this hotel. It was very clean and the staff on Reception were helpful. I do understand that this is a budget hotel, however i do recommend that they make pay some attention to the rooms as the beds are quite worn and are uncomfortable and the bath and shower facilities need modernising. The breakfast was quite poor quality and not really worth the 6 euros we paid for it. I would suggest fresh juices, quality fruits, meats Yogurts and teas.etc. The views from the top of the building are spectacular and the swimming pools are clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: top floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Katinka11London,

Thank you for your opinions and suggestions on our resort. For your information we already started to renovate our bathrooms on the first level and will keep on with the works for all of our units.
We are sorry that you didn´t liked our buffet breakfast. We will try to improve it with our new chef.
See you soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
367 reviews
19.6 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
189 reviews
8.4 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Property: Vigilia Park
Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vigilia Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing