We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self catering accpmmodation”
Review of Vigilia Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vigilia Park
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering accpmmodation”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in these apartments for 5 days in September. Excellent facilities for self catering including kettle, toaster, microwave, iron and board. Apartment cleaned daily. Quite location with 2 great pools and close enough to beach, supermarket and restaurants. View from balcony (even thou we booked a room with no view) was excellent and we watched the sun set over the sea every evening whilst on our balcony. Would recommend for a peaceful and quite holiday. Only downside was parking facilities. Staff excellent. Better than expected and great value for money. Jacuzzi not working which was the only disappointment.

Room Tip: Had room 107 which was cool in the morning and got the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank accountsclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Accountsclerk,

Thank you for taking time for your comments on Tripadvisor.
First of all sorry for that the Jacuzzy was not working and would like to inform you that we are replacing it for a new one (the works are almost finished) so soon you can enjoy it!
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    260
    135
    46
    34
See reviews for
248
238
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at Vigilia Park apartments for one week in August 2012 in a two bed apartment for
2 adults and 2 teenagers aged 14.Very spacious, basic, but well equiped appartment with balcony.The room was cleaned thoroughly on 6 occassions during our stay and I must say that Angelis our maid was very polite and efficient .The weather for the whole week was fantastic.
This is a quieter resort compared to Playa De Las Americas, however, views are to die for. The apartments are situated above a shopping centre which contained various tourist shops, which was not a problem.There was a well stocked supermarket nearby and lots of restaurants within the local vicinity.Had breakfast at Scooby's on several occassions, and ate at The Vulcano Restaurant nearby twice.The food was excellent, and the Restaurant Manager very friendly and went out of his way to make the meal special.The pools were small but adequate and we did manage to get sunbeds most days .It was lovely sitting by the bar by the lower pool having a relaxing drink in the shade when the sun was hottest, my only criticism is that the service there was sometimes a little slow.
Reception staff were friendly and always willing to help,especially the lovely Dutch lady(sorry did not know your name) who booked our boat trip to see dolphins and whales from Los Gigantes harbour, we spent a lovely 3 hours at sea and the views were magical.
It was easy to walk to Playa Arena or to Los Gigantes for an evening out, however we always got a taxi back up the hill, at 3 euros it was well worth it!
The pool table was broken for the whole week which upset my teeenage son a little, but apart from that this we all had a good relaxing holiday at Vigilia Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear A o,

Thank you very much for your comments on Vigilia Park.
It´s nice to read that you spent some nice holidays with us! We apologise for the service at the bottom bar, and for the pool table.
Thank you for your lovely words in the name of Angeles and Femke (the dutch lady from the reception).
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in this accommodation self catering. Apart from a leaky cistern on the first night which flooded the bathroom ( they do not have an on call plumber) which was fixed first thing the following morning, this accommodation was clean, comfortable and tidy. The beaches were within walking distance, and there are plenty of shops, supermarkets, a pharmacy etc. all there. The reception staff were fine and I used the gym which is and a bonus. There was a policy of not reserving sun beds by the pool which no one took any notice of, but all in all a great stay and we would certainly go back.
The main restaurant in the hotel has an excellent chef. The garlic glazed cod I had was to die for and the food there is so nicely presented where ever you go !! We were more than happy with this place. especially considering what we paid for the holiday.

Room Tip: Apart from the hotel restaurant which is very good, check out the vulcano restaurant in the shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okataina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Okataina,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and recomendations. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights self catering on the last week of August and vigilia park was very clean,very friendly and a very nice place to sit back and relax. Any problems were sorted straight away and the pools were good as well. As for nightlife yes it is quiet but Los gigantes is not far also neither is playa la arena both easy to walk to but getting back will tire you out. Went half board for 5 days which was 15 euro each per day just to see what the food was like I did find the food to get better but basic and it was nice as well. I can't really state any bad things me and my girlfriend had at this place all was very good. Oh and the cleaners were brilliant 6 times a week. As for the beaches I think the playa la arena might be the best one out of the 3 around . I would recommened staying at this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamski198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Adamski198,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays at Tenerife. Thank you also for recomendig us!
Hope to see you back in the near future!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the outside it looks pretty old fashioned, and the rooms are quite dated, but the cleaners come in often and do an alright job. The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Can be quite noisy in the evenings but there is a security guard.

There is a swimming pool at the bottom and on the top floor. Lots of sunbeds, never a problem getting one. At the top the views are unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gigantes cliffs, not looking straight out to the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Ms Sunshine909,

Thank you for your nice words from us! We hope you enjoyed your stay in our lovely little island!
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Both families had one bedroom apartments, which were lovely sizes for us all, however the sofa beds were uncomfortable and broken at the bottom and felt like you were not laying straight. The pools were great sizes for the kids, who were 11, 10, 8 and 7, however the lifeguard kept telling the children to keep the noise down and they were not allowed lilos, balls etc in the pool. The only entertainment the hotel had were shows, which were usually from 19.30- 21.00 if you were lucky, then nothing till the bar closed at 23.00, which was early. The hotel was at the top of the hill and there was hardly any entertainment around the area, what with having 4 kids and a pregnant sister, we could not really walk to far. We walked downhill one night and found a restaurant that was not very friendly so did not bother again. The views from the top of the hotel were amazing, however found it hard to get sunbeds by all pools, as other residents had already been down and put their towels on them, there was a sign saying not to do this as your towels would be removed but this never seemed to happen. People would come down early put their towels down and then disappear for the rest of the day, so we had to sit on the chairs near the bar. No air conditioning, just ceiling fans.

Room Tip: Get a room that has enough beds to cater for everyone as the sofa beds are very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisewoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Louisewoodford,

Thank you for your comments on us. We are trying to face the problem with the towels on the swimmingpools but sometimes during the year seems more difficult. We apologise for this. Also apologise for the lifeguard, but there are rules on the swimmingpools for not to disturb other guests who want to go for a swim or just to relax on the solarium area.
For your next visit we recomend you to pick up a taxi to visit the Los Gigantes area for more evening entertainment, it would only cost you about 3-4 Euros.
See you soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de Santiago hotels

chesterfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this self catering accommodation on the internet through Sunmaster and was very pleasantly surprised. We are two families that always holiday together which includes four children of the ages twins at 10, 11 and 12 years.
The Vigilia Park is set at the top of the hill of Puerto de Santiago in a very central position for the resort and also Los Gigantes. If you dont mind the walk up and down the hills, which we didnt it is approximately 10 minutes stroll to get to each of them. If you are less mobile, outside the accommodation there is a bus stop which goes to them and basically everywhere else which we used to go further afield to Playa de las Americas which cost 6 euro return and took an hour each way.
We were slightly apprehensive about the position of the hotel as it is above a shopping centre, but dont let it worry you as it didnt affect our stay in any way. The hotel has three pools, the largest being on the ground floor and a further two on the top of the hotel. The childs pool on top is small but perfectly formed and there is a sunbathing terrace that has amazing views. The pools on the roof are amazing as you are not overlooked and you can see for miles!!
The accommodation itself has everything you would require, my family consists of myself, my husband and daughter and we had a two bed appartment with plenty of space. We had previoulsy read reports regarding this hotel so did request a seaview and I must say definately do when you book as other views not so good. I would also request a high floor room, I think If I remember correctly the rooms are on four floors. The rooms are cleaned daily plus towel changed daily (except Sundays) and bedding changed twice a week. Staff very friendly and helpful with good speaking English apart from one who served us on the upper bar one lunchtime and got our order completely wrong!!
We went to the beach in Puerto de Santiago which is small, the beach is sandy but pebbly to get into the water. The beach in Los Gigantes is bigger and sandy with the water being lovely and clear and a lovely view. We went to Playa de Las Americas for the day which in our opinion is the best beach but would not want to stay there. Los Cristianos is nice too.
Had some fantastic meals in some amazing restaurants but the ones we liked best were Le Meson which is on the main road going down the hill, Le Pescador ( think I have spelt it right) in Los Gigantes which you cant miss. Its upstairs but well advertised and the food and service very classy and professional and not too expensive, went back several times and the kids loved it, El pollo de or is in the shopping centre below the hotel and serves amazing spit roast chicken, didnt find anywhere else that could compete!!
Overall thoroughly enjoyed our holiday with friendly accommodation

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get that high floor with seaview, its well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thehallschesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGILIA, Director General at Vigilia Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Thehallschesterfield,

Thank you for your the nice description on our complex and the surroungind areas!
It's great to read that you took time of your life to write your recommendations of your stay. Thank your for this in the name of Vigilia Park and other guests as well!
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Viktoria Demeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
367 reviews
19.6 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
189 reviews
8.4 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilia Park

Property: Vigilia Park
Address: Avenida Quinto Centenario N. 58, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vigilia Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilia Park is situated in the heart of Puerto Santiago, with unique views to the cliffs of Los Gigantes and the island of La Gomera and La Palma. Discover this beautiful corner of the South Island of Tenerife is characterized by clean and clear atmosphere with a warm climate all year round. The environment is very quiet and it is an ideal place for couples, families with small children or pets. Lovers of diving, surfing and anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday...The resort comprises a total of 109 apartments. The internal volume, minus the terraces varies from 50 m2 to 80 m2. All are very spacious and have private terraces. The equipment of the units is complete allowing you to enjoy a stay with all the amenities you need, such as fully equipped kitchens (oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle), ceiling fans, flat screen TV, telephone , safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Cots (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vigilia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viglia Park Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Vigilia Park Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing