We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was bigger than our flat at home!”
Review of Dragos Del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragos Del Sur
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The room was bigger than our flat at home!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Good quality apartment hotel which for the money exceeded expectations. Complimentary fruit basket and wine.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlinreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    166
    54
    21
    26
See reviews for
137
143
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Just got back from wks stay with my husband hotel nice food ok friendly staff. No entertainment in hotel also only about 4 bars and restaurants.Caught bus into los gigantes most days and nights only 2 euros bit livlier with acts on in most bars There is a lovely public lido with slides in pools trampoline swings ect and it is 4 euros entry which includes sunbeds well worth going to.has Beach is very small and lots of rocks had lovely time but wouldnt go again due to location have to climb very steep roads to get anywhere. Dont want to sound all negative we dont expect discos has we are in our late forties but some local entertainment would be nice,also wouldnt take the grandchildren here they would be bored stiff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefletcher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samntha
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Just got back from Tenerife and stayed at this hotel 3 out of the 5 days booked. The hotel is all the way at the end of the strip and parking was always available. The rooms were clean and very spacious. We could have slept 5 people with 2 bedrooms and a couch bed.

Most rooms had great views of the ocean unless of course you were stuck by the pool. Breakfast was 4 Euros a person and had standard (luke warm) food. This buffet is catered to the English and offered beans, hotdogs, fruit, bread, etc... Dinner was 6 Euros but didn't include drinks. The buffet served fish, pork chops, fish sticks, potatoes, fruit, ice-cream, etc... Even though the meals were cheap, they were NEVER hot which is not appealing.

The location is full of different restaurants and it's about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. So of course I suggest people eat outside the hotel. Prices for meals range from 8-10 Euros. There are grocery stores throughout the main strip and the closest one is right around the corner from the hotel which carried everything.

Beds were very hard but were comfortable. The pillows were a different story though. You couldn't tell you were sleeping on 1 and I got extra pillows and this was still horrible!

Now, the pool was freezing cold and not heated. This was hard for us because our 4-year-old loves to swim. There is also NO entertainment at this hotel so if you are looking for anything like that go somewhere else.

The beach down the road is rocky and you will need water shoes to swim. We didn't attempt this beach because it was quite windy and not suitable for a small child to swim in. The black sand was beautiful though and the area is perfect to sunbathe and build sandcasltes.

We only stayed at this hotel 3 nights out of our 5 night stay because we needed more during the night after being out all day. We ended up taking the family to Playa De Arena because they had a heated pool and entertainment, free internet and free breakfast! Can't beat that :)

The only negative thing I can say about this place is that most days the hotel smelled like sewage. The reception said this was most likely because the sewer pipes are across the street and after it rains it smells. We did have many afternoon rainshowers.

Internet can only be accessed downstairs on the reception computers. There were 2 computers to share. It cost .10 Euro cents a minute. Having a teenage son that checks mail, this became very expensive!

We didn't cook anything in the room but the room had dishes, pots, pans, utensils, cups, etc. You will have to buy a sponge and dish soap to clean up though.Not sure if they had potholders but you could always use a hand towel.

You get what you pay for and this hotel was very inexpensive and perfect for sleeping. No bed bugs, clean sheets and is close to everything which is convenient.

OH! Be careful with leaving anything out on the counter! Itty-bitty ants come through the cracks and of course will eat your food too!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGM-222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Los Dragos Appart Hotel, is set in a lovely location most rooms overlook the sea, and are very spacious, well kept, bedding / Towels changed every three days, all the staff are very hospitable, The television only had Spanish channels, not a bit of good when you are English & senior sitizens & your stay is almost a month, over the past 3 years in this locality of our stays. we have always had English TV channels
the other down side was the food, of a very poor standard especially the eve; meal. all cold, and little in choice, not apitizing at all, the side salads were very basic, & desserts even more so, our stay was a month, and after 10 days declined the evening meal, and either ate out or cooked as self caterer,
these latter 2 were a shame as we were more than happy with the hotel itself

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddlecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just returned this morning from a week in Tenerife (sadly our luggage decided to stay a little longer!) Stayed at Aparthotel Dragos del Sur. Cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Reading some of the reviews made me a little sceptical before we went but I needn't have worried.
The apartment was very large and perfectly clean. The first one we were in was 105 which was above the entrance conservatory and since we had paid for a sea view we were not happy looking at the glass roof. Not a problem we were moved to the 5th floor and had a fantastic view. The rooms were cleaned pretty much every day.
The staff were very polite and helpful and they were excellent English speaking, our Spanish not so!
The Pool area was lovely, if you sit by the road side you did get the occasional drain smell but not the hotels fault.
There is a small supermarket behind the hotel 'Transisto' We ate out most of the time so this was adequate for our snacks and balcony vino! The Mercadona was not very far away but if you buy heavy stuff you would need a car or use the bus. But for me I want to get away from the cooking.
A previous review mentioned the dogs opposite but they didn't bark very often and not for long. At nights it was lovely and quiet and the blackout curtain worked a treat. I would however warn people who do like the quiet to avoid the first weekend in September since this is the church fiesta time which is held on the plaza across the street from the hotel and the music was exceptionally loud, pretty much 24 hours a day from 10am Friday morning till the wee hours of Monday morning!
Puerto Santiago is not a bustling resort in September, but for us it was ideally located for a healthy walk (40 mins with some inclines) into Los Gigantes (or you can take the bus but you'll miss some hidden gems). There are plenty of eating places around, we didn't eat in the hotel but we took a peek and it all looked ok. There is an excellent chinese and Mexican just a very short walk from the hotel and several other restaurants close by, also in Playa Arena and Los Gigantes. The bus stops are outside either for going north or south and they are regular and inexpensive - Los Christianos €8 return, Peurto de la Cruz €13 return.
All in all we had a brilliant relaxing week and this hotel offered exceptional value for money. We are likely to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed for a week at Los Dragos with our kids (4 & 14 years) at apartment 706.
Its a 1 bedroom apt., greats views to the ocean just across the street. Very clean ,with good areas and nice beds.
Staff was very nice and helpfull.
We stayed with half board and its was worthed, very good relation price/quality.
The area is quiet, good to stay with kids.
we rented a car and went to Loro Park, Siam Park and some sightseeing tours.
The other days we went to La Arena beach, less than 10 mn walking and ended the day at the hotel pool.Kids loved it.
I travel a lot , for busines and leisure, and can assure its not usual to find this quality at this prices.
Surely will recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We are satisfied with the hotel, apartments were great , like 2 bedroom flat in UK, for the price of 1 bedroom because we had a single room for the kid. The view from the balcony was amazing, recommend to get the room with the sea view, its worth it. The location is not for nightlife, but not far from las americas, 50 min by bus or 30eur by taxi. The swimming pools were great, there is one small pool for kids. Supermarket 10 min walk 'Mercadona'. There are two beaches next to hotel, and the landscape is breathtaking. The service in hotel was good. The gym is alright, not as good as i expected, but it is possible to do the some work out. There are many restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.3 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#7 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragos Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragos Del Sur

Property: Dragos Del Sur
Address: Avenida Maritima S/N | Puerto de Santiago, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragos Del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, comfortable apartments all outdoor terrace and magnificent sea views, equipped with kitchen and utensils, independent air conditioning, bathroom, furnished 1 and 2 separate bedrooms, safe with charge in all apartments, laundry pay phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dragos Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragos Del Sur Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Dragos Del Sur Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing