We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff doing well with what they have”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Puerto de Santiago
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just got back from a week in Tenerife where me and my wife stayed in the Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar.
First of all check in from Gatwick,flight etc was first class with Monarch.
Transfer was less enjoyable being 2 hours on a coach.
When we arrived our room wasn't ready and we had to wait an hour(we were the only ones checking in ??)
When we got in we were pleasantly surprised with a very spacious living room,with sofa,tv,fridge etc although no kettle.Satelite TV cost me 21 euros for 7 days and we got all channels,although very few English ones,BBC News,Sky news,eurosport,a couple of film channels and maybe a couple more,but no main channels were available.
Safe in the room cost me 20 euros +10 euro deposit(refundable)for 7 days.
Wi Fi available at a cost,with also 2 pc's in the foyer available with internet access 1 euro for 10 mins.
Bedroom and bathroom was adequate although bath is very small.
Room was clean and tidy and matched the rest of the hotel which appeared to be stuck in the 1990's and parts of it could do with a re-decorate.
Day 1 was exactly the same as every day,breakfast reasonable(full English available although obviously not English produce)Lunch was average,dinner the same.We are both fussy eaters and all I will say is thank goodness for crusty bread and cheese !!!!
Weather was lovely every day,on floor 4 which we were on there is a balcony complete with sunbeds and showers which was nice,it was very hot up there in the mornings(sun comes up 9.30-10am every day and continues to be hot until 5pm.The outside pool area is very,very small,with a main pool and a mini pool.Area has room for maybe 40 sunbeds only,although you could always get one.Drinks/coffee on tap in the pool area,there was food as well but we didn't fancy it.
Coffee machine in the restaurant kept breaking down and there was never any saucers which meant you'd spill most of your coffee before getting to your table.Restaurent again is quite small with capacity for around 150 people but we never had problems getting a table.
Theres a Piano bar within the hotel which had entertainment in the evening(normally 10-11pm)
A quick game of bingo most nites with a bottle of champers as a prize,and a mini disco was always planned but due to lack of kids we never saw one.No air con in this area and it was unbearably hot,with many people taking chairs outside onto the small balcony.
Hotel is just off the main road,with a few shops,restaurants,supermarkets etc about 5-10 mins walk away.This part of the island is very hilly so beware,a short walk can be hard work.Beach opposite the hotel is cliffs/rocks which is great scenary but not for sunbathing.To get to the beach with its black sand you have to walk up and over the hill,about 10 mins walk.
This part of the island is very quiet with not a lot going on.We ventured on 2 bus trips to Los Christianos and Los Americas which have many shops/shopping centres etc.If you catch the 473 bus it costs 4 euros each way and takes 2 hours to get there.If you catch the 477 bus it costs the same and takes less than an hour ???.
Was the 2 hour trip worth the shopping experience?In my opinion no.
Theres Mcdonalds,Subways and Burger Kings in these places but not near the hotel.
To finish on a massive positive the staff at the hotel were superb.I only ever saw about 10 people all holiday,all who ran the restaurants,bars,pool,piano bar,reception etc.I really hope they are well paid as they were all up working at breakfast(7.30am) and still around at 11pm in the bars.
Very few English guests in the hotel,appeared mainly dutch,polish,german.Although we found a few when we found a pub showing the England world cup match.
Transfer back was 2 hours on the coach again,but flight was on time with no issues.
All in all,not a top quality experience but certainly not disasterous,helped by the great staff within the hotel

Room Tip: Views not great either side I,m afraid.We were at the back with a view of cliffs,a crane,and the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 747 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all the rooms are a good size and the maids clean everyday except Sunday, beds are two singles pushed together but are comfy non the less. Pool area is a let down - pool too deep and the sun doesn't reach it until about 2-3pm. What I found dispicable was the club/dance music the lifeguard played throughout the day. With lyrics such as 'get up and f*****g dance' - very disrespectful to the older generation and families with children. No kettle in room, you have to pay for the tv, and if you want the use of a safe, it'll set you back forty quid( non refundable). Now food - breakfast and lunch fab loads of choice, evening meal limited choice, hit and miss , we ate out a few nights. No air conditioning in restaurant or piano bar, and it gets unbearable, so we often made our way to a bar nearby and paid for drinks rather than stay and risk keeling over. The staff are the real asset to this hotel. They work so hard and there aren't very mAny of them. They are over worked but always there to happily help you, I dread to think how much they are paid for their efforts. All receptionists are lovely, especiAlly jolly PACo. And a very speciAl mention to Pedro, the loveliest person in that hotel who is genuinely interested in each and every guest, is kind hearted, and ever so hard working. So to sum up, for what you pay, you get. But don't be under the illusion you are getting a bargain on a four star hotel. I would rate it as 2/3 star. But massive thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Nattiedo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

rooms: quite clean, cleaner every day but floors to dirty
NO KETTLE IN HOTEL
NO IRON IN HOTEL

food: most of that made me sick because it felt like I am eating something cokked 2 days ago.
everyday the same feeling. desserts - bad

pool: sunbeds dirty a bit, water in the pool salted, screams or motor engine noises, ect doesn't allow to relax on the pool because this is just outside.

all inclusive: it was definitely not all inclusive - washing mashine, wifi, coke in the pool - everything needed to be payed for(not the one from dispenser but in a can)

Overall I say that I will not come back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank viviane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

think about what you're paying and keep your expectations reasonable!
very clean hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. we arrived late (delayed, and a nightmare transfer) and there was nowhere open to eat. Josefa on reception called a pizza delivery company for us.
this hotel is set back from the main road, and there are only a few local restaurants. the pool area was crowded but there are 2 quiet roof terraces if you don't want the pool. the hotel guests were predominantly German, Polish and Russian. we only had breakfast which was.. fine. bacon fairly unrecognisable, but a huge choice. a bit odd to see mixed veg and onion rings out for breakfast, but each to their own!
our room was spacious and clean, (large living room with sofa bed, bedroom with twin beds, balcony overlooking.. a bit of wasteland and other hotels!). the tv only picked up one UK (free) channel, and then later failed to find that.. but we don't go on holiday to watch tv. complementary toiletries in the bathroom, but the plumbing was a bit noisy.
it's a little dated, but more than acceptable.
Tenerife is very hilly, so be prepared! Puerto Santiago is very quiet, with just a few restaurants, bars and shops.

Room Tip: there were only a few sea-view rooms. I emailed in advance to request one and got no reply. allocate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just come back from an eight night stay at this hotel. Had a lovely time, found all the staff very friendly, special mention for Boufi, very good at his job. The hotel we thought was very clean, the rooms are spacious although we would have prefered a sea view. Food was okay and we always found something we liked at each meal. The main thing that lets down this hotel is the lack of air conditioning in the main entertainment area and also the standard of entertainment. It is so hot in the room it is really uncomfortable and we found that every night us and many of the other guests would wander down to Highland Paddy in the next bay for some entertainment and to be able to enjoy a drink in a comfortable temperature. The pool area is very compact and you feel like you are like sardines in a tin, the pool is great for swimming in but is very deep. Would I come back to this hotel, probably not but looking at some of the reviews I think people are over criticisizing it, it's not that bad, it's not the Ritz but your holiday is what you make it, but please sort out the air con in the main area it would greatly improve the hotel and book some decent acts for the evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a room on floor two and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ok lets start with the good, the staff are trying hard but you can see from them there are moral issues, they try their best but the hotel is so understaffed. The local Chinese restaurant has more staff. Mike is great

Right that's the good now the bad, the food is horrific, you get 2 meat, 1 fish, 2 veg, 1 pasta and occasionally 1 rice, lots of greenery dumped on plates and its the same format every night. They don't have any concept of the people's or countries eating habits of the people that stay there and if they do they don't care.

The bus can take anything from 1 hour to 2 and a half hours depending on drop-offs or pickups

Mike the entertainment coordinator is great but has a pressurised time with so many nationalities and stubborn folk, but he gets on with it

This is also not for the 18 to 30's crowd Puerto de Santiago is so quiet you could drop a hair and hear it. It is also not for the infirm as there are hills everywher

All in all the holiday was good but the hotel was poor and so was the area, I would not go back again to the hotel or the region

Room Tip: choose 403, 405, 407 and 409 but these now come with a supplement of 5 euros per person per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgdh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have read through some of the reviews on here and I am glad to see that some seemed to have enjoyed themselves at this hotel, I however would not recommend coming to this place. Location wise it is around an hour transfer from Tenerife south airport and in a fairly quiet area. On arrival you are greeted by a fairly worn down hotel down a side road. The lobby fits in with this aesthetic and even though we arrived after our check in time the room wasn't quite ready. This wasn't really an issue as the helpful receptionist gave us a key to the luggage hold room and invited us to tuck into our all inclusive package with a spot of lunch while they finished the room.

Lunch was awful, truly, truly terrible. The dining hall was dark and outdated, the food on offer was fairly basic and tasted as it smelt, not great. The Pork was raw in the middle so I decided to opt out of this portion of my lunch. After lunch we took a wander around the rest of the hotel whilst waiting for our room; again it looked quite basic and desperately needed some TLC (lots of trip hazards). We did eventually get to our room which overlooked the pool area and eventually the sea. Nothing really wrong with the room, again probably needed some TLC but then we paid a relatively small amount for the hotel so there are bound to be a few drawbacks to it.

After feeling a little deflated about staying in this washed up hotel in a fairly depressing area we decided to check out. We paid peanuts for this hotel so weren't expecting the Ritz but "hotel" is not really an apt description. I would suggest shopping elsewhere.

We stayed in a great hotel around the corner which was very impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SotonSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,108 reviews
22.4 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,174 reviews
22.4 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#66 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
413 reviews
8.1 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Marques Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
El Marques Palace by Intercorp H...
#6 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar

Address: Calle Jose Gonzalez Gonzalez s/n, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: $84 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting views of Tenerife's stunning landscape, the 4-star Blue Sea Hotel Lagos de Cesar is perfectly located a short transfer ride away from Tenerife South Airport and is close to the sands of Playa la Arena. Its peaceful setting is ideal for those in search of a relaxing family-friendly holiday. The 116 modern, spacious rooms include junior suites, which make the perfect accommodation for families in need of extra space. Suites are equipped with an en-suite bathroom, private terrace and a host of amenities, allowing residents to unwind in complete comfort. With its location just a 400m stroll from the beach, guests can enjoy views of the glistening sea, as well as the surrounding mountains. The tranquil setting makes it hard to believe Hotel Lagos de Cesar is situated in the heart of the bustling resort of Puerto de Santiago, where there is plenty of shopping, dining, sports activities and nightlife to be enjoyed. Featuring a large outdoor swimming pool that serves as its social hub, a separate children's pool, sun terrace and rooftop lounge area, the residence also offers a gym and mini club for active visitors seeking a little action. A buffet restaurant and two bars offering entertainment and music mean the needs of every guest are catered for. Hotel Lagos de Cesar even counts a hair salon among its facilities, making the hotel ideal for visitors in need of some serious R&R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Lagos De Cesar Tenerife
Hotasa Lagos De Cesar Hotel
Hotel Lagos De Cesar
Lagos Cesar
Blue Sea Lagos De Cesar Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing